Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 21, 2013

more

September 21, 2013

I have been a contributor to Edpowerment for the past two years. I have known the founder of this group as a colleague and a friend. Her commitment to educating the "whole" person has been transferred from a competitive all girls' high school in NJ, to the children of Tanzania. From digging a well for water to computer education, much has been achieved in a short period of time,
due to her commitment, perseverance and dedication. Her passion has encouraged others to join her as volunteers and partners in this very worthwhile endeavor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

This nonprofit was started by a close friend from college whom I admire enormously. Her commitment to women and education is boundless and what she's been able to accomplish awes me. I am proud to be a major donor and also provide matching funds from my company.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

Over the past year, I have been a proud supporter of EdPowerment Inc. through District 117 Interact Club. I have helped with numerous fundraising projects in order to help EdPowerment and everything it does for Tanzania. The education they provide for students who don't have access to everyday necessities is outstanding. Many students from the Interact Club have gone to help the cause and come back with positive feedback that can inspire many and change lives forever. The work they do internationally spreads to our local causes and motivates many people to make a difference in the world. The program managers of EdPowerment have committed their lives to making a change. I have never met more inspiring people than the ones who are involved in EdPowerment.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

EdPowerment is committed to not only helping students obtain the education they require, but to empowering and educating the community. This allows the organization's efforts to be widespread and its impact lasting. Much care is taken in ensuring that students receive the support they need to work through the educational stages towards completion.

I was able to see first hand how the population in Moshi, Tanzania is directly served by EdPowerment's programs. Textbooks appeared for the first time in the small Kilimahewa school. Real teachers were hired. Curriculum was developed. A lunch program was started to provide nourishment and allow students to focus on learning. Students with impossible living situations were placed in boarding schools. Community awareness programs were offered for parents and neighbors. A well was dug to provide clean water... The best part is that even the smallest donations make a huge impact.

With these accomplishments and more over just a few years, I believe that
EdPowerment's impact, progress, and transparency make it an organization worth supporting.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Duplicate it and place it in other regions requiring similar services to Moshi, TZ.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After a short four years of activity in the Moshe district of Tanzania, EdPowerment has an impressive list of successes to its name. Its very first scholarship student, sponsored after being cut off from the limited local educational opportunities, will obtain his B.S. degree this autumn. Another will shortly be entering her first year of medical school. A third has just completed her first year of law studies. In addition to scholarships such as these, EdPowerment supports the Kilimahewa Educational Center, providing teachers, books, supplies, and one meal a day to the fifty or so teenage students who walk sometimes three miles each way to attend. Actively engaged not only with the school but with the local population, EdPowerment has funded a well to provide safe water to both, has hosted seminars to raise awareness of Aids/HIV and has created Autism Connects Tanzania (ACT) to educate families about the disability and to protect children who have it. On limited funding from donors such as me, it has done extraordinary work. With more, it will only do better. I urge you to donate, volunteer, help in any way you can.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a part of this foundation since its inception. I have watched its growth and the devotion and energy that has been expended by its founders. As I read the accomplishments that have and are occurring amazes me at the amount of time, finances and devotion that is ongoing.

Please assist this great foundation in continuing their goal of educating these students and assisting the families in so many ways.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers