Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.578955
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

As a master life coach and parenting mentor I love to refer my Super Moms Coaching tribe to EDU DESIGNS! It's so important for parents to spell out clearly what they expect from their children and REWARD them for their obedience. EDU DESIGNS have engaging chore charts ready made with built-in incentives. Excellent resource for parents!
September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a Cognitive Therapist and work with children and teens having ODD, CD, AD/HD coupled with emotional problems. The behavior charts Ruth offers work marvelously in maintaining the objectives and reaching the goals of children.
Thank you Ruth for all your work.
September 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I live and work in Goa in India, running a multidisciplinary child development and family guidance centre called Sethu, for children with developmental, behavioral, educational and emotional difficulties. What I love best about your website and newsletter is that they are filled with practical, realistic and backed-by-experience advice. I can apply your suggestions in resource poor environments. The families I work with often do not have the finances or access to professional services. However with your guidance, they feel empowered to do the best they can. We need more resources like Edu Designs that offer professional help without commercial interests in mind. Thank you for all you do!
September 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

This past Sunday (9/12/2014) the New York Times ran "The Way to Beat Poverty" by Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn. As I read, I was reminded of Ruth Elliott-Hilsdon's work with young parents and their children through EduDesigns, and her emphasis on encouragement, communication, and especially physical affection.

Kristof and WuDunn write: "A series of studies have found similar patterns in humans. Scientists can measure cortisol in an infant’s saliva, and babies turn out to be easily stressed. Anything from loud noises to hunger to a soiled diaper floods the child’s brain with cortisol. But when Mom or Dad hugs the child, the stress and cortisol almost disappear...Dr. Jack P. Shonkoff, founder of the Center on the Developing Child at Harvard University...argues that the constant bath of cortisol in a high-stress infancy prepares the child for a high-risk environment. The cortisol affects brain structures so that those individuals are on a fight-or-flight hair trigger throughout life, an adaptation that might have been useful in prehistory. But in today’s world, the result is schoolchildren who are so alert to danger that they cannot concentrate. They are also so suspicious of others that they are prone to pre-emptive aggression." SOURCE:

In an economic environment in which support programs for at-risk mothers are being cut back rather than expanded, Ruth Elliott-Hilsdon steps in with simple, nurturing and profoundly empowering help.

These young people and their babies are our future. Thanks to EduDesigns, that future is a little brighter for all of us.
June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

Hi I am wanting a copy of your book so I can try to implement some techniques for a child with autism that I care for in a classroom setting.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

In classroom teaching AND in the home, developing depth of character is imperative. A child who knows him/herself and what positive things s/he is capable of insures success in all realms.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

inform schools about our mission to help character develoment through art presentations, and free resources and materials. Volunteer