Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.738465
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Education Through Music (ETM) began partnering with our school several years ago. I entered into this partnership so that every child in the school could have a tactile music experience, something which is not possible with many other programs. Our vision was to integrate music into our educational practice, in order to improve our students' academic achievement and overall development. We are a high poverty school, which unfortunately translates into factors that do not allow music enrichment to be a part of such a child’s educational experience. We all know, however, that music is a rich gateway, affording children many different points of entry in education.
Our experience with the ETM program has been that it involves every student in the school. In this first year, students are excited to learn singing, keyboard and the recorder. ETM's teaching artists are trained and mentored, and make use of a stimulating curriculum to teach the children skills and knowledge in music as well as skills that support their learning and development in other areas. They work to involve all members of the school community, to foster cultural change and build support for music education. Without a doubt, ETM has enriched our students' lives lives with music.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Having ETM at One World Middle School is really important to our students. This program enhances teamwork skills and discipline. In order for an orchestra to sound good, all players must work together harmoniously towards a single goal, the performance, and must commit to learning music, attending rehearsals, and practicing. These are essential values that the students learn and can transfer into any academic area.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I recently joined the Board of Education Through Music and couldn't be more excited about the opportunity. The vision from leadership to the execution at the school level was inspiring. I sat in on a 5th grade class and was memorized how the ETM teacher was able to captivate their attention for the entire class. It was clear that the kids were so intent on learning the tune and the beats and you could visibly see their minds at working figuring out the balance. I hope that more and more principals see and understand the importance of music as a fundamental tool for building learning capacity and general development. The arts are so important and a much needed outlet for our youth. I’m looking forward to helping this organization grow and impact more and more lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Education Through Music provides opportunities to 14,000 children in New York City who may never otherwise receive them. Seeing the difference that the music program provided by ETM has made for my students has been an inspiration. Not only are they learning music, but they are learning to be independent critical thinkers. ETM provides students with skills that will serve them for the rest of their lives and help them build successful futures.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

When I was introduced to ETM, I knew immediately that I wanted to be a part of this incredible organization. What impressed me the most was that ETM is an organization that impacts children’s lives through music every single day. In addition, their unique teaching model is designed to not only expose students to music but to take those skills learned and translate them to other areas of learning. I have witnessed the dedication and passion of the staff, the teachers and the kids and it is inspiring beyond words. I believe that music education is instrumental in developing innovation and creativity in various fields; math, science, business. And I am so proud to be a part of this organization; an organization that stands above many others because of its on-going dedication to music education and its impact on children's lives and their future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

Education Through Music is a great advocate of music education in New York City. As a staff member, they have made sure I have access to appropriate equipment, copious instructional resources, and supportive staff.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

WIth six years as a music teacher, twelve as a professional musician, and four in non-profit management/development I can whole heartedly endorse Education Through Music as a leader in the field of Music Education. From the quality teachers they support and nurture, the programs they work diligently to develop, and the inherent leadership they posses their mission is always clear- to teach all children how to become great musicians while giving them the tools to become great thinkers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2012

more

September 30, 2012

I was previously a staff member at ETM and have remained involved through volunteering with the organization. It is truly remarkable how the dedicated staff and music teachers of ETM bring music education to thousands of New York City children every week of the school year. ETM Music Teachers are trained at the highest level, and they bring the same standards to their music classrooms. The skills these music teachers offer extend way beyond the music classroom and I have heard story after story of students who are more excited, motivated, and interested in going to school because of the music program. I am proud to be involved with an organization that helps students become lifelong learners through music.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

visiting the partner schools. It is amazing to see school auditoriums filled with parents supporting their children's musical performances.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope that more school principals can see the lasting power of change that ETM and a music program has on a school and its community. Every student deserves to have music as a part of their education, and I hope that more principals will help make arts education a reality for every New York City student.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

none

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I was reminded of the immense impact a music program can have on a school and its surrounding community. Students, parents, music teachers, classroom teachers, principals, school staff, and local government officials have all cited ETM as a model music education program, and I am proud to be a part of this organization.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I am proud to be a part of this organization!

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

Education Through Music (ETM) is not only committed to the central role music education should play in students' academic and cultural lives but -- and this distinguishes it from most other organizations focused on delivering music or arts education -- ETM is committed to touching every student in each of its partner schools at least once a week all year. This is very important: the oremise is that every student, whatever their apparent level of musical talent, deserves to explore music and to experience the communal and individual radiating benefits that playing and appreciating music has in their broader academic and social lives. ETM trains and supports experienced music educators in, and transforms its, partner schools. The confidence this instruction, attention and rigor gives to students who have not previously played music in an organized way, and the joy it gives their families to see their kids in a holiday concert for the first time is stunning. ETM as an organization is thorough and rigorous -- developing curricula for its music educators; selecting and working with partner principals; thinking through its strategic direction to maximize its impact on students and the communities it serves; acting as a steward of resources -- and has a dedicated and talented staff and board to support its ambitions of growth and continued excellence. ETM also makes an impact nationally through its affiliate and outreach programs; these permit the model to be replicated as appropriate in other underserved communities outside New York. ETM serves a great and vital cause and does it intelligently, efficiently and with joy. A great organization that I am proud to be associated with.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

After my son started with the ETM band group, he became very excited to go to school. His grades improved! Even at home he behaves better because he finishes his homework early in order to practice on his instrument. He has been inspired by music and discovered his talent. I would honestly recommend this organization to everybody as it has done wonders for my son. I'm really thankful for all of the opportunities this program has given him. Keep up the amazing work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers