Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.942865
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The Ecology Action Center is a wonderful community resource and has so much to offer. The events that they organize and manage are always planned so well and as a sustainability professional I feel very confident sharing their website and knowledge base with people I encounter. I also use their website quite often to research recycling information and community events.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

This was my second year volunteering to help with this event put on by the Ecology Action Center. It was so wonderful to see such a great outpouring from the community by those that participated. I cannot tell you how many people thanked the volunteers and had smiles on their faces because they were so happy to not only recycle their items but also because it was so organized. The EAC did an amazing job preparing volunteers and also getting the word out to the community that this event was planned.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A this time I cannot think of anything. They do a wonderful job!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I really enjoyed volunteering at such a well-run event. Michael Brown (the Recycling God) of EAC even brought pizza out to my volunteer post for lunch. And by the time my shift was done at 1:00, it only took me 6 minutes from start to finish to drive through with my own recycling.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

The Ecology Action Center has been the hub of all things sustainable for many decades in McLean County. As the Town Planner, I can fairly say that the EAC has been a major part of the Town of Normal'... more

October 21, 2013

As the Town Planner for Normal, Illinois, I have worked with Ecology Action Center for more than a decade. Twenty years ago as an undergraduate, I was a proud EAC volunteer! Over that twenty years, it is remarkable how much the EAC has accomplished. There are few paid EAC staff members, but their enthusiasm and professionalism inspire hundreds of people to donate thousands of volunteer hours toward critical community events every year -- from storm water stenciling to massive Household Hazardous Waste events. EAC has successfully partnered with the Town of Normal for many years on outreach and education efforts that we simply could not perform on our own. We sometimes take this relationship for granted. It's only when I talk to other communities' planners that I realize what a gem we have in the EAC! For example, when asked how we promote recycling, I say, "The EAC does that for us." When asked how we pulled off a major HHW event with no state support, I say, "The EAC took the lead on that." We are truly fortunate to have the EAC!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing springs to mind.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

The Ecology Action Center has been the hub of all things sustainable for many decades in McLean County. As the Town Planner, I can fairly say that the EAC has been a major part of the Town of Normal's success in increasing recycling, educating kids about recycling, reducing waste in general, and working with us on storm water quality issues. The EAC does an amazing job of advocating for sustainability in a professional, balanced manner that brings all stakeholders to the table. That's not easy for an environmental organization to do, particularly in a somewhat conservative county like McLean County, Illinois. When other communities learn about the role that the EAC plays for us, they are so jealous!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

I volunteered at the Household Hazardous Waste collection for the first time, and was really impressed with all aspects of the event. I worked the 'survey' area, asking drivers some basic questions. Nearly every person I spoke with was so very grateful to the EAC and the volunteers who made the event possible. If I hadn't had other commitments later in the day, I'd have cheerfully kept working! We are very lucky to have the EAC in our community to provide services like the HHW collection. Several families who brought items to the event had traveled an hour to get here, because this was their nearest place to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

My father died several years ago, and I cleaned out the garage before my mother sold the house.
For several years I had various containers of paint, yard, and house chemicals sitting in my barn with no disposal site closer than Rockford, a five hour round trip. Between the two hazardous
household waste collections in 2012 and 2013 I was finally able to dispose of everything safely. I was so glad for the help from the Ecology Action center that I volunteered at the 2013 collection. They were great to work with - well thought out, thoroughly prepared, and friendly. I have also purchased radon kits at their office and made a couple of rain harvesters at their workshops. This is a place with tremendous attitude and very helpful whenever I have contacted them, and their newsletters are well worth reading.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

This was my first time volunteering with Ecology Action Center, at their McLean County Hazardous Household Waste event earlier this month. I was looking forward to volunteering there, and was not disappointed! I truly enjoyed myself and was gratified to see so many people interested in recycling. I am already looking forward to the next event!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I have been involved with the EAC for over 2 years now. It is truly an amazing organization that serves Central Illinois. The programs range from stenciling storm drains to raising $150,000 for a Household Hazardous Waste event to holding the first in Illinois a virtually zero waste 1/2 marathon (5 lbs) with over 1500 peopel invovled! The staff is tireless in their efforts to serve the community and it is a honor to be involved with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2012

EAC is an environmental leader that even the local governments rely on to get out the message and to create new opportunites for recycling, energy conservation, clean water, radon mitigation and so mu... more

October 17, 2013

I continue to spend my personal time and energy working with the Ecology Action Center because of the great things they do for our community. They are always creatively finding new ways to support sustainability and educate the public.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

EAC is an environmental leader that even the local governments rely on to get out the message and to create new opportunites for recycling, energy conservation, clean water, radon mitigation and so much more. It is an honor to volunteer for an organization that does so much.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I work for the Town of Normal and find the Ecology Action Center to be great resource for our community! I send many residents to their website for information and I use it myself to gather information to share with residents. The Ecology Action Center has coordinated two huge Household Hazardous Waste events the past 2 years and both were successful and well run. I certainly appreciate all the education they provide to for our community and their endeavors to keep waste out of our landfills!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None! They do an excellent job!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers