Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.770275
Write A Review
May 22, 2014

more

May 22, 2014

Education Through Music (ETM) helped shaped my life to what it is today. Without this organization I wouldn't be in LaGuardia High School for the arts and performing arts. The whole experience was just amazing and I would go back and do it again any day. It helped me focus in school and also helped me participate and interact with other students. The memories and the people of ETM will always be so close to my heart and I thank them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Late August we received word that our music teacher was leaving our school. A friend of mine told me about Education Through Music (ETM). At the time, we were looking for someone with a commitment to making sure every student in our school had meaningful access to music. It was beyond our wildest hopes that this teacher could also make important interdisciplinary connections between music and other academic content areas. As we all know, arts programs are typically the first to suffer in times of economic hardship. Faced with rapidly diminishing budgets administrators often eliminate the arts—very often leaving students that perhaps most need creative and inspiration outlets high and dry.

The teacher—Jason—now working with us through ETM is, in a word, amazing. He is completely open and welcoming to all students, firmly believing that every student in our building can learn. Along with the phenomenal work he does every day in the school, the ETM program has given our teachers support in connecting music to other classrooms—showing them how music is integral to student development both academically and socially.

I firmly believe in arts education, but as one of those aforementioned principals I was dreading facing the increasing budget crisis in our district. I was sure that my students—in one of the most impoverished districts in New York City—would suffer because I would be forced to dismantle any sort of arts education in our school. I do not think I am over-exaggerating when I say that ETM has already been enormously influential and has given many of our students life-changing opportunities: in terms of their sense of self-worth, their appreciation of the arts, and their ability to connect the arts to every day life in and out of the classroom.

Sincerely,

Sameer Talati,
Principal of Samuel Stern (PS/MS 007)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Education Through Music (ETM) began partnering with our school several years ago. I entered into this partnership so that every child in the school could have a tactile music experience, something which is not possible with many other programs. Our vision was to integrate music into our educational practice, in order to improve our students' academic achievement and overall development. We are a high poverty school, which unfortunately translates into factors that do not allow music enrichment to be a part of such a child’s educational experience. We all know, however, that music is a rich gateway, affording children many different points of entry in education.
Our experience with the ETM program has been that it involves every student in the school. In this first year, students are excited to learn singing, keyboard and the recorder. ETM's teaching artists are trained and mentored, and make use of a stimulating curriculum to teach the children skills and knowledge in music as well as skills that support their learning and development in other areas. They work to involve all members of the school community, to foster cultural change and build support for music education. Without a doubt, ETM has enriched our students' lives lives with music.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Having ETM at One World Middle School is really important to our students. This program enhances teamwork skills and discipline. In order for an orchestra to sound good, all players must work together harmoniously towards a single goal, the performance, and must commit to learning music, attending rehearsals, and practicing. These are essential values that the students learn and can transfer into any academic area.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

After my son started with the ETM band group, he became very excited to go to school. His grades improved! Even at home he behaves better because he finishes his homework early in order to practice on his instrument. He has been inspired by music and discovered his talent. I would honestly recommend this organization to everybody as it has done wonders for my son. I'm really thankful for all of the opportunities this program has given him. Keep up the amazing work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 7, 2012

more

May 7, 2012

Education Through Music(ETM) has helped to transform our sixth graders from shy timid boys and girls to proud expressive young ladies and gentlemen! We at One World Middle School believe in educating the whole child and ETM has helped us to do just that. The students cant wait for Ms. Perkins to come. They loved performing in the Winter Concert and are practicing rigorously for their Spring Concert! Through performing the students are finding their voice and it is building their self-esteem!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 7, 2012

more

May 7, 2012

St. Clare's School has been serviced by ETM since 2005. As a school principal, I also had ETM at another school for 5 years. The children from pre-k to 8th grade have been given music appreciation, music theory, choral training and string orchestra training. They have been taught to perform at school concerts and other community venues throughout the years.A fewe years ago the children in their first year of violin class were able to perform with Joshua Bell at the Waldorf Astoria. They have also performed for school open houses. One of the local assembly members requested their presence at a community awards ceremony for children who entered an essay contest about their grandparents. This music program provides the opportunity for the children to gain self confidence, pride and cultural appreciation of music and art. The teachers are well-trained and very talented! What a gift this program has been for our school community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 4, 2012

more

May 4, 2012

I am a teacher/dean at One World Middle School where ETM has worked with our students throughout the year. The students have really flourished and have grown tremendously. For many students, this was the first time they were exposed to music and what a joy! This experience for our students has been a great one and we hope we have an opportunity to establish a long lasting relationship with them in the future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 3, 2012

more

May 3, 2012

Education Through Music, Is An Amazing Program That Works To Make Sure Children Are Able To Experience Life Through The Eyes of Music! Through This Program Children Are Able To Both Understand And Appreciate Music For What It Is!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 3, 2012

more


1 previous review
September 23, 2011

I am a Principal of a new small middle school in the Bronx -- One World Middle School @Edenwald. When I began recruiting students last April, parents expressed an interest in Music within the school. ... more

May 3, 2012

I am the principal of a brand new school, One World Middle School, that opened its doors to students in September of 2011. I am not sure where to even begin -- in such a short time, I am blown away by the nurturing of our school community by Education Through Music. They take time and believe in our student Ambassadors during moments where it is a bit hard to :)

The opportunity and experience that ETM provides sparks something inside of our Ambassadors. They invited our students to sing at a gala. They took time to come in and work with our students to prepare for the gala. There were moments were students wanted to give up but they encouraged students to keep going while pushing them to be at their best. In short, the gala was a huge success! One student who has regularly cut from September and was thinking of joining a gang a few months back sang his heart out on that stage while his mother cried next to me. As he left Tuesday evening he asked me "When are we doing that again Ms. Wynne?" Another student who barely speaks in and out of class sang and smiled on the stage and expressed how excited she was afterwards. Students want to know when can they do this again. Music has been ignited in their hearts and it is because of ETM. I could go on and on about the fire that was sparked in every Ambassador.. but put simply ETM is a one of a kind!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 23, 2011

I am a Principal of a new small middle school in the Bronx -- One World Middle School @Edenwald. When I began recruiting students last April, parents expressed an interest in Music within the school. At the time, music was not part of our curricula. As I continued recruiting students and parents continued to express interest in music I began to rethink my decision on music within the school. I began to investigate music programs on-line and through word of mouth. Education Through Music was recommended highly from neighboring principals, colleagues, parents, students and my network. When I contacted ETM, they visited my school to discuss a partnership. I was impressed with their interest in the mission/vision of my school. They took a real interest in how music would fit with our mission and vision and emphasized how this was a significant factor in our partnership. We agreed we were a great fit and fast forward to the first day of music with our students. The music teacher from ETM made contact with me and came in during the summer to decorate the music space. The environment is inviting and student friendly. On the first day of music the students LOVED it. They would not stop talking about music. Parents were excited that we incorporated music into our program. They talked so much I emailed ETM to see if we could either add an extra day and/or create an after school program. Our music teacher assigned is pro-active and is willing to join us on a parent evening to lead a student performance. ETM administrative staff works hand-in-hand with me and has been extremely helpful with all of my questions. My experience has been a positive one and I am so excited to build our partnership so our students can benefit from the talents of ETM. Thank you ETM!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

our classrooms. Students are excited to go to music.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make any changes

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Word of mouth/internet

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

none

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers