Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
1234.857145
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 13, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
June 13, 2012

I’ve served on Edge of Seven’s Board of Directors since the organization’s founding and have also been fortunate enough to volunteer on three Edge of Seven school building projects in Nepal. The work this organization is doing to create more opportunities for girls in the developing world is truly inspiring. Edge of Seven is not afraid to be innovative in finding and delivering solutions to rural areas where girls are in need, and it’s an organization that holds close the value that each project it engages in must be sustainable. From the building materials used for the infrastructure it supports to choosing local in-country partners who will provide consistent and necessary support through programming and scholarship assistance, Edge of Seven is committed to finding lasting ways to make a real and meaningful difference in the lives of girls across the globe. In addition, through its volunteer programs, Edge of Seven helps individuals from the Western world broaden their horizons and open themselves up to powerful personal change.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 13, 2012

I was thoroughly impressed at the quality of Edge of Seven. Going into a foreign country to "volunteer" - well, you hope you're going over to do something good. I was scared - so often non-profits have the best intentions, but lack either the organization or awareness of how to "get stuff done" in a foreign country and don't actually end up accomplishing much. This is NOT The Edge of Seven. Not only are they good at all those things, but they have partner affiliates abroad who were TRULY the best possible partners around. They ensured our safety and comfort, but most importantly, were truly working toward the vision of Edge of Seven and knew perhaps even more deeply than any Westerner could, the importance of what we brought with us. I fell in love with my host family, learned to speak a little Nepali, earned my Sherpa name, and believe it or not, thoroughly enjoyed back-breaking physical labor. If you're thinking about participating, stop thinking, and GO!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think more guidance on appropriate gifts to bring is helpful. Also - Nepali culture is very "shy" and not everyone in my group was aware of that or knew how to "break through" it. But the overall format I think was great. If anything, my group wanted less breaks and just to keep working!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Absolutely. Nepali is an entirely different culture, and it changed my perspective on how to approach the world, or how I view others in this country from another culture. It also verified for me my approach to meeting people from another culture and how to bond with them

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Wonderful! I still miss my host family.

April 6, 2012

more

April 6, 2012

Volunteering as a board member for Edge of Seven has been an extremely rewarding and enriching experience. Erin (founder) is an incredibly dynamic and driven woman and one I admire immensely for following her dreams to do something meaningful in the world. The staff at Edge of Seven are equally driven and passionate about making Eo7's mission a reality and work tirelessly day in and day out. Great organization, great group of people and even greater mission to empower, educate and enrich the lives of girls in developing countries.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 31, 2012

more

March 31, 2012

In the fall of 2009, I escaped the daily grind of Boston for the remote villages of Asia. I had worked for seven years in educational travel, helping teachers and students expand the walls of their classrooms, and I was the definition of comfortable. Good job, nice living, and yet, restless.

I set off for Nepal, India, Cambodia, and Thailand to volunteer with community based organizations for five months. I wanted to push my own limits in order to grow, to learn, and to find inspiration.

The experience changed me. I woke up.

I saw poverty. I lived in its midst. I understood, for the first time, the challenges of a life without electricity, water, or education. And yet, I also knew that at any moment I could leave.

I saw strength. I met women who carried their families and villages on their backs. I learned from adolescent girls who fight every day for the opportunity to sit in a school. I was humbled.

With clarity, I discovered that the primary difference between myself and a woman in a rural village in any developing country. GEOGRAPHY. I am from the U.S. My days are filled with opportunity, promise, and hope. The days of a woman in the developing world are much different. They are filled with exhaustion, uncertainty, and fear. It’s simply an accident or blessing of latitude.

I created Edge of Seven as a united front against poverty. I founded the nonprofit to encourage Westerners to step off the beaten path so we all understand the challenges that face our world. I launched Edge of Seven because I believe it’s time for social change. I hope that you will join me.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 19, 2012

more

March 19, 2012

I volunteered with Edge of Seven last fall and had an incredible experience. We helped to build a school that was later completed in January and by doing so engaged in super meaningful work. It was a wonderful cultural experience and when we left it was clear that our participation and the school itself made a huge difference for the village we worked in.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 16, 2012

more

March 16, 2012

It's quite amazing to see the reach this young, energetic non-profit has! They are so dedicated to their mission in Nepal, and are making amazing these happen for the education of youth in the rural mountainous regions - especially for those little girls. I was designer on one such project for the past 8 months with Edge of 7, and now that the school is under construction I couldn't be more excited to see it completed. I know the locals are already touched by their dedication. And from the volunteer side of things, Edge of 7 makes it so easy to physically go volunteer throughout the year. I'm so proud of their ongoing growth & success in Nepal!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 16, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
December 16, 2011

Through Edge of Seven, we volunteered for a 2 week trip to the Everest region of Nepal to build a school. The group was well prepared before the event so I felt comfortable that I was prepared when I landed in Kathmandu. While on the project, the group went out of their way to make sure that my needs were met and that this was a great experience. This was the 4th project Edge of Seven has built in Nepal and they have almost all of the wrinkles ironed out. Overall, this was a memorable and eye-opening experience and I am very impressed with the organizational skills of this group. A first class organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us to build a school or water supply in Nepal by writing a blog, plan for a fundraiser, or support our local staff. Or If you have more time, join one of our trips and volunteer abroad in Nepal! Visit www.edgeofseven.org/Volunteer.html for more information. Volunteer