Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.770275
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Education Through Music provides opportunities to 14,000 children in New York City who may never otherwise receive them. Seeing the difference that the music program provided by ETM has made for my students has been an inspiration. Not only are they learning music, but they are learning to be independent critical thinkers. ETM provides students with skills that will serve them for the rest of their lives and help them build successful futures.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2012

more

September 30, 2012

I was previously a staff member at ETM and have remained involved through volunteering with the organization. It is truly remarkable how the dedicated staff and music teachers of ETM bring music education to thousands of New York City children every week of the school year. ETM Music Teachers are trained at the highest level, and they bring the same standards to their music classrooms. The skills these music teachers offer extend way beyond the music classroom and I have heard story after story of students who are more excited, motivated, and interested in going to school because of the music program. I am proud to be involved with an organization that helps students become lifelong learners through music.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

visiting the partner schools. It is amazing to see school auditoriums filled with parents supporting their children's musical performances.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope that more school principals can see the lasting power of change that ETM and a music program has on a school and its community. Every student deserves to have music as a part of their education, and I hope that more principals will help make arts education a reality for every New York City student.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

none

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I was reminded of the immense impact a music program can have on a school and its surrounding community. Students, parents, music teachers, classroom teachers, principals, school staff, and local government officials have all cited ETM as a model music education program, and I am proud to be a part of this organization.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I am proud to be a part of this organization!

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

Education through Music is a great experience for students. The students does so much better in there study . My wish is for every students in N.Y.C. to experience this program .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 5, 2012

more

May 5, 2012

Our children loved the experience and gained self esteem and confidence through this program . Would loved to have this program in my school every year. Ms. Graves

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

A bit disappointed to find out that only children that receive instruction privately from ETM are chosen to perform for their schools. Children who have outside instruction of musical instruments are not acknowledged for performance. So where is the love of music for the advancement of ALL children through music. Very unfortunate, many discouraged children are created through such practices.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2011

more

September 30, 2011

As a former staff member and current volunteer and donor, I have seen time and time again how Education Through Music impacts the lives of the children it serves. From holiday concerts to weekly music classes, students learn not only music, but how routine practice leads to improvement.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

Education Through Music is a true asset to the underprivileged school community in New York City. The passion for music and children that the Music Program staff showed for the cause was truly impressive. Innovative music programs and concerts were being planned to show case the school children where ETM has a presence. Each staff member is there because of these children and the overall message of ETM - that music education helps nurture children so that they can excel not only in music but in science, math, and then further in life. Music builds confidence, strengthens friendships and expands horizons - Education Through Music builds their programs around those initiatives.

The fundraising staff at the charity is equally as dedicated to the cause. Everyone works very hard by securing grants, planning elaborate charity events, and thinking of strategic fundraising initiatives for the future to ensure that ETM continues to expand to other schools.

I was a part of ETM this past Spring as a volunteer event planner for their gala. Although my time there was short, due to school needs, I took away so much - the effects a sound music education has on children, the care and compassion it takes from everyone in an organization to produce outstanding results, and to always keep those who are being helped first in mind when making executive decisions. If it were not for grad school full time, I would have been honored to be a part of Education Through Music. The organization's work touches so many of the city's children, and the children greatly benefit as a result.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the the Spring Gala. Children sang beautifully at the gala, under the supervision of the program directors. To me, this all circled back to the work ETM does in the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

perhaps allocate a few staff members to Annual Campaign efforts.

September 24, 2011

more

September 24, 2011

I was a part of the Education Through Music team for two years. After graduating from college, I was looking to work somewhere that was mission-driven and that made a meaningful impact on the lives of disadvantaged children. I was fortunate to find my way to ETM, an organization that showed me all that is possible through high-quality music education. My colleagues at ETM were all passionate about the work and tireless in their efforts to constantly improve the music programs and the efficiency of the organization. It is remarkable that ETM is able to provide an entire year of music instruction to a student for just $150. There are few organizations that can claim to do this at such low cost, and it is proof that the mission to provide all children with a great education is an attainable one. My time at ETM was inspiring because I got to see how music education helped students and schools, and because I was in the company of talented , knowledgeable, and passionate people.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the feedback from parents, students, teachers, and principals who received our programs. Students were grateful for the opportunity to learn music, participate in band and orchestra ensembles, and perform at school concerts. Parents, teachers, and principals saw how the music programs positively impacted their students in so many different ways, including their academic performance, self-confidence, and motivation for school.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their presence to many more school districts across the country where music education is absent from the curriculum.

January 28, 2011

more

January 28, 2011

I've been a volunteer with Education Through Music for about five years and have had nothing but great experiences with the organization. When I joined ETM I was looking to work with a cause that I could identify with on a personal level, and have never been let down by the work we do. For those who are not in the know, ETM partners with under-funded / inner-city schools to provide comprehensive music education to children who would otherwise have no access to arts education. When I was growing up, music was a huge part of my upbringing, and I love that I am able to work with an organization that provides children with access to this field. Moreover, I have always been impressed by ETM's level of dedication to their cause in that their programming is unique to each school's needs and is by no-means cut-and-paste. ETM's staff is incredibly profession and committed to their work, as are other volunteers with the program. And, as an added bonus, we typically have a lot of fun together! Please help in supporting this amazing organization!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

meeting children that the organization benefits and seeing the results of their hard work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

January 27, 2011

more

January 27, 2011

Education Through Music is one of the most incredible organizations I have had the honor of being involved with. I have seen first hand, for the last three years, how the organization has enabled students to feel great about participating in music and how students participation has impacted their overall education. In a world where arts education is increasingly being cut, ETM offers a complete solution - teachers, instruments, curriculum. It's a much needed service in a world where we continue to devalue the arts.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

...seeing students who have participated in the program evolve into musicians and, equally as importantly, have heard the results of increased test scores across multiple disciplines.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...find a way to get more resources so that the program can be expanded to more schools that are suffering from losing arts education.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers