Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.855
Write A Review
December 15, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
December 15, 2014

In my role as the Mental Health Consultant to the Health Services Director at West Valley College Student Health Services I had the recent opportunity to attend an in-service training conducted by Laura Machado, LMFT of the Eating Disorders Resource Center. As a licensed mental health professional for almost 37 years, who also teaches graduate practice courses at San Jose State University's School of Social Work, I have considerable experience and expertise with high-risk adolescents and their families, and have attended countless trainings on this subject. Although Laura spent only one hour with us, her presentation was unequivocally the best I have ever experienced! She was knowledgeable, personable, and a very good teacher. I could have listened to her for hours! Assuming that Ms. Machado represents the quality found at the Eating Disorders Resource Center I have nothing but praise for your organization.

Barry Goldman-Hall, LCSW
December 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

For the past 3 years I have been a participant and a volunteer at the EDRC support group for parents and friends with loved ones suffering from eating disorders. I am so grateful for this amazing organization which provides a plethora of information and resources on every aspect of this debilitating illness. Being with other parents who are going through the same horrendous experience of learning, helping, managing and fighting for their loved one's survival and recovery is a life line to help combat that overwhelming sense of isolation that is part of this illness. The awesome staff of EDRC work tirelessly and the facilitators of the support groups are dedicated souls who give from the heart. Participants come to these groups in a state of shock, bewilderment and emotional chaos...they walk out with a sense of purpose and hope and armed with a list of resources and lots of support. For many, this is the only source of support. Thank you EDRC for all your dedication and advocacy...you are a true blessing. Elli
November 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Eating Disorders Resource Center provides us with a speaker each year for our interns at Alum Rock Counseling Center (ARCC). This year, they sent Laura Griffith Machado, who provided an informative training that our interns really appreciated. She described eating disorders, gave real life examples from her experience, and gave them a lot of ideas about interventions. The EDRC is a valued resouce for ARCC. Thye respond promptly to questions and requests and the staff are friendly, courteous, and professional. If you have questions, need support, or referrals, the EDRC is a great resource!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 19, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
November 19, 2014

Laura gave a presentation on eating disorders to the Student Health Services staff at West Valley College, and it was extremely informative and engaging! She tailored the presentation to our interests and needs, and I enjoyed her warmth, humor, and ability to articulate in-depth information with ease. The entire experience far exceeded my expectations. Thank you!
November 12, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
November 12, 2014

The training Kira and Laura from the Eating Disorder Resource Center put on for us was amazing. It greatly exceeded our expectations. They provided us with a lot of very helpful information – both general information as to how we can best serve our clients with eating disorders and many ideas for specific interventions we can use with them. They also provided great written information that we can refer back to. Our presenters were funny, down-to-earth, and extremely knowledgeable. We learned so much and had a great time!
October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I can't say enough about how much the erdc has helped and enriched my life. As a young woman who has struggled with some form of an eating disorder for more than half my life and have never had the courage to seek professional help, this place/organization opend so many doors to healing for me. I took a chance and went to a group meeting one Wednesday night a handful of months ago and I am happy to report that things are beginning to really change for me! I truly look forward to the meetings each month. I am so appretiative for the welcoming, safe, and supportive environment and staff they have. They even have a library of great self help books to borrow from which is great for those that want to continue therapy at home! They are a wealth of information on all facets of eating disorders. I don't know where I would be right now had this valuable resource not been available to me. I am truly grateful for the erdc!! If you are even considering getting help, take a step towards self love and check them out. You and they are worth it!
October 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 16, 2013

I began volunteering with the EDRC in 2007 . I facilitate of their many support groups. This organization is so helpful to the families and care givers of those who are suffering of this illness. The... more

October 19, 2014

I facilitate. the family support groups for the last 7 years . The EDRC provides resources and support . They have helped so many families in crisis .

It is an amazing organization! Thank you Janice Bremis

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 16, 2013

I began volunteering with the EDRC in 2007 . I facilitate of their many support groups. This organization is so helpful to the families and care givers of those who are suffering of this illness. The Family Support group has helped many parents, siblings and grandparents. A safe place for resources and support which is so mportamt . My time with the EDRC has been so rewarding. A special thanks to Janice Bremis , Founder and Exective Director...


Debra

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Personally, I do not think there needs to be any changes.....an amazing non profit organization ...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 4, 2014

EDRC sent volunteers to help educate out staff about eating disorders. They were extremely kind, equipped & helpful! I plan on having them back some time soon!

-Spencer Kilgore-
-South Bay Teen Challenge - San Jose CA-
February 20, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 20, 2014

I am grateful to the partnership of EDRC, Center For Hope of the Sierras, and SFAPTED for their comprehensive presentation about diabulimia to a wide audience of therapists, nurses, dietitians, diabetes educators and physicians. Diabulimia is a dangerous combination of type 1 diabetes and an eating disorder, and EDRC is in the forefront of bringing the hidden population of those struggling with it to light and bringing a much needed awareness of it to the community. I had struggled with this disorder years ago; since few physicians or therapists had heard of it, I received almost no help. It's wonderful that through the efforts of EDRC this is changing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 10, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 10, 2014

Last week, I had the pleasure of attending Hidden Complexities of Treating Eating Disorders in Diabetics, organized by EDRC.

Shannon Aldworth, Director of Nursing for the Center for Hope, spoke about identifying and detecting diabulimia and ways that her facility treats this variant of
bulimia among people with diabetes. She also spoke about the treatment challenges, such as helping people separate disordered eating behavior from decisions and behaviors related to the diabetes, and of helping clients adopt an intuitive eating philosophy, which is usually the opposite of how people with diabetes have been taught to approach eating. She reviewed results of a pilot research project for this population undertaken at Center for Hope; using their multimodality approach (including having patients receive their insulin via multiple daily injections rather than a pump that can be manipulated to minimize weight gain) the patients with diabulimia had, at the end of treatment, both better blood sugar and significant reductions in scores on the Eating Disorder Inventory-3.

We then heard from Erin Akers, founder and CEO of Diabulimia Helpline. Ms. Akers related her personal struggle with diabulimia, including several serious brushes with death; her struggles led her to want to help other people struggling with diabulimia. She told us about the various ways that people with diabetes can (mis)use their insulin regime to minimize weight gain.

Thanks, Janice, for helping disseminate information about this “hidden” form of bulimia.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers