Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.93225
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

Being a volunteer for ESP has helped out not only me but has had a tremendous impact in my community. The teachers are very caring to the children and treat them as their own. I am so grateful for even being associated with such an outstanding non-profit and I look forward to volunteering for ESP again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is absolutely nothing that I would change about this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Great curriculum for young teens! Randi and her program really touch on real life problems that are facing our youth and her program's angle is very engaging.

As a volunteer I was able to see how to touch some very "adult" topics that are essential to any teenager heading towards
adulthood.

Overall, I would recommend this type of seminar for any high school and I believe this type of education is vital to teens out there who may not have access to it.
May 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It is refreshing to work with someone who is so passionate about her work. By volunteering with ESP I feel that I am playing a small part in the success of our children. Their message is relevant and needed.
August 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 22, 2011

When I first heard about the ESP youth volunteer group from a friend I didn't know what to think but after going to a meeting I became extremely interested in sharing my thoughts and ideas to help pla... more

August 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I really owe a lot to ESP for helping me attain so much knowledge and life experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

When I first heard about the ESP youth volunteer group from a friend I didn't know what to think but after going to a meeting I became extremely interested in sharing my thoughts and ideas to help plan events and activites. I had no idea how involved I would become but I actually felt very comfortable doing anything I could to make ESP reach its' full potential. Education for Successful Parenting has helped me to appreciate the family I have. ESP showed me that in order to create a family, one must be prepared to raise a child which is difficult to do in early adulthood. ESP demonstrates the benefits of building a career and a safe environment before bringing a child into the world. ESP has helped me to plan out my life and set goals for myself. I recommend young teens to experience any Education for Successful Parenting event or course as they are all informative and inspiring.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the "Dream of Family" showcase where many government officials recognized my efforts in being part of the volunteer group.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue the Generation Next meetings to come up with new ideas for ESP.

April 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I currently volunteer for ESP (and have been for several months). Initially when I looked up ESP online, I was just trying to find some positive way to spend my extra time; however, when I met the founder Randi, her other volunteers, and the ESP students I realized there was a personal connection for me - past and future . Because of my childhood I understood the importance of such a program and also I recently got married and my husband and I plan to bring at least one child in this world. Working with ESP has taught me different ways to be a better future parent especially when it comes to finances and discipline. My husband and I will implement these lessons. With that said, I came looking to help with ESP and ESP actually helped me:) Randi is an absolute joy to work for and I am glad to be on her team... Please come join us!
Alex S.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I started volunteering to do the books for Education for Successful Parenting, I decided to take the workbooks home to have our children to complete them. I really enjoyed the result. We have a blended family of 6 children. My children have attended Johnston County Schools and my husband's children have attended both Harnet & Wake County schools. All of them have had some type of parenting class through the school system, but these workbooks generated a new conscious level that their schools didn't and open the door for extensive conservation with us. Considering normally teenagers do not entertained long term consequences of their decisions but this workbook has motivated our children start doing this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I strongly supported ESP from the beginning because of my own personal experience with the foster care system, and my passionate hope that all children can enjoy safe and loving homes.
As a volunteer and former board member of ESP, I have seen the long-term benefits that impact the lives of
youth. Not only ESP empowers youth on advocating and taking control of their future, but also prepares youth with the skills to help them make good decisions in become good parents.
As a researcher who has evaluated many non-profits that work with at-risk youth, ESP is one of the few organizations that is well-designed and organized. The curriculum is developmentally appropriate for youth, the language is modified for youth to have a better understanding of the material, and the handbook is a form to engage youth in critically thinking on how they can apply what they have learned from ESP.
ESP is a program that treats youth as an “active agent,” who has a powerful role in changing their own environment and other people’s life. Giving youth the power to take control of their lives, not only has long-term benefits in their well-being and development, but it also impacts youth’s identity and the community they live in.
My greatest reward from directly working with ESP participating youth is hearing them say, “I have the power to change my family cycle of abuse” or “I want to be prepared before I bring a child to the world.”
ESP is the foundation to better prepare youth who have not been exposed to a healthy family model or have not thought about their future parent role. I personally feel that when we invest time and money on our future generation, we create healthier people who are capable of raising children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

ESP is a wonderful program that educates teens and gets them thinking about their future. The program engages the class and is filled with activities that the students enjoy. This program gets the participants to start thinking about how they can reach their goals and have happy, healthy families when they are ready and the time is right. The program covers a vital part of education that is often overlooked or not deeply explored.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have seen this program in action & it is fantastic. The workbook that Randi Rubenstein wrote for these classes and the discussions that follow should be a must-do for every high school student in the country- seriously. She works with adolescents & teens- before they're pregnant- to get them to visualize their future dreams, plans, wishes. Then she gets them to think about where & when having children would fit in with their dreams. The students are able to make a tangible connection between things they might like to do & the choices necessary now, today, tomorrow to be able to do those things. ESP is not "sex education". It is so much more than that. It actually enables students to imagine their future in a way that is not taught in any regular school classes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Education for Successful Parenting is a great organization. The students walk out of the classroom consciously thinking about parenthood and their future. This program helps them recognize what a precious responsibility a child is, and what they need to do to right now to take care of a child in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers