Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 21, 2013

more

September 21, 2013

I have been a contributor to Edpowerment for the past two years. I have known the founder of this group as a colleague and a friend. Her commitment to educating the "whole" person has been transferred from a competitive all girls' high school in NJ, to the children of Tanzania. From digging a well for water to computer education, much has been achieved in a short period of time,
due to her commitment, perseverance and dedication. Her passion has encouraged others to join her as volunteers and partners in this very worthwhile endeavor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Edpowerment is the only nonprofit organization in Tanzania which recognize that ‘’Children are the buds that must be merged to bloom in full, when these buds the future hopefully of our generation open up fully to display their grandeur and distribute their fragrance all around society is complete’’.
To prove this Edpowerment is financing Kilimahewa Women and Children Education Centre (KIWOCE) for each and everything for instance in buying books, paying salaries to teachers and other workers, paying for breakfast and lunch for teachers and students. Children enrolled at KIWOCE are those who left to grow without any assistance whatsoever as many wild flowers and plants grow in the woods even through the weeds. Apart from supporting students at Kilimahewa, Edpowerment is also providing long term sponsorship to students at various educational levels from secondary education to university education.
Students sponsored by Edpowerment are those who have been exposed to the hazards and hardship of this world for the long period of time. Many of them are orphans others have a single parent and few of them have parents but they are coming from vulnerable environment. Edpowerment commit itself in paying school fees and other facilities like books, pocket money and clothes, in short Edpowerment provide whatever they need for their academic excellence.
Edpowerment believes that the outcome of growth without care it is terrible. Furthermore Edpowerment realized that dejected and deprived children would develop in them a universal antagonism against settled system of the world and would seek to demolish every good order to be substituted by vile action which could be reflection of their distorted thoughts. To make sure this is not happening Edpowerment commits itself to provide all facilities and opportunities to the children. For instance in this year on June Edpowerment arranged annual event of students union from USA, Sponsored students and Kilimahewa students on a single platform where by all students spoke out their troubles and tribulation, their target and achievements, their ambitions and aspirations.
Furthermore Edpowerment introduce extracurricular activities at Kilimahewa in order to make sure the students are learning by practicing. The activities introduced by Edpowerment are poultry project and horticulture which are integral part of our life.
Moreover Edpowerment believes that teachers are important members of our community since they are builders of our society as well as our civilization. To prove this Edpowerment is providing seminars to teachers from various schools in Arusha and Kilimanjaro. For instance in this year on July Edpowerment arranged a seminar for teachers on how they can manage their class for effective involvement of the students, to love their students and be committed in teaching in order to produce active learners. Edpowerment made teachers to believe that there is no good student or bad student but just ‘’students’’ who of course have different limitation of intelligence, their capacity of taking in and reproduce that is all.
Moreover the community around Kilimahewa is enjoying the coming of Edpowerment. Before the coming of Edpowerment people used to travel long distance in search of water because water sources were found very far from the village. Edpowerment solved the problem of water shortage to the villagers by tapping underground water which is clean and safe for human consumption. Currently the water from the well is used by the community for domestic purpose and in irrigation, furthermore people get enough time to engage themselves in other economic activities and their children are now having enough time for studying.
Edpowerment is also financing Autism Connects Tanzania. Autism Connects Tanzania is a programme of Edpowerment which aims in providing education to the society about autism and other body disabilities like blindness, deafness and dumbness. In Tanzania many people lack education about various body disabilities and their causes. In most society body disabilities are taken as a curse and most of them believe that women are the one to blame when a child is born with any disabilities because women are the one who carry the babies in their womb.
Edpowerment is focusing to change the attitude of many people by providing seminars and workshop about various body disabilities and their causes. Furthermore Edpowerment supports Gabriella Centre which is responsible in taking care and providing basic training to the children with autism.
EDPOWERMENT IS COMPLETELY NONPROFIT ORGANIZATION WITH ALL QUALIFICATION TO BE TRUSTED, RESPECTED, LOVED AND FUNDED BY ALL PEOPLE WHO HAVE A DREAM OF MAKING OUR WORLD A BETTER PLACE FOR LIVING WHEREBY ALL CHILDREN WILL HAVE ACCESS TO QUALITY EDUCATION AND THOSE WITH SPECIAL NEEDS TO BE RESPECTED, LOVED AND GIVEN ALL ASSISTANCE THEY NEED.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization I would find the hostel for Kilimahewa students near by school because most of them are living very far from the school

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
September 11, 2013

EdPowerment is a wonderful organization! For the past two years, they have facilitated my collaboration with outstanding Tanzanian mental health professionals to make an autism screening clinic possible. The work they have done to improve education for children with special needs and to spread autism mental health literacy has made such a difference in the Moshi and surrounding communities. I am energized and moved by the wonderful progress made by EdPowerment that I observe each year I return to Tanzania. I cannot wait to see the new growth when I return next year!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 3, 2013

more

September 3, 2013

Miss Rebecca Kamoga...
I have been working with Edpowerment through one of its centers which is Kilimahewa education center since Aug, 2010.
Iam working at this center as a teacher and i can tell that Edpowerment is a very important organisation since it encourages development and
give many chances and altenatives on how African communities can manage to live a successfull life.
the Edpowerment staff are working hard since and now to think of different altenatives to make sure they help the youths and the communities not to live a miserable and dependent life,make sure the people can stand on their own and live a comfortable life.
Edpowerment is dealing with many things and operating in many ways just to help the needy.like here at Kilimahewa Edpowerment has a number of students whom they sponser,still they run the school expenses like paying salaries to the working staff,providing the school with materials like books,desks,computers ,providing students and teachers with lunch,just to mention few of what Edpowerment do at Kilimahewa,just to make sure that the youths arround the Kilimahewa community gets education in a conducive and comfortable environment.
i also know that in the other hand Edpowerment deals with autism connection and provide assistance to many places where they feel that people needs a help.
all in all i can say that Edpowerment is doing a good job,it is an Organisation that must not be left astray since it works for the peoples welfare regardless who they are.having this Organisation arround the community is a treassure to us.its something we relay on for the betterment of our future as youths,i as a teacher i depend on Edpowerment to get my daily bread,students depend on it to achieve and fulfill their dreams in the future.
so without Edpowerment is like killing the dreams of those people who cant afford to run their life expenses.example students who are now doing wonders at school and others have started to run their lives but all is through edpowerment since their families couldnt send them to school,so may be without Edpowerment we could have a lot of street dwelers and dependants in our community.good job edpowerment staff keep it up!!!!
SUPPORTING EDPOWERMENT IS LIKE BOOSTING THE LIFE OF MANY YOUTHS IN OUR COMMUNITIES.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2013

more

August 31, 2013

During February until August I have been working for EdPowerment (through my internship). EdPowerment is a great organisation that believes in education, providing information and creates awareness through several projects. I have been a part of some activities at the Kilimahewa Educational Centre to provide good education for students, sponsor students and teachers. I have participated at Autism Connects Tanzania workshops/conferences where EdPowerment spreads more awareness about different subjects for parents, organisations and teachers/professionals. I have seen the positive responds during these workshops and I have seen the practical change in behaviour from professionals during their work. Through spreading more awareness and providing more education, information and knowledge, EdPowerment makes a difference for a lot of people and communities. I have worked at Gabriella Children’s Rehabilitation Centre, a centre for children with special need/disabilities. EdPowerment provides financial and practical support, so the staff en the centre can grow. Because of EdPowerment the Gabriella Centre is able to provide education to special needs students, therapy interventions and an outreach program.

Edpowerment made my internship the most amazing and memorable experience. The Edpowerment team consist of driven, enthusiastic people who work hard to make a difference. They think beyond boundaries and try hard to make new things work. I feel grateful to have been a part of their great work and to have seen the great results of their hard work.

Maud(i)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

This nonprofit was started by a close friend from college whom I admire enormously. Her commitment to women and education is boundless and what she's been able to accomplish awes me. I am proud to be a major donor and also provide matching funds from my company.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

EdPowerment has opened up new horizons for myself, and instilled a passion for volunteering that I will likely carry with me for the rest of my life. EdPowerment affects the lives of not only those receiving assistance, but also those giving it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

The most amazing and memorable experience in my life is all thanks to the people at EdPowerment. I was given the opportunity to change the lives of many. EdPowerment made it possible to volunteer in Tanzania. I worked with students that are very eager to learn and embrace the lessons they are taught. The experience made it possible to meet others that share the same passion on inspiring youth and changing the world for the better. EdPowerment was always on hand on during the volunteer programs. I was never left trying to find out what was occurring; everything was well planned and organized the days were packed with experiences while still never feeling overwhelmed. I will jump at any way to help this organization help all that comes in contact with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

Over the past year, I have been a proud supporter of EdPowerment Inc. through District 117 Interact Club. I have helped with numerous fundraising projects in order to help EdPowerment and everything it does for Tanzania. The education they provide for students who don't have access to everyday necessities is outstanding. Many students from the Interact Club have gone to help the cause and come back with positive feedback that can inspire many and change lives forever. The work they do internationally spreads to our local causes and motivates many people to make a difference in the world. The program managers of EdPowerment have committed their lives to making a change. I have never met more inspiring people than the ones who are involved in EdPowerment.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

EdPowerment is committed to not only helping students obtain the education they require, but to empowering and educating the community. This allows the organization's efforts to be widespread and its impact lasting. Much care is taken in ensuring that students receive the support they need to work through the educational stages towards completion.

I was able to see first hand how the population in Moshi, Tanzania is directly served by EdPowerment's programs. Textbooks appeared for the first time in the small Kilimahewa school. Real teachers were hired. Curriculum was developed. A lunch program was started to provide nourishment and allow students to focus on learning. Students with impossible living situations were placed in boarding schools. Community awareness programs were offered for parents and neighbors. A well was dug to provide clean water... The best part is that even the smallest donations make a huge impact.

With these accomplishments and more over just a few years, I believe that
EdPowerment's impact, progress, and transparency make it an organization worth supporting.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Duplicate it and place it in other regions requiring similar services to Moshi, TZ.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers