Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.965
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

Ecological design at its finest. The principles taught at Ecosa can be applied to any field; I currently work as an electrical engineer and I use the skills and ideas I learned at Ecosa daily in my engineering work. The program asks you to take your own life and examine it under the lens of nature. I think my semester at Ecosa was the singly most impacting and lasting educational experience I have had so far in my life. I am grateful to Tony, all the staff and guest lecturers, and my peer group for teaching me things about the world, myself, our communities and our place in it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

April 21, 2012

more

April 21, 2012

The Ecosa Institute is a special place where small groups of students come together for a very intensive semester of multi-faceted learning. The time is condensed, but the lesons resonate. Ecosa partners with instructors from around the country to contribute to their students' depth and breadth of knowledge. I am deeply grateful to Ecosa for increasing my awareness in design and teaching me so many more lessons.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 4, 2012

more

April 4, 2012

The ECOSA Institute is an exceptional Non-Profit, offering leading edge training to people of all backgrounds in Sustainable and Regenerative Design. This program has inspired students from around the U.S. and the world to look hard at our future and make the best decisions possible for our built and non-built environments. Bringing in some of the top experts in architecture, urban planning, and sustainable design from around Arizona and beyond, the Total Immersion program is the finest intensive Sustainable design course of its kind.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 4, 2012

more

April 4, 2012

I totaly recommend Ecosa if you are interested in sustainability and building resilliant communities. I attended the summer Permaculture course and Fall semester 2009 at Ecosa.

At Ecosa I got an education on a variety of methodologies, practical solutions and design principles related
to ecological design which I have been using in every project I have worked on since. Furthermore, I had interesting community experiences, site visits and practical experience opportunities with professionals and peers. The desert environment and location is also a great benefit to the program. Part of the success of the program is the immersion in the community and the functional solutions you are exposed to. You will learn a broad spectrum of information-solar, building materials, LEED info, Permaculture, design, beg. drafting, model making, ecology, biomimicry, biophilia etc. I can't stress enough that the amount of information you get in the integrated curriculum through field trips, experiences, and professional exposure. Not to mention going on a wilderness survival excursion with Cody Lundin! Party On.

The design problems are interesting and I especially enjoyed working for clients. We designed a Kenyan village complete with agriculture, economic development opportunities and fish farms , and a re-design of a Waldorf Charter school in AZ. There was not an architect in the bunch, but we had enough information and a strong collaborative effort in making the projects successful. You can see current projects on the website. It was nice being able to experiment with radical sustainability with a receptive clientele. My inspiration and systemic approach to sustainability are from Ecosa.

Another benefit is the people you meet (and the Alumni network, which is growing!). I have dear friends that I met and have kept in contact with through Ecosa. We also met "eco" professionals in all stages of their careers who are willing to engage.

This is an interdisciplinary program. You will get what you put in. There are no grades etc.

Overall Ecosa offered a wonderful platform to help inform my decision making process and on how to focus my career in sustainability. After Ecosa I am on the path to becoming a community & regional planner. I now have a deep context in which to build my career.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 4, 2012

more

April 4, 2012

Ecosa is a wealth of experience and wisdom, new techology and ancient solutions. It is a hub for people to connect and learn and share.The ever changing tribe is slowly reaching across the planet sharing its wealth and mission and passion for the planet. Join the Ecosan tribe, become an active citizen of spaceship earth, realize our true human destiny. Long Live ECOSA

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Both privately in my daily life as well as professionally as an Eco Industrial Designer

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

bigger budget

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

How did you find this group?

www.treehugger.com

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

I live closer and tread lighter on planet earth. I lead by example.

April 4, 2012

more

April 4, 2012

Ecosa Institute gave me an education I could never have had anywhere else. The semester was multidisciplinary, interactive, and always engaging me with new ideas and concepts. Ecosa gave me personal access to professionals that are leading the field of regenerative design and took us to exemplary ecological projects across Arizona. The semester program pushed me to my comfort zone just enough to ignite epiphanies in my environmental studies, and the lessons learned here have changed my practices in work, school, and at home. This was the most transformative experience I've had in my collegiate studies.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 4, 2012

more

April 4, 2012

Escoa are training the future generation in Sustainable Design on how we need to use less resourses and harness creativity in developing products and buildings that bring balance and commiunty together in a wholelistic way.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2010

more

April 21, 2010

My experience with Ecosa offered a glimpse of what is important in design and society and how the two must be united to pull our course back on track. The influence of the staff, invited speakers and the experiences I had during my time there are deeply ingrained in my outlook on the world. Thank you.

Photos

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

redefine environmental education

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 16, 2010

more

April 16, 2010

Ecosa was a wonderful educational experience. A collection of like-minded students and professionals in pursuit of environmentally conscientious design strategies. The caliber of professionals we had as teachers and lecturers was absolutely phenomenal; an experience that has been inspirational in my career and made (who I expect will be) lifelong friends.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the interaction with fellow classmates and the learning opportunities with professionals that are leaders in their respective fields

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

April 16, 2010

more

April 16, 2010

This program has changed my life. It is a school whose radical philosophy is revolutionizing the design field. If all of the other architecture schools required this program we would have a very different society. This program strives and succeeds in creating a much better relationship between humanity and the environment.

Photos

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Incredible and bright!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Change the world

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers