Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.65
Write A Review
September 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I live and work in Goa in India, running a multidisciplinary child development and family guidance centre called Sethu, for children with developmental, behavioral, educational and emotional difficulties. What I love best about your website and newsletter is that they are filled with practical, realistic and backed-by-experience advice. I can apply your suggestions in resource poor environments. The families I work with often do not have the finances or access to professional services. However with your guidance, they feel empowered to do the best they can. We need more resources like Edu Designs that offer professional help without commercial interests in mind. Thank you for all you do!
September 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

This past Sunday (9/12/2014) the New York Times ran "The Way to Beat Poverty" by Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn. As I read, I was reminded of Ruth Elliott-Hilsdon's work with young parents and their children through EduDesigns, and her emphasis on encouragement, communication, and especially physical affection.

Kristof and WuDunn write: "A series of studies have found similar patterns in humans. Scientists can measure cortisol in an infant’s saliva, and babies turn out to be easily stressed. Anything from loud noises to hunger to a soiled diaper floods the child’s brain with cortisol. But when Mom or Dad hugs the child, the stress and cortisol almost disappear...Dr. Jack P. Shonkoff, founder of the Center on the Developing Child at Harvard University...argues that the constant bath of cortisol in a high-stress infancy prepares the child for a high-risk environment. The cortisol affects brain structures so that those individuals are on a fight-or-flight hair trigger throughout life, an adaptation that might have been useful in prehistory. But in today’s world, the result is schoolchildren who are so alert to danger that they cannot concentrate. They are also so suspicious of others that they are prone to pre-emptive aggression." SOURCE:

In an economic environment in which support programs for at-risk mothers are being cut back rather than expanded, Ruth Elliott-Hilsdon steps in with simple, nurturing and profoundly empowering help.

These young people and their babies are our future. Thanks to EduDesigns, that future is a little brighter for all of us.
September 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Dear Ruth Elliott-Hilsdon, Thank you for giving us the opportunity to copies some of your books for the past one year. We want you to know that we have appreciated your humanitarian works. Your cooperation has helped us run smoothly and has led to establish new NGO Reward Foundation Ghana. We look forward to many more years of mutually beneficial association and wish your organization the success that it deserves. Thanks
Eric Ansah
Ghana West Africa.
November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Today's kids are going up in a media driven world designed specifically to command their full attention and stimulate their senses with out providing any fundamental skill sets or tools a child needs. EDU Designs want to help parents, caregivers and teachers how to creatively incorporate character building through simple delivery methods. The behavior charts made me realize how much I acknowledged the "negative" behaviors and had all but forgotten to reward the positive. I am grateful. The rewards have made a huge difference in my kids behavior and now we are spending a lot more "quality" time together !!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

My mother would always tell me how important it was to take advantage of your chance to learn when you are young- that when you are older you will be so busy working you may not get the chance you have now. This is one of the things that I love about EDU DESIGNS. They are investing in kids WHILE THERE'S STILL HOPE!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

You gave me copies of the behavior charts for my grandchildren when I was your husbands nurse at St Bernardines. I love the charts for the positive reinforcements! I pray you and your hubby are well. Thanks for the great info! With love..Diana Van Leuven Johnson

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

My grandchildren live with me in an area where the children aren't very friendly. We are Christians and they have a hard time dealing with our sort of people. When my grandchildren were getting bullied I found EDU DESIGNS... The posters were great!!! We started using what was stated and also looked for other ideas on getting ready for School, and after school. We have shared this web-site with our neigbors, friends and school. It has made a tremendous difference in our area, school and neighborhood. I recommend to ALL!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

Hello there. I started using your behavioural charts about two years ago to motivate and reward my son. He was very excited about being able to assign stars and stickers for every day he did something well.They have worked so well that almost all of those tasks have now become part of his routine.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

Hi I am wanting a copy of your book so I can try to implement some techniques for a child with autism that I care for in a classroom setting.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I used your Positive Behavioral Charts and on the first day my daughter was potty trained as a result of the sticker reward benefit. I am so pleased with your charts that I have recommended your site to all my friends!

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

inform schools about our mission to help character develoment through art presentations, and free resources and materials. Volunteer