Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.924535
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
January 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I took this course through my Healthful Living class at Millbrook High School. I found the course very informative, and it got me thinking about my future and how to achieve my goals. The instructors are fantastic and include the audience in the lesson. The course really gets you thinking about things that you've never thought about before. I feel much more infomed about being a parent and the responsibities that come with it than I was before, and much more prepared for whatever my future holds.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have participated in this program through Heritage High school which has given my life a whole new direction. This is a magnificent organization which not only helped me to understand the importance of planning your life goals but also ways to be successful in it. ESP has taught me to never let go of my dreams and to make step by step organized plans in order to reach them with flying colors. Apart from this, I have learned when would be the time in my life to o become a good parent. Furthermore, through this organization, I have understood what younger children who do not have parents are going through in their lives, and thus it gave me an opportunity to reach out for them. Moreover, I have learned skills and techniques to help other people too. All in all, this organization helps us work hand in hand to make this world a better place to live in.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I participed in the program through Millbrook Highschool. I learned a lot of things , like that taking care of a baby is expensive and that you need to be settled before having a baby. Also something very interesting and useful that I learned was how to calm a baby when he/she is crying , i also liked to learn about all the different ways you can deal with your children instead of hurting them. I think that the program is very useful and interesting.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am so thankful that Randi brings ESP to my son's high school! I think it fills a void that few have even acknowledged. Somehow we expect to break cycles of poverty and child abuse with academic and character education alone. Randi has recognized that we have to teach kids about what strong families look like and to nurture their dreams of a better life. Then, by showing them they have control over their destinies by the decisions they make, she gives them a chance. I wish her program could be part of every high school curriculum in the country.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am honored and privileged to be a part of the mission of Education for Successful Parenting. At a time when young people are bombarded with images and themes that glamorize sex alongside other plot lines that make parenting look easy, fun, and exciting, the mission of ESP is to bring a dose of reality to those teens and give them straight information on what it takes to actually parent. The program covers a wide array of topics, from realizing and budgeting for the cost of a child to understanding the stress that comes with parenting. The program begins with helping the students visualize and set their goals for their future families, recognizing that no one sets goals to raise children in poverty. It then shows them step by step how the choices and decisions that they make now and in the near future will impact those goals that they have set. Equipping young people with information and education on what it actually takes to achieve their goals for establishing a family is what ESP is all about. It has helped to change so many lives, and will continue to have a positive effect in the mission to break the cycle of young parents raising the next generation in less than desirable circumstances.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I started volunteering to do the books for Education for Successful Parenting, I decided to take the workbooks home to have our children to complete them. I really enjoyed the result. We have a blended family of 6 children. My children have attended Johnston County Schools and my husband's children have attended both Harnet & Wake County schools. All of them have had some type of parenting class through the school system, but these workbooks generated a new conscious level that their schools didn't and open the door for extensive conservation with us. Considering normally teenagers do not entertained long term consequences of their decisions but this workbook has motivated our children start doing this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I strongly supported ESP from the beginning because of my own personal experience with the foster care system, and my passionate hope that all children can enjoy safe and loving homes.
As a volunteer and former board member of ESP, I have seen the long-term benefits that impact the lives of
youth. Not only ESP empowers youth on advocating and taking control of their future, but also prepares youth with the skills to help them make good decisions in become good parents.
As a researcher who has evaluated many non-profits that work with at-risk youth, ESP is one of the few organizations that is well-designed and organized. The curriculum is developmentally appropriate for youth, the language is modified for youth to have a better understanding of the material, and the handbook is a form to engage youth in critically thinking on how they can apply what they have learned from ESP.
ESP is a program that treats youth as an “active agent,” who has a powerful role in changing their own environment and other people’s life. Giving youth the power to take control of their lives, not only has long-term benefits in their well-being and development, but it also impacts youth’s identity and the community they live in.
My greatest reward from directly working with ESP participating youth is hearing them say, “I have the power to change my family cycle of abuse” or “I want to be prepared before I bring a child to the world.”
ESP is the foundation to better prepare youth who have not been exposed to a healthy family model or have not thought about their future parent role. I personally feel that when we invest time and money on our future generation, we create healthier people who are capable of raising children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Randi Rubenstein's altruism and dedication to ESP are an inspiration to any organization. She is impeccably professional and professional. She has built an incredible organization that will make the world a better place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

ESP is a wonderful program that educates teens and gets them thinking about their future. The program engages the class and is filled with activities that the students enjoy. This program gets the participants to start thinking about how they can reach their goals and have happy, healthy families when they are ready and the time is right. The program covers a vital part of education that is often overlooked or not deeply explored.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I once heard a talk from a representative of the ESP organization and was so impressed with the concept and goals that I decided to make a contribution. I don't know of any other organization that is so targeted with the goal of seeing that the next generation learn the necessary skills to increase their chances of being successful parents. They are a wonderful group of volunteers truly seeking to create a better world by focusing their resources on one of the most critical age groups in our society -- young adults entering adulthood. Congratulations on a job well done!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers