Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 6, 2014

more

September 6, 2014

When I first entered the Wade James Theatre, home of the Edmonds Driftwood Players, my expectations were low. Coming from the DC area, which is also a quick train ride from NY city, I had been to many live theaters. Some were small community type theaters, and some were as big as the Met.
Anyway, I was not prepared for the professional cast of "unpaid actors" and the comfort of the 223 seat theater.
We kept coming back, became season ticket holders, and then volunteered to help the organization sustain live theater for future generations.
I was amazed to find out that the theater group had been around since 1958, and the theatre had been built in 1968-1969. At the beginning, this was the only such arts organization in Edmonds.
So, as we say at the theater .... "Come Play with Us! and Feed your Soul".

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 6, 2014

more

September 6, 2014

Edmonds Driftwood Players is a community theater in the best sense of the word - a place for the community to come and have a great time with others, either as a patron enjoying our shows or as a volunteer acting, building, promoting, etc our productions. Nothing brings people closer together than the magic of live theater! We are proud to be celebrating 56 years of continued excellence and fun.
December 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Driftwood Players is THE theatre every community theatre actor aspires to. The mission statement sums it up... "to foster excellence in live theatre for the benefit of future generations." We've been around for 55 years, 44 in the Wade James Theatre. The volunteers put in over 28,000 hours per year - nearly $500,000 in volunteer labor. And it is a labor of love - nothing like putting on a comedy that fills the house, or "Wizard of Oz' to thrill children and adults alike for the holidays. We love to put on great performances, and there is so much to do, acting, directing, set building, technical, designers of costumes, sets, lighting and sound. And, when we can do it, to offer a "take a kid to the theater" for families that have never had that opportunity. Love being involved, as board member, volunteer, and sometimes, actress.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get the word out even more - so that we could fill every seat for every performance. Include more volunteers, so that whoever wants to be involved could, as often as they want.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

July of 2010 I moved next door to the Wade James Theater, home of the Edmonds Driftwood Players. My husband was first to stroll next door and volunteer to help with lighting and stage hand stuff. Me, I am a patron ... no hammer or paint brush for me! I did bring West from DC though a knowledge of the nonprofit community, some fundraising experience, and an expertise in nonprofit accounting. Yep, I volunteered to help with fundraising and community outreach. What I found was a lot of dedicated volunteers who provided over 1,900 hours per year of their free time. This included: actors, set builders, lighting crew, ushers, concession people, and even office assistance. I also found businesses in the community that were very willing to support the organization and its mission to "feel the soul". I am still amazed at the quality of the live entertainment this organization can produce ... on a shoestring budget, as well as, the scope of programs they offer our youth.

Photos

Videos

What the Edmonds Driftwood Player is All About....

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help build a set, work our concession stand at a performance, learn about lighting and sound support, assist our administrative office, assist our fundraising efforts, or support our youth summer programs. Volunteer