Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.738465
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 21, 2013

more

May 21, 2013

Education Through Music is an exceptional organization! Through music education, students are able to develop and build on their language, listening, critical thinking, problem solving and math skills, as well as their self esteem. It also encourages their creativity, and stimulate their brain connection. For these reasons, ETM works hard to improve and keep music education in schools. Students in low income areas, who would otherwise not benefit from music instruction are building on these skills through music education because of Education Through Music Many. ETM is a constant support system for its teachers and, through workshops and training, providing them with the tools and strategies they need to be successful in the classroom, giving their students the skills they need for a successful future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2013

more

May 21, 2013

This program really shows how music can transform a school community. The ETM teachers are knowledgeable and passionate about music. I saw this program implemented at a new middle school in the Bronx, and I was blown away by how well the students were performing AND behaving. Music has become a very important part of the school community. Thanks ETM!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

ETM is a phenomenal organization! What a wonderful service they provide for inner city and underprivileged children in NYC. Everyone in the organization, from the on-site teachers and educators, to the off-site staff and administrators go above and beyond to help children every day. The organization does a fantastic job of tracking the impact of their services on the children, so you always know the services are having an impact. I cannot wait to continue to work with this truly life-changing organization!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

Education through Music has been giving our students not only the opportunity to learn music as a discipline but to also develop High Order Thinking Skills. ETM's curriculum is aligned to the CCLS and to the content areas that students need to accomplish in order to become successful individuals.
Our students are motivated and enthusiastic about coming to our school to learn and explore a word that didn't exist for them prior to having ETM as part of our school community. ETM's commitment to offer unprivileged students the opportunity to learn through music has been a gift.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Education Through Music is truly an exceptional and life changing non-profit organization. Education Through Music (ETM) provides a music education to students who might not otherwise receive one. ETM believes that all children deserve a well-rounded education, and I have seen first hand the benefits of the program at my school. Aside from deeply caring for their students' success, ETM provides their teachers all the professional support and resources needed to be successful in the classroom. Through ETM's thoughtful curriculum and teachers, students are not only equipped with musical knowledge, but are taught how to become creative problem solvers and independent thinkers, thus preparing them for a more successful future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Education Through Music provides opportunities to 14,000 children in New York City who may never otherwise receive them. Seeing the difference that the music program provided by ETM has made for my students has been an inspiration. Not only are they learning music, but they are learning to be independent critical thinkers. ETM provides students with skills that will serve them for the rest of their lives and help them build successful futures.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2012

more

September 30, 2012

I was previously a staff member at ETM and have remained involved through volunteering with the organization. It is truly remarkable how the dedicated staff and music teachers of ETM bring music education to thousands of New York City children every week of the school year. ETM Music Teachers are trained at the highest level, and they bring the same standards to their music classrooms. The skills these music teachers offer extend way beyond the music classroom and I have heard story after story of students who are more excited, motivated, and interested in going to school because of the music program. I am proud to be involved with an organization that helps students become lifelong learners through music.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

visiting the partner schools. It is amazing to see school auditoriums filled with parents supporting their children's musical performances.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope that more school principals can see the lasting power of change that ETM and a music program has on a school and its community. Every student deserves to have music as a part of their education, and I hope that more principals will help make arts education a reality for every New York City student.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

none

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I was reminded of the immense impact a music program can have on a school and its surrounding community. Students, parents, music teachers, classroom teachers, principals, school staff, and local government officials have all cited ETM as a model music education program, and I am proud to be a part of this organization.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I am proud to be a part of this organization!

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

Education through Music is a great experience for students. The students does so much better in there study . My wish is for every students in N.Y.C. to experience this program .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 5, 2012

more

May 5, 2012

Our children loved the experience and gained self esteem and confidence through this program . Would loved to have this program in my school every year. Ms. Graves

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

A bit disappointed to find out that only children that receive instruction privately from ETM are chosen to perform for their schools. Children who have outside instruction of musical instruments are not acknowledged for performance. So where is the love of music for the advancement of ALL children through music. Very unfortunate, many discouraged children are created through such practices.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers