Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.770275
| 1 ... 4 5 6...8 |
Write A Review
April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

A bit disappointed to find out that only children that receive instruction privately from ETM are chosen to perform for their schools. Children who have outside instruction of musical instruments are not acknowledged for performance. So where is the love of music for the advancement of ALL children through music. Very unfortunate, many discouraged children are created through such practices.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
January 12, 2011

Education Through Music is a nonprofit music program that has been in our school for several years. As a classroom teacher in the school, I can't say enough about how the students in my class "loved'... more

January 16, 2012

ETM provides exemplary music inwstruction and experience for students in our K-5 school building including a wonderful 5th grade band and 3rd and 4th grade chorus.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 12, 2011

Education Through Music is a nonprofit music program that has been in our school for several years. As a classroom teacher in the school, I can't say enough about how the students in my class "loved' going to music and how much it benefited them academically, musically, and socially. Without ETM, many of the students in my school would never have had the opportunity to be exposed to a quality music program. Some of the students are in chorus and others are learning an instrument in addtion to the regular program. There are over 90 5th graders in the band who come in at 7:00 AM 3 days a week to practice! The dedication of the music staff is incredible. They come in early, stay late, and give up preps and lunches to give the students extra music lessons. Our school is very fortunate to have ETM and I hope they can continue their wonderful program.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my classroom. I've attended several workshops, profesional development days, and planned curriculum with ETM. The music teachers connect literacy, social studies, holidays, tetc. to their music lessons. On our next professional development day, ETM is going to present math/science/music connections.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything, but be sure they keep are able to keep functioning.

October 6, 2011

more

October 6, 2011

Education Through Music is an amazing program that has brought so much to our school. Before its inception here at PS 182 we had a very basic music education program that was provided to only a small percentage of our population. It left a lot teachers like myself with NO music background in charge of teaching their classes music. Fast forward to now and we have an outstanding program with highly qualified, dedicated music teachers who are able to capture the attention of every child and make learning exciting and fun. This year we even have an orchestra teacher and I had almost half my class sign up to learn to play an instrument! The vast majority of the students would never have had any of these opportunities if it weren't for Education Through Music. I myself never had any formal music lessons or music teacher until high school. I have learned so much in the last couple of years with the Education Through Music Program and realize the importance of music in children's lives that I have already started music lessons for my own two children who are under the age og three. I applaud Education Through Music for the stellar job they are doing. My entire class cannot wait until 10:10 on Wednesdays when we have our music class and I am proud to say I can't wait either. It is fun for all of us and I love to participate right along with the students.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Watching the students grow and learn and love every moment of it. To see the excitement on their faces when they have finished singing for a concert or when they learned their first song on the recorder. The teachers and supervisors go out of their way to help the teachers out in areas other than music too. For example- helping choose music for the shows, providing background on various composers for culture of the month projects or choreographing a dance for the Dance Festival.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get it into more schools. The more educated our students are the more opportunities they will receive which will make our future a whole lot better!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Education Through Music began its program in our school in the 2009-2010 school year.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

As stated earlier I have learned the importance of music in children's lives from Education Through Music. I have involved both of my young children in music classes and even purchased a piano in the hopes to one day learn to play along with my children.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2011

more

September 30, 2011

As a former staff member and current volunteer and donor, I have seen time and time again how Education Through Music impacts the lives of the children it serves. From holiday concerts to weekly music classes, students learn not only music, but how routine practice leads to improvement.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

In my past professional career, I served as a board member, director of professional development, HR director, Personnel Director, Management Team member, of a not-for-profit education organization. I learned over the course of a dozen years, that the quality of your professional development determines the success of your program. I recently participated in a day of professional development at ETM. The experience was an informative and inspiring way to learn about and understand what ETM does. The coaching staff is impressive - smart and obviously well trained in music and in up to date pedagogy. And our own staff was simply excellent! The plan of the day, the pedagogical content covered, and the site all reflect a strong mission and an effective organization. I was especially impressed by the rigor of the music program we are offering our schools. Not only are our teachers teaching to a high academic standard, but they are also teaching students to think and supporting the skills they need to be successful in the rest of their academic program.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The professional development training I watched and participated in.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I could only wish that our national teacher training was modeled after the PD approach practiced by ETM.

September 30, 2011

more

September 30, 2011

Education through music gives students a great chance to experience musoc. Some of the schools they serve would have no music because of budget cuts. It really changes their lives and is a great organization to be a part of.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 30, 2011

more

September 30, 2011

As a school principal in an urban elementary school, I have seen the Education through Music program changed children's attitudes in a positive way. The music teachers infuse music into the core subjects making learning more fun and inviting. For my students, ETM is their first experience with a musical instrument. Students are learning to read music, play notes, and this year we are forming a band. As pleased as I am with the program, what is most important are the children and they truly are excited to be part of a Music Program.
KUDOS TO THE ETM STAFF and those who, year after year, continue to support this program!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2011

more

September 30, 2011

I worked for ETM for about seven years and thoroughly enjoyed my experience both as a teaching artist and then as a program coordinator and mentor to younger teachers. I know this has been a life-changing organization because former students have found me online through social media and personally told me how much of a difference the experience of having music in their lives had. One of them even became a guitarist because he was inspired by something that happened during my tenure at his school. The organization is well run, organized, and seeks to better the overall experience of the students and the teaching artists in the classroom. Having worked with many different organizations and educators, they are one of the few that truly addresses the classroom management issues facing new teachers and is always there to help and offer aide and resources to the teaching artists so that they can best server their population. Additionally, I feel that their commitment to excellence is far and above any arts organization I have experienced. They are always asking what they can do to be a better organization and always willing to stretch and mold with the changing medias and interests of their students. I do and would highly recommend this organization to any musician looking to get into the educational side of the musician's world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

Education Through Music is a true asset to the underprivileged school community in New York City. The passion for music and children that the Music Program staff showed for the cause was truly impressive. Innovative music programs and concerts were being planned to show case the school children where ETM has a presence. Each staff member is there because of these children and the overall message of ETM - that music education helps nurture children so that they can excel not only in music but in science, math, and then further in life. Music builds confidence, strengthens friendships and expands horizons - Education Through Music builds their programs around those initiatives.

The fundraising staff at the charity is equally as dedicated to the cause. Everyone works very hard by securing grants, planning elaborate charity events, and thinking of strategic fundraising initiatives for the future to ensure that ETM continues to expand to other schools.

I was a part of ETM this past Spring as a volunteer event planner for their gala. Although my time there was short, due to school needs, I took away so much - the effects a sound music education has on children, the care and compassion it takes from everyone in an organization to produce outstanding results, and to always keep those who are being helped first in mind when making executive decisions. If it were not for grad school full time, I would have been honored to be a part of Education Through Music. The organization's work touches so many of the city's children, and the children greatly benefit as a result.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the the Spring Gala. Children sang beautifully at the gala, under the supervision of the program directors. To me, this all circled back to the work ETM does in the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

perhaps allocate a few staff members to Annual Campaign efforts.

September 27, 2011

more

September 27, 2011

Working with Education Through Music, Inc. (ETM), so far, has been pure delight. In seeking a non-profit to commit my efforts to, I was looking not just for one with a cause that was meaningful to me and a good track record of service, but a number of additional features that I look for in any group that will bear my name and reputation. I wanted:

(i) a diligent, functional and collegial board that believes in the mission, supports and works seamlessly with the executive staff and is willing to address issues head on, but with creativity and a positive attitude;
(ii) staff members who wake up thrilled to be doing what they are doing, are passionate about their work and who respect their colleagues and the board;
(iii) inspired and nurtured in-the-field staff, who therefore inspire their “consumers”, people who work well as a team and are willing to teach and learn from each other;
(iv) office and field staff who know what they are doing, are well trained and respected in the relevant areas and are committed to excellence;
(v) transparency, accountability and discipline across the board;
plenty of benevolent supervision, monitoring, evaluation, honest and constructive feedback; in sum, quality control;
(vi) longevity of partnerships, success in staff retention;
(vii) thrilled consumers of the service;
(viii) metrics - scientific and anecdotal - of a high quality organization;
a “je ne sais quoi”, “The Buzz” - that sense we all get when we enter an environment - whether it is a community of worship or a company or a sports team, whatever it may be - and we can tell that something exciting, well done, zen is going on here.

I have seen all this at ETM. The Board takes its duties seriously, pays attention to the issues and works well with the executive staff. The highly qualified, very smart administrative and program staff members seem to join and stay on and on - they believe in the mission, see their successes in the communities they serve and enjoy working together. The music teachers are gifted musicians who teach with vim and rigor; they undergo continuing teacher training provided by ETM, are supported and regularly evaluated by ETM and also provide feedback to ETM. The principals and children are energized by the program. ETM has earned a number of awards and quality designations for its work and has managed to grow even in a time of shrinking public budgets and shallow corporate and personal pockets.

ETM is doing something very right and very well. Come see for yourselves. And donate!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

(i) visiting a partner school, talking to the principal, sitting in on music classes; (ii) heard a student choir performance; (iii) participated in teacher training sessions; (iv) read various reports and third party evaluations of the organization; (v) talked extensively with administrative, program staff and music teachers; (vi) participated in board and committee activities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Extend fundraising outreach, particularly with individuals and corporations.

| 1 ... 4 5 6...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers