Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 31, 2013

more

August 31, 2013

During February until August I have been working for EdPowerment (through my internship). EdPowerment is a great organisation that believes in education, providing information and creates awareness through several projects. I have been a part of some activities at the Kilimahewa Educational Centre to provide good education for students, sponsor students and teachers. I have participated at Autism Connects Tanzania workshops/conferences where EdPowerment spreads more awareness about different subjects for parents, organisations and teachers/professionals. I have seen the positive responds during these workshops and I have seen the practical change in behaviour from professionals during their work. Through spreading more awareness and providing more education, information and knowledge, EdPowerment makes a difference for a lot of people and communities. I have worked at Gabriella Children’s Rehabilitation Centre, a centre for children with special need/disabilities. EdPowerment provides financial and practical support, so the staff en the centre can grow. Because of EdPowerment the Gabriella Centre is able to provide education to special needs students, therapy interventions and an outreach program.

Edpowerment made my internship the most amazing and memorable experience. The Edpowerment team consist of driven, enthusiastic people who work hard to make a difference. They think beyond boundaries and try hard to make new things work. I feel grateful to have been a part of their great work and to have seen the great results of their hard work.

Maud(i)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

EdPowerment has opened up new horizons for myself, and instilled a passion for volunteering that I will likely carry with me for the rest of my life. EdPowerment affects the lives of not only those receiving assistance, but also those giving it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

The most amazing and memorable experience in my life is all thanks to the people at EdPowerment. I was given the opportunity to change the lives of many. EdPowerment made it possible to volunteer in Tanzania. I worked with students that are very eager to learn and embrace the lessons they are taught. The experience made it possible to meet others that share the same passion on inspiring youth and changing the world for the better. EdPowerment was always on hand on during the volunteer programs. I was never left trying to find out what was occurring; everything was well planned and organized the days were packed with experiences while still never feeling overwhelmed. I will jump at any way to help this organization help all that comes in contact with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

I have been blessed to have been able to work with Edpowerment for several weeks each summer for the past two years in Tanzania. It has been amazing to work with the students of Kilimanjaro School, work alongside many sponsored students, and with the sweet 'special needs' kids at the Gabriella Center.
One of the many things that especially stood out to me was the love for learning the kids displayed and the effort they put into learning as much as they could despite their poverty and other circumstances. I am amazed at how the programs have grown in one short year. The number of students learning and becoming productive members of society is astounding and heart warming.
It has been a blessing to me to work with all four of the founders of Edpowerment and see their involvement with the students, the schools and the community. Their love and commitment is never ending. My husband and I financially support Edpowerment and will continue to do so. I encourage others looking for an NGO to support that really makes a difference in the lives of so many others to get involved and support Edpowerment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I thoroughly enjoyed my three weeks in TZ with EdPowerment... so much so, in fact, that I joined two other volunteers in starting a fundraising board. This organization is not only thorough, it truly cares about the people it helps. EdPowerment thrives on connecting with the students it supports. EdPowerment seeks out the necessities of those it supports, and finds the most efficient way of providing these services and materials. EdPowerment also makes an effort to educate the communities it influences, not just the students.
The only aspect missing from EdPowerment is enough funding to accomplish as much as it hopes to. I highly recommend that people not only look into volunteering with EdPowerment, but also ltry to find ways of financially supporting its programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 16, 2013

more

August 16, 2013

As a volunteer with Edpowerment I was able to see their operations firsthand. Too often there is a lack of transparency and accountability with nonprofit organizations. Edpowerment is remarkable in it's ability to provide donors with a clear sense of where their money is going. The projects are reasonable, sustainable, and they always benefit a population in need.

Moira and her staff have made it a priority to keep Edpowerment donors informed with up-to-date information through Facebook, blogs, newsletters, and the website. Updates are consistent, detailed, and exciting. As a result, many donors feel as though they are part of a much larger 'family'.

EdPowerment is an organization with clear goals and authentic motives. I have seen, with my own eyes, the remarkable effectiveness of the organization and it's programs. It is for this reason I would highly reccommend Edpowerment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 29, 2012

more

December 29, 2012

I was able to volunteer with Edpowerment at a special needs awareness conference in the summer of 2012. I was thoroughly impressed with the organization of Kerri, Jillian and Grace (the facilitators). They were able to bring parents, teachers, religious leaders and social workers together to network and talk about the issues facing the special education community in the Kilimanjaro region of Tanzania. The topics that they discussed were current and solution oriented. You can tell that they really care about their cause and are passionate about bringing people together to do what is best for the special needs children in the community. I could not be happier with my experience with Edpowerment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers