Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.846155
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 4, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 4, 2014

EDRC sent volunteers to help educate out staff about eating disorders. They were extremely kind, equipped & helpful! I plan on having them back some time soon!

-Spencer Kilgore-
-South Bay Teen Challenge - San Jose CA-
February 20, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 20, 2014

I am grateful to the partnership of EDRC, Center For Hope of the Sierras, and SFAPTED for their comprehensive presentation about diabulimia to a wide audience of therapists, nurses, dietitians, diabetes educators and physicians. Diabulimia is a dangerous combination of type 1 diabetes and an eating disorder, and EDRC is in the forefront of bringing the hidden population of those struggling with it to light and bringing a much needed awareness of it to the community. I had struggled with this disorder years ago; since few physicians or therapists had heard of it, I received almost no help. It's wonderful that through the efforts of EDRC this is changing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 10, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 10, 2014

Last week, I had the pleasure of attending Hidden Complexities of Treating Eating Disorders in Diabetics, organized by EDRC.

Shannon Aldworth, Director of Nursing for the Center for Hope, spoke about identifying and detecting diabulimia and ways that her facility treats this variant of
bulimia among people with diabetes. She also spoke about the treatment challenges, such as helping people separate disordered eating behavior from decisions and behaviors related to the diabetes, and of helping clients adopt an intuitive eating philosophy, which is usually the opposite of how people with diabetes have been taught to approach eating. She reviewed results of a pilot research project for this population undertaken at Center for Hope; using their multimodality approach (including having patients receive their insulin via multiple daily injections rather than a pump that can be manipulated to minimize weight gain) the patients with diabulimia had, at the end of treatment, both better blood sugar and significant reductions in scores on the Eating Disorder Inventory-3.

We then heard from Erin Akers, founder and CEO of Diabulimia Helpline. Ms. Akers related her personal struggle with diabulimia, including several serious brushes with death; her struggles led her to want to help other people struggling with diabulimia. She told us about the various ways that people with diabetes can (mis)use their insulin regime to minimize weight gain.

Thanks, Janice, for helping disseminate information about this “hidden” form of bulimia.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 7, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 7, 2014

I have had the pleasure of working with EDRC for 2 years now and each and every experience I have had with them has been organized, professional and timely. Most recently we collaborated on a education session in regards to the Diabulimia. Thanks to their support and community relations we had a record number of attendees. EDRC's commitment to the eating disorder community is palpable, from education on prevention to treatment, and everything in-between this organization standouts in every way possible. The San Jose area, as well as the eating disorder community is very lucky to have such a wealth of knowledge and support. Thank you EDRC!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None, other than give them more funding so that they are able to expand this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 15, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 15, 2013

Last year, much to our horror, my husband and I determined that our 13-year-old daughter had succumbed to an eating disorder prior to the start of 8th grade. She had started to see treatment professionals, but in two months she had gotten worse rather than better. In need of other approaches and providers that would be in-plan for our insurance, I began to research other options. Finding the Website for the Eating Disorders Resource Center made all the difference. I combed through the site, using the directory of treatment professionals. Founder Janis Bremis, program director Kira Olson, and support group facilitator Debra Schlesinger shared their expertise with me on the phone in long consultations. When I attended the Friends and Family support group in Mt. View, Debra provided even more valuable information in the form of an eating disorder treatment handbook. Armed with the knowledge and guidance provided by EDRC, I was able to move forward with confidence and get my daughter into the LPCH Eating Disorders outpatient program. While she remains in treatment as she continues to deal with the psychological aspects of her disorder, she has maintained a stable healthy weight for six months. She is in a much better place than she was a year ago, but knowing that eating disorders can be tenacious foes, we aren't yet completely out of the woods. I am grateful to EDRC for the support they provided to my family at a time of crisis and it gives me solace knowing that they continue to be a resource as my daughter works to overcome this debilitating condition.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

My impression is that this organization operates on a shoestring, yet they were able to provide me with a lot of support. I would like to see them be better funded so that they could have a wider reach. Much of the services they are able to provide are in the South Bay/San Jose area. I wish there was more available mid-penisula. I also wish there was more available for teenager girls, perhaps programming that would debunk unrealistic media portrayals of girls and woman.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
September 30, 2013

My 24 year old granddaughter has Anorexia, a severe mental illness. I write this review with much gratitude to Janice and Debra, my mentors in navigating this deadly disease. When I desperately needed help and knowledge about Anorexia, i joined Debra's support group for parents and other concerned people. Listening to each person's experience with Anorexia, i learned how s/he was coping with it within her/his family. In addition, speakers with expertise in the field of eating disorders, including Dr Pamela Carlton, offered "solutions" to manage this disease, a disease that lasts for a lifetime.

After 3 hospitalizations, my granddaughter finally consented to go into residential care. Now finishing her third month, she, seemingly, is handling the stresses that are the catalyst for her eating disorder.

Whenever I need an emotional boost, more knowledge or hope, I return to my place in Debra's circle to be re-charged. I love Debra's hug too!

Barbara Neilson

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

For me, it works the way it is right now!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 16, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
August 16, 2013

I began volunteering with the EDRC in 2007 . I facilitate of their many support groups. This organization is so helpful to the families and care givers of those who are suffering of this illness. The Family Support group has helped many parents, siblings and grandparents. A safe place for resources and support which is so mportamt . My time with the EDRC has been so rewarding. A special thanks to Janice Bremis , Founder and Exective Director...


Debra

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Personally, I do not think there needs to be any changes.....an amazing non profit organization ...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is an organization that is dedicated to helping individuals both struggling with an eating disorder, as well as their family and friends. EDRC is committed to spreading awareness about eating disorders and does an amazing job coordinating events and talks to help educate the community. The staff and volunteers are wonderful. I have loved being a part of this organization in a volunteer capacity. They are always going above and beyond to help those in need!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a clinical supervisor at a non-profit in the community and approached EDRC to present a training to our clinical staff earlier this year. I was glad I did, as I found EDRC and Dr. Sarah Forsberg to have a very thorough, informative and engaging presentation for my staff. I was particularly thankful as the area of eating disorders can be underrepresented in typical educational systems, which can often result in a lack of confidence among clinicians in even approaching the topic with clients. My staff gave feedback that they are now much more confident in their ability to address the area of eating disorders in their treatment. Thank you EDRC!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 22, 2013

more

June 22, 2013

You have no idea how grateful I am to be volunteering at EDRC. Ever since I recovered from anorexia, I knew I wanted to help others with similar difficulties and to spread awareness about this scary illness. EDRC has given me the opportunity to use my struggles as a virtue in helping others and has helped me develop better confidence in myself. It is an honor to work with such inspiring and dedicated people.

I've participated in events like the Strong Women Conference, where young girls got to go to free workshops that taught them how to accept themselves, become more confident, and get some support. I also helped grade essays for the Everybody's Beautiful Essay Contest, which asked teens to reflect on their perception of beauty and opened their eyes and mine to the influence of the media. Currently, I'm helping make a PSA that will promote the organization on T.V. Whether one wants to become a volunteer, or just needs some help, EDRC provides numerous resources that I could go on and on about.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

seek more funds because EDRC has so many ideas for events, but the budget is limited.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers