Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.770275
| 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
February 2, 2014

more

February 2, 2014

Education Through Music truly makes a positive difference in the lives of so many children. Music education has been shown to improve language skills, problem solving abilities, critical thinking, and behavior. As a music teacher for over twenty years, I have witnessed first hand the difference music education makes. ETM works tirelessly to keep music education in schools so that our children can have a brighter future.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2013

more

June 30, 2013

ETM is a fantastic organization that gives students in NYC an opportunity to learn and explore through music. I wish I had been able to participate in a program like this when I was growing up!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 21, 2013

more

May 21, 2013

Education Through Music is an exceptional organization! Through music education, students are able to develop and build on their language, listening, critical thinking, problem solving and math skills, as well as their self esteem. It also encourages their creativity, and stimulate their brain connection. For these reasons, ETM works hard to improve and keep music education in schools. Students in low income areas, who would otherwise not benefit from music instruction are building on these skills through music education because of Education Through Music Many. ETM is a constant support system for its teachers and, through workshops and training, providing them with the tools and strategies they need to be successful in the classroom, giving their students the skills they need for a successful future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2013

more

May 21, 2013

This program really shows how music can transform a school community. The ETM teachers are knowledgeable and passionate about music. I saw this program implemented at a new middle school in the Bronx, and I was blown away by how well the students were performing AND behaving. Music has become a very important part of the school community. Thanks ETM!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

ETM is a phenomenal organization! What a wonderful service they provide for inner city and underprivileged children in NYC. Everyone in the organization, from the on-site teachers and educators, to the off-site staff and administrators go above and beyond to help children every day. The organization does a fantastic job of tracking the impact of their services on the children, so you always know the services are having an impact. I cannot wait to continue to work with this truly life-changing organization!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

Education through Music has been giving our students not only the opportunity to learn music as a discipline but to also develop High Order Thinking Skills. ETM's curriculum is aligned to the CCLS and to the content areas that students need to accomplish in order to become successful individuals.
Our students are motivated and enthusiastic about coming to our school to learn and explore a word that didn't exist for them prior to having ETM as part of our school community. ETM's commitment to offer unprivileged students the opportunity to learn through music has been a gift.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

Education Through Music provides children in New York City with an opportunity to have music as an educational opportunity in their school. When funding risks being cut ETM steps in to provide crucial assistance in providing music education. Music education helps children in all aspects of learning. Math and reading levels are greatly enhanced by music education. Often times children in difficult life situations are not motivated to attend school, the programs provided by ETM are the highlights to these students days and serve the community in a plethora of positive ways.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Late August we received word that our music teacher was leaving our school. A friend of mine told me about Education Through Music (ETM). At the time, we were looking for someone with a commitment to making sure every student in our school had meaningful access to music. It was beyond our wildest hopes that this teacher could also make important interdisciplinary connections between music and other academic content areas. As we all know, arts programs are typically the first to suffer in times of economic hardship. Faced with rapidly diminishing budgets administrators often eliminate the arts—very often leaving students that perhaps most need creative and inspiration outlets high and dry.

The teacher—Jason—now working with us through ETM is, in a word, amazing. He is completely open and welcoming to all students, firmly believing that every student in our building can learn. Along with the phenomenal work he does every day in the school, the ETM program has given our teachers support in connecting music to other classrooms—showing them how music is integral to student development both academically and socially.

I firmly believe in arts education, but as one of those aforementioned principals I was dreading facing the increasing budget crisis in our district. I was sure that my students—in one of the most impoverished districts in New York City—would suffer because I would be forced to dismantle any sort of arts education in our school. I do not think I am over-exaggerating when I say that ETM has already been enormously influential and has given many of our students life-changing opportunities: in terms of their sense of self-worth, their appreciation of the arts, and their ability to connect the arts to every day life in and out of the classroom.

Sincerely,

Sameer Talati,
Principal of Samuel Stern (PS/MS 007)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Education Through Music is truly an exceptional and life changing non-profit organization. Education Through Music (ETM) provides a music education to students who might not otherwise receive one. ETM believes that all children deserve a well-rounded education, and I have seen first hand the benefits of the program at my school. Aside from deeply caring for their students' success, ETM provides their teachers all the professional support and resources needed to be successful in the classroom. Through ETM's thoughtful curriculum and teachers, students are not only equipped with musical knowledge, but are taught how to become creative problem solvers and independent thinkers, thus preparing them for a more successful future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Education Through Music (ETM) began partnering with our school several years ago. I entered into this partnership so that every child in the school could have a tactile music experience, something which is not possible with many other programs. Our vision was to integrate music into our educational practice, in order to improve our students' academic achievement and overall development. We are a high poverty school, which unfortunately translates into factors that do not allow music enrichment to be a part of such a child’s educational experience. We all know, however, that music is a rich gateway, affording children many different points of entry in education.
Our experience with the ETM program has been that it involves every student in the school. In this first year, students are excited to learn singing, keyboard and the recorder. ETM's teaching artists are trained and mentored, and make use of a stimulating curriculum to teach the children skills and knowledge in music as well as skills that support their learning and development in other areas. They work to involve all members of the school community, to foster cultural change and build support for music education. Without a doubt, ETM has enriched our students' lives lives with music.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers