Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Arts & Culture, Children & Youth, Printing & Publishing, Youth Development Programs

Mission: "EDU DESIGNS is dedicated to produce and distribute multimedia materials for the education, motivation and character development of children" We are "Building Brains And Hearts Through The ARTS!"

Results: Thousands of children and their parents get a positive impact from our outreach! We donate our time and materials to schools, teachers and students, including my Art Book, SEE WHAT YOU'RE LOOKING AT: http://www.edudesigns.org/booknews.html You can help too, by sharing my inspiring art book with them. To get a complimentary digital copy, please click on "Write a Review" here: https://greatnonprofits.org/reviews/write/edu-designs and tell us how YOU think the arts help kids. Then get a free download of Ruth's Art Book here! http://www.edudesigns.org/blog/give-while-you-get/#ArtBook Thank you so much for helping!

Target demographics: provide media for character development

Direct beneficiaries per year: thousands of students, parents and teachers.

Geographic areas served: Worldwide

Programs: Free Art Presentations, Books and materials and Parenting Tools. Founded by Emmy Award Winning Animation artist & Author Ruth Elliott-Hilsdon, EDU DESIGNS provides tools for positive behavior and character development through the ARTS and through GoMommyGO®, a registered trademark of EDU DESIGNS.

Community Stories

9 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

1

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

Excellent work with our kiddos! The world needs more people and organizations like this!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Ruth Elliott 10/20/2016

Thank you SO much! :)

2

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

I deal with lots of children of different age ranges and abilities.
Their range , scope and stories help to illustrate what we try
to teach our kids anyway, but the medium of animation and music
is a much better way of getting those messages across.
Ruths company Edu Designs really helps to get those messages
across and I want to thank them for helping me to help them.
Thanks Ruth.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Ruth Elliott 10/20/2016

Wow. What a nice thing to say. I really appreciate your thoughtfulness and caring!

4

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

I turn to Ruth often in my work with behaviorally challenged children and their families. I love the positive approach and simple charts. Thank you.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

edudesigns.org 10/22/2014

Thank you very much for doing everything you do to help the children! I know it makes a difference. Please contact me personally at: director@edudesigns.org to receive a download of my Art Book for children.

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

As a master life coach and parenting mentor I love to refer my Super Moms Coaching tribe to EDU DESIGNS! It's so important for parents to spell out clearly what they expect from their children and REWARD them for their obedience. EDU DESIGNS have engaging chore charts ready made with built-in incentives. Excellent resource for parents!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

edudesigns.org 09/25/2014

Thanks so MUCH for referring other moms to our resources! I appreciate you! Blessings, Ruth

2

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 4

I am a Cognitive Therapist and work with children and teens having ODD, CD, AD/HD coupled with emotional problems. The behavior charts Ruth offers work marvelously in maintaining the objectives and reaching the goals of children.
Thank you Ruth for all your work.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

edudesigns.org 09/24/2014

Thank you so much Safa! I appreciate all you are doing for kids, and so glad my behavior charts are helping! Best, Ruth

1 Nandita D.

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

I live and work in Goa in India, running a multidisciplinary child development and family guidance centre called Sethu, for children with developmental, behavioral, educational and emotional difficulties. What I love best about your website and newsletter is that they are filled with practical, realistic and backed-by-experience advice. I can apply your suggestions in resource poor environments. The families I work with often do not have the finances or access to professional services. However with your guidance, they feel empowered to do the best they can. We need more resources like Edu Designs that offer professional help without commercial interests in mind. Thank you for all you do!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

edudesigns.org 09/24/2014

Thank you SO much, Nandita! You are what makes living here on earth worthwhile to those around you. I know your love and sacrifice are appreciated by all who know you. Blessings and love to you for sharing your kindness with others.

2

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

This past Sunday (9/12/2014) the New York Times ran "The Way to Beat Poverty" by Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn. As I read, I was reminded of Ruth Elliott-Hilsdon's work with young parents and their children through EduDesigns, and her emphasis on encouragement, communication, and especially physical affection.

Kristof and WuDunn write: "A series of studies have found similar patterns in humans. Scientists can measure cortisol in an infant’s saliva, and babies turn out to be easily stressed. Anything from loud noises to hunger to a soiled diaper floods the child’s brain with cortisol. But when Mom or Dad hugs the child, the stress and cortisol almost disappear...Dr. Jack P. Shonkoff, founder of the Center on the Developing Child at Harvard University...argues that the constant bath of cortisol in a high-stress infancy prepares the child for a high-risk environment. The cortisol affects brain structures so that those individuals are on a fight-or-flight hair trigger throughout life, an adaptation that might have been useful in prehistory. But in today’s world, the result is schoolchildren who are so alert to danger that they cannot concentrate. They are also so suspicious of others that they are prone to pre-emptive aggression." SOURCE:

In an economic environment in which support programs for at-risk mothers are being cut back rather than expanded, Ruth Elliott-Hilsdon steps in with simple, nurturing and profoundly empowering help.

These young people and their babies are our future. Thanks to EduDesigns, that future is a little brighter for all of us.

Comments ( 2 )

profile

edudesigns.org 09/17/2014

The article is profound. Good to know I'm on the right track! Thank you, CGBlick. Here's the link to it: http://www.nytimes.com/2014/09/14/opinion/sunday/nicholas-kristof-the-way-to-beat-poverty.html

profile

edudesigns.org 09/17/2014

PS - Thank you, CGBlick - for also referencing my blog on the importance of HUGS! http://www.edudesigns.org/blog/hugs/

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 3

Hi I am wanting a copy of your book so I can try to implement some techniques for a child with autism that I care for in a classroom setting.

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 4

In classroom teaching AND in the home, developing depth of character is imperative. A child who knows him/herself and what positive things s/he is capable of insures success in all realms.