Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Children & Youth, Children & Youth Services, Education, Health, Secondary & High Schools, Youth Development Programs

Mission: ESP is improving the health and well-being of children in our communities by educating adolescents about parenting before they conceive the next generation of children. Our goal is to empower young adults with the information and life-planning skills they need to form a healthy family. ESP is working to reduce rates of teen pregnancy, absent fathers, and child abuse.

Results: Among teens who have attended ESP programs, over 90% report being more willing to wait until adulthood before parenting, and they report feeling more prepared to provide for, protect, and nurture a child.

Target demographics: improve children's well-being

Direct beneficiaries per year: over 1,000 teens.

Geographic areas served: pre-parenting education

Programs: "Healthy Foundations for Future Families" which educates teens about the effect of their choices today on the well-being of their future family.

Community Stories

25 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

The Education for Successful Parenting course that my students went through was a great experience. The information that is passed along through the course and teachings suits my students of every level functionally, educationally, and socially. The course plants the seeds for the students to start to understand the importance of parenting as they mature and grow. I look forward to having the instructors in class again next year.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

ESP is a great organzation that has given me the opportunity to work within my community to spread awareness about child saftety throughout my high school career. It has also opened many doors and opportunities for myself and peers , who are now the founders of The Esp teen club.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

rrubenstein 10/14/2016

Having you in our class several years ago was wonderful. And then you took it to a whole new level by joining us in our work and helping to form the ESP Teens Club! We are so proud of your great accomplishments, and know this is just the beginning of your beautifully bright future.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Education for Successful Parenting instructed me in my freshman health class, that impacted the decisions I make for the rest of my life. That summer I began volunteering for ESP and teaching what I learned to the community. Now as a senior in high school, I am interning at ESP.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

rrubenstein 10/14/2016

How lucky were we to have you in one of our classes! And now to have you as an intern is helping ESP accomplish so much more. Your volunteerism over the past 4 years has helped to protect and enhance the lives of so many children. Thank you!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Education for Successful Parenting (ESP) focuses on informing teens the responsibilities of being a parent, before they become a parent. Today's society is often back loaded in that information or action is presented after the fact. ESP's goal is to be proactive in informing teens the requirements of being a parent, to help protect our future generations.

2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Working with ESP has been such a joy! Not only is the founder, Randi Rubenstein, extremely passionate about what she does, but the entire program is completely amazing. I grew up in a low-income community my from the time I was enrolled in elementary school. I've also grown up in a family where having a child before the age of 20 is the norm. These experiences truly allow me to appreciate what this program does. I remember being in a Parenting and Child Development class during high school copying definitions from a textbook. In fact, one of my fellow classmates, a freshman, was actually pregnant. I feel as if we would have had ESP curriculum incorporated into in the class, it would have made much more of an impact. I have been able to observe what the classroom is like and it has motivated me to continue to spread the word about ESP. The teens are so engaged, attentive, and they genuinely seem interested. I believe that ESP would be beneficial for any high school curriculum, home school student, or even just a program that parents can implement in their child's life. It has been so rewarding to be a part of something that has such an impact on our community!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

rrubenstein 03/14/2015

Thank you for taking time to write about your impressions of our Healthy Foundations for Future Families high school program and our organization. We are so honored you chose ESP for your internship!

4

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have had the opportunity to intern with ESP and observe high school students participating in the program. ESP teaches teens goal-setting and how to stay on a clear path by making positive choices. Students are provided a workbook that helps them create a personal life plan. The program includes a budgeting component and provides examples of positive discipline strategies for parenting. Students are taught about child development and the responsibilities of protecting children. Through role play students are able to practice making positive choices. I am very impressed by ESP’s unique program and its varied methods. I was able to see first-hand the positive affect it has on teens.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

rrubenstein 11/25/2014

We are so grateful that you chose ESP for your internship! Your assistance and insights have helped strengthen our program and our organization. Thank you for sharing your observations.

2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Being a volunteer for ESP has helped out not only me but has had a tremendous impact in my community. The teachers are very caring to the children and treat them as their own. I am so grateful for even being associated with such an outstanding non-profit and I look forward to volunteering for ESP again.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 4

Great curriculum for young teens! Randi and her program really touch on real life problems that are facing our youth and her program's angle is very engaging.

As a volunteer I was able to see how to touch some very "adult" topics that are essential to any teenager heading towards adulthood.

Overall, I would recommend this type of seminar for any high school and I believe this type of education is vital to teens out there who may not have access to it.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

rrubenstein 05/14/2014

Thank you for sharing your valuable insights, especially as one of our volunteers who has seen our program in action at a local high school!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

It is refreshing to work with someone who is so passionate about her work. By volunteering with ESP I feel that I am playing a small part in the success of our children. Their message is relevant and needed.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

rrubenstein 05/14/2014

We are so grateful for your assistance! With your help, we're able to review all the student feedback comments, and continually improve and grow our programs. You play a very vital role in our success. Thank you for also taking time to post your thoughts.

2 Brenda S.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I really owe a lot to ESP for helping me attain so much knowledge and life experience.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

rrubenstein 08/26/2013

We are so glad that you have continued to support ESP through the years! You have been a wonderful representative of ESP. We are proud of your academic and career achievements, and you are a wonderful role model for all ESP youth volunteers.

Previous Stories
1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

When I first heard about the ESP youth volunteer group from a friend I didn't know what to think but after going to a meeting I became extremely interested in sharing my thoughts and ideas to help plan events and activites. I had no idea how involved I would become but I actually felt very comfortable doing anything I could to make ESP reach its' full potential. Education for Successful Parenting has helped me to appreciate the family I have. ESP showed me that in order to create a family, one must be prepared to raise a child which is difficult to do in early adulthood. ESP demonstrates the benefits of building a career and a safe environment before bringing a child into the world. ESP has helped me to plan out my life and set goals for myself. I recommend young teens to experience any Education for Successful Parenting event or course as they are all informative and inspiring.

1 Tanisha S.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I currently volunteer for ESP (and have been for several months). Initially when I looked up ESP online, I was just trying to find some positive way to spend my extra time; however, when I met the founder Randi, her other volunteers, and the ESP students I realized there was a personal connection for me - past and future . Because of my childhood I understood the importance of such a program and also I recently got married and my husband and I plan to bring at least one child in this world. Working with ESP has taught me different ways to be a better future parent especially when it comes to finances and discipline. My husband and I will implement these lessons. With that said, I came looking to help with ESP and ESP actually helped me:) Randi is an absolute joy to work for and I am glad to be on her team... Please come join us!
Alex S.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

rrubenstein 05/22/2013

We're so glad you are part of our team! Volunteers like you make our work possible. Together we're making the world a better place for our next generation of children.