Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.738465
| 1 2 3 4...7 |
Write A Review
June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have seen ETM change lives. When ETM moves into a new school, the test scores for reading and math jump by over 40% within the first 2 years of their arrival. Attendance improves, parental involvement improves, teacher morale improves, and music concerts get parents coming to the school and leaving feeling proud of their child. This organization is professional and effective. I am committed to transforming our educational system. This organization is the single most effective one that I know of that is delivering great results in many, many schools today!! You've got to learn more about this one. It is really special!! -- Edward Petner

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

I am a Professor of Music Education at Oberlin Conservatory. I learned of Education Through Music about 8 years ago, and since then I have had a growing admiration for what they are doing and how they are doing it. With the goal of serving children.....ALL children.....in the NYC schools, they focus on "boots on the ground" strategies that get music teachers into under-served schools. I was so interested in their program that I made a trip last November and said I wanted to see one of their "toughest" schools. The commitment, energy, organization, and focus on the EDUCATION of children through music in ETM means that music and teaching are not watered, not flashy campaigns, not "special" programs that serve only certain kids, and not trite slogans to woo donors and administrators. They are doing what we all want our music programs to do; they are helping kids make music and helping kids think themselves into happy, healthy, and satisfying lives.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

Education through Music is a great experience for students. The students does so much better in there study . My wish is for every students in N.Y.C. to experience this program .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2012

more

May 21, 2012

I have been associated with Education Through Music for 20 Years. ETM’s mission of bringing quality music education to inner-city schools has been an interest of mine. In addition to music
the ETM program advances academic and personal development in every child attending our partner schools.
Our classes are scheduled on a weekly basis throughout the academic year.
Music gives children self esteem and strengthens cognitive skills. This leads to higher test scores, creates better thinkers, and lifelong learners overall. The program’s goals are enhanced by engaging highly qualified music teachers and giving them specialized training specific to the goals of the organization. Continuous evaluation of both students and teachers keeps the program dynamic and assures a high success rate. Every year we work to improve our programs and to reach more children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 7, 2012

more

May 7, 2012

Education Through Music(ETM) has helped to transform our sixth graders from shy timid boys and girls to proud expressive young ladies and gentlemen! We at One World Middle School believe in educating the whole child and ETM has helped us to do just that. The students cant wait for Ms. Perkins to come. They loved performing in the Winter Concert and are practicing rigorously for their Spring Concert! Through performing the students are finding their voice and it is building their self-esteem!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Being the first music therapist for ETM, I was honored to have the opportunity to make a lasting impact on the various children I work with. Music Therapy is the direct use of music to reach non-musical goals, including communication, socialization, motor functioning, emotional awareness, cognitive skills and of course functional academics.

As I review my work over the past year, one specific student stands out more than most. This 4th grade student was referred for music therapy by her classroom teacher and Occupational Therapist because of a severe deficit in functional mathematics, specifically with coins. The Occupational Therapist had been working with this student for nearly a year and a half with limited success on simply identifying the coins and attributing values to the coins.

Upon assessment, it was found that this student was incredibly musical (evidenced by spontaneously singing and creating rhythms and melodies) and extremely bright in verbal/communication skills engaging in meaning and insightful conversations. However, her identification of coins was less than 50%. She was put on music therapy service to be seen 45 minutes a week.

As we develop as young children, many of the basic functional academics are taught through song, the “ABC’s” being the perfect example (26 separate bits of information all memorized in order by a preschooler is only made possible through the music). Using a similar theory, the student’s best chance to acquiring and retaining this knowledge would be through song.

During her assessment, this student shared that her favorite song was “Baby” by Justin Bieber. Because the most ideal therapeutic outcome typically comes through preferred music, the student learned a new version of “Baby” with the words of the refrain rewritten to be a mnemonic device to the tune of the platinum hit:

“Penny, one cent
Nickel fiiiiiiive cents
Dime is tiny
And is teeeeeen cents
Quarter is the biggest with
25 25 25 25”

The student loved the song and used Garageband to choose drumbeats/synthesizer parts and record her own voice singing this refrain. A CD was made for the student to listen to several times a day to engrain the song into her memory.

After several weeks of rehearsal, the student was identifying all coins and attributing vales with a 100% success rate.

The music therapy continued as the student began writing her own verses for various mnemonic devices to rehearse a variety of strategies for counting coins. Another couple of months and several recordings later, this student not only identified/attributed vales to the coins with 100% success rate, but was counting complex combinations of coins up to a dollar with nearly 100% success.

An absolutely vital life skill, which had escaped this child for nearly 10 years, was taught through the power of music. Did her consistent classroom support, occupational therapy and years of support assist in this acquisition of knowledge? Undoubtedly. However, the motivating and mnemonic power of music was the catalyst that allowed this student to begin to thrive in a public environment. And of course Education Through Music was the organization that made this all possible!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 7, 2012

more

May 7, 2012

St. Clare's School has been serviced by ETM since 2005. As a school principal, I also had ETM at another school for 5 years. The children from pre-k to 8th grade have been given music appreciation, music theory, choral training and string orchestra training. They have been taught to perform at school concerts and other community venues throughout the years.A fewe years ago the children in their first year of violin class were able to perform with Joshua Bell at the Waldorf Astoria. They have also performed for school open houses. One of the local assembly members requested their presence at a community awards ceremony for children who entered an essay contest about their grandparents. This music program provides the opportunity for the children to gain self confidence, pride and cultural appreciation of music and art. The teachers are well-trained and very talented! What a gift this program has been for our school community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 5, 2012

more

May 5, 2012

Our children loved the experience and gained self esteem and confidence through this program . Would loved to have this program in my school every year. Ms. Graves

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 4, 2012

more

May 4, 2012

I am a teacher/dean at One World Middle School where ETM has worked with our students throughout the year. The students have really flourished and have grown tremendously. For many students, this was the first time they were exposed to music and what a joy! This experience for our students has been a great one and we hope we have an opportunity to establish a long lasting relationship with them in the future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 3, 2012

more

May 3, 2012

Education Through Music, Is An Amazing Program That Works To Make Sure Children Are Able To Experience Life Through The Eyes of Music! Through This Program Children Are Able To Both Understand And Appreciate Music For What It Is!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers