Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.770275
Write A Review
May 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It is extremely impressive that ETM's small staff and low administrative costs are able to bring music to so many kids, but what makes their work even more incredible is that by partnering with schools, each and every student participates daily, and for multiple years, which really makes a difference in applying what they learn in music to all subjects. I also love the way ETM works with the schools and the parents: ETM trains the teachers, brings in full music programs, and works with the parents to make sure they can afford the cost of renting instruments. In my opinion, Education Through Music is one of NYC's best non-profits -- not only for the education they bring to kids, but also for the way they run their program so efficiently.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love for more people to know about Education Through Music.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a former teacher and current volunteer with ETM. I admire this organization for working with schools to bring high quality music programs to high needs students. These students deserve the chance to explore music and the arts, and you can see the benefits of this program both within individual students as well as the school as a whole.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 25, 2014

more

May 25, 2014

I'm very proud to be able to work with Education Through Music. The staff's dedication and eye towards growth is evident in everything they do. I particularly respect the organization because of how well the mission is executed. Even though the operating costs are quite lean, the programs ETM puts into NYC public schools are robust and very hands on -- the schools ETM partners with receive everything from teachers to lesson plans to instruments, and every student in their schools receives music education. Indeed, the best way to tell that ETM programs have a meaningful impact is to hear from the students themselves. They are bright, engaged, and happy when they talk about how their music classes have changed them; ETM's mission is so important.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Music education helped shape who I am today and I am so grateful that there is a not-for-profit dedicated to this cause. With all of the turmoil and uncertainty with the state of music education, it is great to know that there are professionals working around the clock to make sure the cause is taken seriously. I had the pleasure of volunteering with the organization at their annual Gala, and it was such a meaningful and inspiring night for which to be a part. They made sure there were actual jobs for all of the volunteers which I especially appreciated. I hope to do more with them in future! Wonderful org with an important cause!
May 22, 2014

more

May 22, 2014

Learning the piano was instrumental to my life in terms of developing patience, creativity, and diligence, and Education Through Music allows me to give back what I was so generously given in my childhood. ETM provides an integral learning experience and creative outlet for children of under-served schools, potentially instilling a bedrock of values that learning music inspires, which is carried forward into adulthood. ETM opens up doors of learning that would otherwise not have been attainable for these children, and because of that, ETM is great in its work and mission.
May 21, 2013

more

May 21, 2013

Education Through Music is an exceptional organization! Through music education, students are able to develop and build on their language, listening, critical thinking, problem solving and math skills, as well as their self esteem. It also encourages their creativity, and stimulate their brain connection. For these reasons, ETM works hard to improve and keep music education in schools. Students in low income areas, who would otherwise not benefit from music instruction are building on these skills through music education because of Education Through Music Many. ETM is a constant support system for its teachers and, through workshops and training, providing them with the tools and strategies they need to be successful in the classroom, giving their students the skills they need for a successful future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2013

more

May 21, 2013

This program really shows how music can transform a school community. The ETM teachers are knowledgeable and passionate about music. I saw this program implemented at a new middle school in the Bronx, and I was blown away by how well the students were performing AND behaving. Music has become a very important part of the school community. Thanks ETM!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

ETM is a phenomenal organization! What a wonderful service they provide for inner city and underprivileged children in NYC. Everyone in the organization, from the on-site teachers and educators, to the off-site staff and administrators go above and beyond to help children every day. The organization does a fantastic job of tracking the impact of their services on the children, so you always know the services are having an impact. I cannot wait to continue to work with this truly life-changing organization!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

Education through Music has been giving our students not only the opportunity to learn music as a discipline but to also develop High Order Thinking Skills. ETM's curriculum is aligned to the CCLS and to the content areas that students need to accomplish in order to become successful individuals.
Our students are motivated and enthusiastic about coming to our school to learn and explore a word that didn't exist for them prior to having ETM as part of our school community. ETM's commitment to offer unprivileged students the opportunity to learn through music has been a gift.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Education Through Music is truly an exceptional and life changing non-profit organization. Education Through Music (ETM) provides a music education to students who might not otherwise receive one. ETM believes that all children deserve a well-rounded education, and I have seen first hand the benefits of the program at my school. Aside from deeply caring for their students' success, ETM provides their teachers all the professional support and resources needed to be successful in the classroom. Through ETM's thoughtful curriculum and teachers, students are not only equipped with musical knowledge, but are taught how to become creative problem solvers and independent thinkers, thus preparing them for a more successful future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers