Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.952385
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

My EPAK grant helped me purchase much needed materials for reteaching math concepts at the middle school level. Thanks EPAK!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

I am a first year teacher in the Ravenswood school district and I am so grateful for the EPAK grant. I was able to use this grant to fill my library with leveled books so students can continue to grow as readers. Also, I was able to get a lot low-level high interest non-fiction books which my students have been asking for. My library will now be filled with books my students love and they will be able to enjoy reading and grow as readers!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

I am a teacher new to my school in East Palo Alto. I am teaching first grade, and very much wanted a document camera and projector to help teach my students. My students are fascinated by being able to see my teacher model! I can show exactly what I am expecting, give visual directions, model handwriting, and much more. I am also able to attach my computer and show video clips and even read books aloud to my students. This use of technology makes my students learning experience much more interactive. My EPAK grant was generous enough to also allow me to purchase some leveled books that we were lacking but needed in my classroom. The process was simple and clear, and I was able to get my materials in a timely manner. This was my first EPAK grant but I plan to apply in the future at every opportunity! Thank you EPAK, you are a vital resource to me and my students!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no changes needed, everything was very clear and timely.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

In the past two years, EPAK has helped my second and third graders go on three fieldtrips and fill our library full of non-fiction, high interest books! Our trips have been to the Chabot Space and Science Museum, where they learned about space, a theatrical performance of one of the books we read, and the Lindsay Wildlife Museum. These expensive trips would not have been possible without EPAK. Thanks for helping our students get the rich experiences that they might have otherwise missed!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make grant deadlines earlier in the year to allow for better planning.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

EPAK is a fantastic organization that has been supporting my students and me since my first year teaching, four years ago! I feel such gratitude that there are tremendous organizations like EPAK committed to supporting communities and need, and providing resources to help close the achievement gap. EPAK has helped fund math manipulatives, numerous anchor texts for reading, a document camera, and wonderful literature for science, social studies and expository text units for my first grade classroom. Thank you, EPAK!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been the recipient of a total of nine EPAK funded projects. It is challenging to describe the great impact these funds have had on my students. Every year, I am more skilled at utilizing these funds to support the specific needs of my students. This year, my students are more engaged than ever with reading and their novel units of study. Because of this grant, my seventh graders are getting the extra support they need to comprehend text at a high level. Thank you, EPAK, for making this happen!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

EPAK has continually helped provide materials for our school and grade level. By combining a few teacher grants, we were able to take the entire grade level on one field trip to the SF Exploratorium. Without our EPAK grant, our students would have never had the chance to explore science the way the Exploratorium does it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This year I was able to get iPod Touches and Kindle Fires for use in my 6th grade math class. (I will be able to continue to use them next year with my language arts and social studies classes.) iPod Touches were being used by some other teachers in lower grades, but I was skeptical as to whether the game-like apps would really be useful for 6th grade students and also whether apps that were applicable would engage them. I was pleasantly surprised [after using the iPod Touches (first grant) and then the Kindle Fires (second grant)] as I noticed that students were responding much more quickly, and without counting on their fingers, whenever I would ask students for simple calculations (such as 13-5). Previously at least half of my students had to count on their fingers when asked questions like this. I was also pleasantly surprised at how many students chose to use apps that were strictly practice (i.e.: not gamelike at all) for at least part of their time using the devices. In all, using this technology was more effective than I had hoped. The great thing about EPAK is that you do not have to jump through hoops to get your grant. As long as you get the grant request in on time, give a reasonable explanation for what you are requesting, and get the receipts in on time, you can get some great materials for your classroom. In the past I have gotten other technology and a field trip.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 19, 2011

more

December 19, 2011

I am a brand new teacher in East Palo Alto and was given $250 to start building my classroom in the beginning of the year. This grant is specificly for new teachers in the district. This was an amazing gift from EPAK that allowed me to start gathering materials that my students and I needed to begin my year. I am so appreciative that I was able to get enough journals for reading and writing that students use on a daily basis as well as many other key classroom items. With so much going on your first year, EPAK gave me the extra help I needed to feel more prepared in starting my career.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 5, 2011

more

June 5, 2011

EPAK (East Palo Alto Kids Foundation) provides $500 grants for classroom teachers twice yearly (Fall and Spring). Each year I have been able to purchase $1000 worth of books and hands-on enrichment materials for my first graders. EPAK requires that the materials bought have to stay in the classroom, even if the teacher leaves, so they are able to enrich our students year after year. I have been able to buy enough books for all of my students to have guided reading books (books just at their level to help them incrementally learn how to read). In the past two years that I have been using these books, I have seen such an impact on my students' reading. This year, I had 85% of my students far below grade level at the begining of the year (did not know letter names or sounds or sightwords such as "the"). After using these guided reading books with my students, now (in June) 80% of my students are reading at or above grade level! EPAK has also furnished my classroom with hands-on math and science materials. Many of my students have never visited a zoo or museum, so it is important for me to provide them with those opportunities within the classroom. EPAK has allowed me to purchase fossils, x-rays of animals, magnifying glasses, and thermometers, as well as materials to do hands-on experiments. This kind of exposure starts to close the gap between the "haves" and "have-nots" in our society. EPAK can really be classified as a social justice organization because of the many opportunities and experiences that it provides our kids in East Palo Alto

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my classroom and in my school, Costano Elementary School in East Palo Alto. The grants that EPAK has shared with our school site have helped to create an academically rigorous and compassionate school environment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

create 3 cycles of grants per year (Fall, Winter, Spring) because the funds are so closely tied with our students' acaemdic success and involvement.

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers