Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.855
Write A Review
December 15, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
December 15, 2014

In my role as the Mental Health Consultant to the Health Services Director at West Valley College Student Health Services I had the recent opportunity to attend an in-service training conducted by Laura Machado, LMFT of the Eating Disorders Resource Center. As a licensed mental health professional for almost 37 years, who also teaches graduate practice courses at San Jose State University's School of Social Work, I have considerable experience and expertise with high-risk adolescents and their families, and have attended countless trainings on this subject. Although Laura spent only one hour with us, her presentation was unequivocally the best I have ever experienced! She was knowledgeable, personable, and a very good teacher. I could have listened to her for hours! Assuming that Ms. Machado represents the quality found at the Eating Disorders Resource Center I have nothing but praise for your organization.

Barry Goldman-Hall, LCSW
November 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Eating Disorders Resource Center provides us with a speaker each year for our interns at Alum Rock Counseling Center (ARCC). This year, they sent Laura Griffith Machado, who provided an informative training that our interns really appreciated. She described eating disorders, gave real life examples from her experience, and gave them a lot of ideas about interventions. The EDRC is a valued resouce for ARCC. Thye respond promptly to questions and requests and the staff are friendly, courteous, and professional. If you have questions, need support, or referrals, the EDRC is a great resource!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 12, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
November 12, 2014

The training Kira and Laura from the Eating Disorder Resource Center put on for us was amazing. It greatly exceeded our expectations. They provided us with a lot of very helpful information – both general information as to how we can best serve our clients with eating disorders and many ideas for specific interventions we can use with them. They also provided great written information that we can refer back to. Our presenters were funny, down-to-earth, and extremely knowledgeable. We learned so much and had a great time!
February 10, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 10, 2014

Last week, I had the pleasure of attending Hidden Complexities of Treating Eating Disorders in Diabetics, organized by EDRC.

Shannon Aldworth, Director of Nursing for the Center for Hope, spoke about identifying and detecting diabulimia and ways that her facility treats this variant of
bulimia among people with diabetes. She also spoke about the treatment challenges, such as helping people separate disordered eating behavior from decisions and behaviors related to the diabetes, and of helping clients adopt an intuitive eating philosophy, which is usually the opposite of how people with diabetes have been taught to approach eating. She reviewed results of a pilot research project for this population undertaken at Center for Hope; using their multimodality approach (including having patients receive their insulin via multiple daily injections rather than a pump that can be manipulated to minimize weight gain) the patients with diabulimia had, at the end of treatment, both better blood sugar and significant reductions in scores on the Eating Disorder Inventory-3.

We then heard from Erin Akers, founder and CEO of Diabulimia Helpline. Ms. Akers related her personal struggle with diabulimia, including several serious brushes with death; her struggles led her to want to help other people struggling with diabulimia. She told us about the various ways that people with diabetes can (mis)use their insulin regime to minimize weight gain.

Thanks, Janice, for helping disseminate information about this “hidden” form of bulimia.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 7, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 7, 2014

I have had the pleasure of working with EDRC for 2 years now and each and every experience I have had with them has been organized, professional and timely. Most recently we collaborated on a education session in regards to the Diabulimia. Thanks to their support and community relations we had a record number of attendees. EDRC's commitment to the eating disorder community is palpable, from education on prevention to treatment, and everything in-between this organization standouts in every way possible. The San Jose area, as well as the eating disorder community is very lucky to have such a wealth of knowledge and support. Thank you EDRC!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None, other than give them more funding so that they are able to expand this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a clinical supervisor at a non-profit in the community and approached EDRC to present a training to our clinical staff earlier this year. I was glad I did, as I found EDRC and Dr. Sarah Forsberg to have a very thorough, informative and engaging presentation for my staff. I was particularly thankful as the area of eating disorders can be underrepresented in typical educational systems, which can often result in a lack of confidence among clinicians in even approaching the topic with clients. My staff gave feedback that they are now much more confident in their ability to address the area of eating disorders in their treatment. Thank you EDRC!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 23, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 23, 2011
1 person found this review helpful


The mission of Eating Disorders Resource Center (EDRC) is to increase awareness and understanding of eating disorders for the general public and for health professionals; to promote early diagnosis, effective treatment, and recovery; and to advocate for mental health parity legislation and
effective insurance coverage.

EDRC has done a lot of work in the schools, trained many professionals in the South Bay, provided free support groups for those in recovery. EDRC maintains a comprehensive on-line resource directory of treating professionals.

EDRC responds to calls and emails from patients, family members, clinics and health care professionals requesting support and information, treatment options, and help with navigating the health care and insurance systems. EDRC offers an education and outreach program on the early detection and intervention of eating disorders. EDRC facilitates monthly support groups for sufferers and their families and friends.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Numbers of clients given resource referrals, numbers of people served in their support groups, numbers of professionals better trained by virtue of their speakers; and lots more, see their website!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

EDRC is currently looking for volunteers to assist with the following activities: • Promote and expand the current support groups in the area; Help with administrative assistant duties, such as filing, mailing, etc.; Coordinate community awareness activities for Eating Disorders Awareness Week in February; Coordinate and promote events, such as our annual essay contest and NEDA Walk If you are interested in joining our volunteer team, please contact us at info@edrcsv.org or call us at (408) 559-5593.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers