Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.916675
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 20, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 20, 2014

I am grateful to the partnership of EDRC, Center For Hope of the Sierras, and SFAPTED for their comprehensive presentation about diabulimia to a wide audience of therapists, nurses, dietitians, diabetes educators and physicians. Diabulimia is a dangerous combination of type 1 diabetes and an eating disorder, and EDRC is in the forefront of bringing the hidden population of those struggling with it to light and bringing a much needed awareness of it to the community. I had struggled with this disorder years ago; since few physicians or therapists had heard of it, I received almost no help. It's wonderful that through the efforts of EDRC this is changing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 16, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
August 16, 2013

I began volunteering with the EDRC in 2007 . I facilitate of their many support groups. This organization is so helpful to the families and care givers of those who are suffering of this illness. The Family Support group has helped many parents, siblings and grandparents. A safe place for resources and support which is so mportamt . My time with the EDRC has been so rewarding. A special thanks to Janice Bremis , Founder and Exective Director...


Debra

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Personally, I do not think there needs to be any changes.....an amazing non profit organization ...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is an organization that is dedicated to helping individuals both struggling with an eating disorder, as well as their family and friends. EDRC is committed to spreading awareness about eating disorders and does an amazing job coordinating events and talks to help educate the community. The staff and volunteers are wonderful. I have loved being a part of this organization in a volunteer capacity. They are always going above and beyond to help those in need!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 22, 2013

more

June 22, 2013

You have no idea how grateful I am to be volunteering at EDRC. Ever since I recovered from anorexia, I knew I wanted to help others with similar difficulties and to spread awareness about this scary illness. EDRC has given me the opportunity to use my struggles as a virtue in helping others and has helped me develop better confidence in myself. It is an honor to work with such inspiring and dedicated people.

I've participated in events like the Strong Women Conference, where young girls got to go to free workshops that taught them how to accept themselves, become more confident, and get some support. I also helped grade essays for the Everybody's Beautiful Essay Contest, which asked teens to reflect on their perception of beauty and opened their eyes and mine to the influence of the media. Currently, I'm helping make a PSA that will promote the organization on T.V. Whether one wants to become a volunteer, or just needs some help, EDRC provides numerous resources that I could go on and on about.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

seek more funds because EDRC has so many ideas for events, but the budget is limited.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Eating Disorder Resource Center is a small organization with gigantic heart and passion. I have had lots of volunteer experiences but have not met a more passionate, driven, and tireless group. The EDRC is successful in their mission of Awareness, Recovery, and Advocacy for eating disorder issues.

If you have ANY questions about eating issues the EDRC should be at the top of your list for answers, resources, or a warm caring ear. They are an invaluable organization and a wonderful resource for the Silicon Valley community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them secure more funding sources. There is so much more to be done and so much need. Securing grants and/or donors would really help them expand their presence.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers