Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.770275
Write A Review
June 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As a professor of music education at Oberlin Conservatory of Music, I wanted to learn what possibilities exist for music education at disadvantaged schools. My colleague and I contacted ETM and we visited three schools (two elementary and one middle school) to see ETM teachers in action. I was impressed with the teachers' understanding of classroom structure and behavior management. Further, the students were engaged in musical experiences that were hands-on and sequential, and within a comprehensive curricular structure. These music classes were not what I had expected to observe, happily, from the stereotypical "inner-city schools." The Education Directors have years of hands-on experiences with developing curricula and teacher training. They are PRACTICAL, musical, and creative and look for/instill those qualities in the teachers they hire for ETM. They provide a support system for new and developing ETM teachers—something all novice educators need, especially in challenging settings. ETM understands the rationale for music education in students' lives. It's a mechanism for growing students who are humanistic, musical, creative thinking, and problem-solving contributors to society. ETM's curriculum follows a comprehensive and sequential curriculum fit for cognitive, physical, and social developmental needs for diverse student populations. ETM is a fine models for others to emulate!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My observations of the ETM program at elementary and middle schools in the Bronx.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

Sustainability of the program in terms of bringing music educators to inner-city schools and keeping them as vital components of those school communities. It is a long-term commitment, not a one-time residency or short-term program that does not continue in the children's lives.

May 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It is extremely impressive that ETM's small staff and low administrative costs are able to bring music to so many kids, but what makes their work even more incredible is that by partnering with schools, each and every student participates daily, and for multiple years, which really makes a difference in applying what they learn in music to all subjects. I also love the way ETM works with the schools and the parents: ETM trains the teachers, brings in full music programs, and works with the parents to make sure they can afford the cost of renting instruments. In my opinion, Education Through Music is one of NYC's best non-profits -- not only for the education they bring to kids, but also for the way they run their program so efficiently.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love for more people to know about Education Through Music.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a former teacher and current volunteer with ETM. I admire this organization for working with schools to bring high quality music programs to high needs students. These students deserve the chance to explore music and the arts, and you can see the benefits of this program both within individual students as well as the school as a whole.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 25, 2014

more

May 25, 2014

I'm very proud to be able to work with Education Through Music. The staff's dedication and eye towards growth is evident in everything they do. I particularly respect the organization because of how well the mission is executed. Even though the operating costs are quite lean, the programs ETM puts into NYC public schools are robust and very hands on -- the schools ETM partners with receive everything from teachers to lesson plans to instruments, and every student in their schools receives music education. Indeed, the best way to tell that ETM programs have a meaningful impact is to hear from the students themselves. They are bright, engaged, and happy when they talk about how their music classes have changed them; ETM's mission is so important.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Music education helped shape who I am today and I am so grateful that there is a not-for-profit dedicated to this cause. With all of the turmoil and uncertainty with the state of music education, it is great to know that there are professionals working around the clock to make sure the cause is taken seriously. I had the pleasure of volunteering with the organization at their annual Gala, and it was such a meaningful and inspiring night for which to be a part. They made sure there were actual jobs for all of the volunteers which I especially appreciated. I hope to do more with them in future! Wonderful org with an important cause!
May 22, 2014

more

May 22, 2014

Education Through Music (ETM) helped shaped my life to what it is today. Without this organization I wouldn't be in LaGuardia High School for the arts and performing arts. The whole experience was just amazing and I would go back and do it again any day. It helped me focus in school and also helped me participate and interact with other students. The memories and the people of ETM will always be so close to my heart and I thank them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2014

more

May 22, 2014

Learning the piano was instrumental to my life in terms of developing patience, creativity, and diligence, and Education Through Music allows me to give back what I was so generously given in my childhood. ETM provides an integral learning experience and creative outlet for children of under-served schools, potentially instilling a bedrock of values that learning music inspires, which is carried forward into adulthood. ETM opens up doors of learning that would otherwise not have been attainable for these children, and because of that, ETM is great in its work and mission.
May 20, 2014

more

May 20, 2014

Education Through Music is an outstanding organization that holds Music Education closely in its heart.
Its mission is to provide students with the necessary tools in order to succeed. These tools are presented through the medium of music. Music education is fortunate to have such a strong
supporter in Education Through Music which shines ever so brightly in the schools throughout New York City and the surrounding Burroughs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 16, 2014

more

May 16, 2014

As a music educator and proud partner of Education Through Music, it has been my pleasure to adopt the ETM model in multiple schools. The sequential curriculum created by the ETM staff not only teaches musical concepts but also fosters critical thinking skills needed in both academia and the student’s own personal life. It is music that can bring school communities together and create an atmosphere of respect, learning, passion, and most importantly joy. In a time when arts education is being removed from many school institutions, ETM is at the forefront of preserving the importance of the arts in the lives of our children and our future. It is the passionate, ambitious, and driven teachers, supervisors, and sponsors that make ETM one of the strongest organizations of its kind. I look forward to its continued success and it is my honor to serve as a teacher with ETM!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 15, 2014

more

May 15, 2014

Education Through Music is a remarkable organization that provides inner-city students access to music education. Not only do they place teachers in these schools but they make sure that the teachers have access to an array of resources and instruments to enrich the general music experience. I am so grateful to have started my teaching career with ETM. The level of support that I received far exceeded what you would see as a first year teacher of a non-core subject in a school district. And the support that I was given allowed me to better support my students musical education. I see music as an equalizer. Students who may struggle with core subjects can find success in the music room which can in turn motivate their performance in other subjects. I can see the impact that music education has had on my students and I know that without ETM they would not have those experiences.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers