Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.85
Write A Review
July 27, 2014

more

July 27, 2014

While the group makes good things happen for deserving people and places, they proceed with a high level of inefficiency and much less cost effective than many of their peers in $/impact. Overhead rate is chroncially high, dollars translating into concrete change on the ground has become a diminishing portion of total expenses with US staff related expenses likely absorbing half of total expenditures.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Retain field staff with the values and skills to sustain respsect of local partners and beneficiaries. Reduce US admin expenses as % of total. End high cost initiatives with little concrete or strategic benefit like CarbonPlus. Improve decision-making and leadership by assuring US staff and board members better represent the people and places served by the organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Okay

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

EcoLogic Development Fund serves as a model for small to medium sized nonprofits around the world. The organization focuses on empowering local communities and local leadership, and is successful because of the passionate and talented staff both in Cambridge and Central America. EcoLogic is one of the most well run and impactful nonprofits I have had the opportunity to engage with, and I highly recommend their cause, people, and current and potential impact!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My time as an intern at EcoLogic was wonderful. I greatly appreciated working and learning from staff who are so passionate about community based rural conservation and development. EcoLogic is a one of a kind organization who believes in on the ground environmental projects at the community level specifically with Indigenous peoples. EcoLogic is one of the only NGOs in the northeast doing this kind of work and it was an honor to work with them. The skills and things that I learned there were invaluable. My work with Dave Kramer allowed me to help the organization branch out through the introduction of new networks based on my background in conservation and rural development. If you don't know about know about the organization yet please learn and get involved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see the organization branch into South America, especially Colombia.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

We (Small Planet Institute) share office space with Ecologic's Cambridge, MA office. We interact with their staff daily and also collaborate on projects whenever our work overlaps in theme. Our director, who is an author and leader in the food movement, touts EcoLogic, both in print and in person, for empowering communities to become stewards of their land.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

EcoLogic is an organization I know better than any other environment/development group I support. They have hosted my students as interns, and some members of their staff have participated as invited speakers in my courses here at Brandeis. I have attended their fund raisers and sought out their staff for advice on my own project ideas in Nicaragua. One of my former students is full time there, and her experience there, now keeping in touch with me as a true insider, has only strengthened my impressions: EcoLogic has strong leadership, the morale and skill set of the staff make for an effective and enthusiastic team, and the culture of the organization is such that they are consistent in approach to the projects they choose to take on.

I studied ecology for decades in Costa Rica and lived there for over 2 years, and I often now travel to Nicaragua, so I am somewhat familiar with the kinds of environments and challenges and communities that EcoLogic has chosen to focus on. Their approach of working with in-country groups on projects that link social benefits to local environmental services (water, carbon, forests, biodiversity, among others) is not just a good approach among several options, it is the only way we know truly works over the long term.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Significantly increase their donor pool. They are constantly striving to do exactly that. May they succeed.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 4, 2010

more

May 4, 2010

As someone who has lived and traveled in Central America, especially Guatemala, over the past 30 years, I think EcoLogic does terrific work. Their philosophy of finding local partners to collaborate with makes all the difference. Working where there is an intersection of valuable biologically diverse environments AND a local, often indigenous population, EcoLogic concerns itself with not only conserving precious natural resources, but making local people's lives better and more sustainable in the process.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

being part of a larger movement that values both local people and precious natural environments and is working hard to sustain both of them.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

do wonders!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 29, 2010

more

April 29, 2010

EcoLogic is an impressive nonprofit that truly walks the talk in realizing its mission, making every dollar count. EcoLogic understands the complexity of environmental issues like no other nonprofit that I've worked with--and their attention to detail is excellent. It has been a pleasure working with EcoLogic during the past 4-5 years and I look forward to our continued collaboration.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the depth of their understanding of the communities they serve.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

highly professional.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

change the face of Mexico and Central America on an even larger scale.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 26, 2010

more

April 26, 2010

EcoLogic is a remarkable non-profit in my book. Raising money for economically viable resource conservation projects in Central America with local partners, their work brings well-being and the dignity of truly collaborative work with local organizations and individuals. I am eager to tell people about EcoLogic - just last week I did so at length at a dinner party! My own work with EcoLogic was highly engaging and dynamic. They were taking a leap to create meaningful outreach in the Boston area to potential donors by providing a valuable service- green education to grade-school children. The curriculum they hired me to tailor to the local market and strategize their campaign for implementation was brilliant. They are working with great effort and tirelessly to reach folks in the Boston area to create logical connections for them with the work EcoLogic is doing in Latin America. To do this while providing school children with needed education is really genius. They deserve all the support they can get to keep on with all their amazing work; water and forest conservation, tree farms and low-fuel stoves and more!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Their fundraising work for the benefit of conservation work in Latin America - as a consultant to their work I benefited from working with this very devoted and talented crew.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Knowing that their work is making a tremendous difference. They are ahead of the crest of the wave when it comes to collaborative conservation work in Latin America. They are actively involved in carbon economy projects, for instance!

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Friendly and expert, highly motivated and alive. REAL people who care about their work and about each other too.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Support more projects, hire more local staff in Latin America, develop more creative ways of showing how important and relevant to our lives in the U.S. their work is.

Ways to make it better...

If EcoLogic had enjoyed a more ample budget I could have accomplished more for them as a consultant on the project, but financial constraints limited us.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers