Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I am a theater professional who has both seen productions and worked with the company, and am always impressed by the quality of the work. First, the "hidden gems" of American theater that the company unearths and gives new life; and second, the fine performances. These have included adaptations of Mark Twain, O. Henry and Poe, revivals of George S. Kaufman and Eugene O'Neill, along with vibrant new works celebrating Paul Robeson and Louisa May Alcott. East Lynne Theater is a wonderful resource for the community, young and old, who need more exposure to the great works of our past, in Cape May NJ and on tour.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 3, 2012

more

January 3, 2012

East Lynne Theater has a unique mission. This company presents early American plays from the Twentieth century. I was amazed and delighted to discover how timely and relevant this body of work is. The plays and the voices of these playwrights speak to our humanity, to our roots, to who we are. Not only for the artistic director, technical director, the board members, directors, actors, designers, interns, crew but most important for the audience, East Lynne offers a timely opportunity by inviting us all to immerse ourselves in the world of these early American gems only to discover how universal and how applicable these stories, these voices, these hearts are to our life experience today. East Lynne Theater truly puts the American Spirit on Stage. Not only can one experience this spirit in Cape May, New Jersey but throughout the country via their educational outreach programs and their touring productions.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 30, 2011

more

December 30, 2011

East Lynne Theater Company is for theater lovers who crave the adventure of discovering classic gems and world premieres. The company has received kudos from "The Wall Street Journal" for reviving such plays as Kaufman and Connelly's "To the Ladies" and Rachel Crothers' "He and She." Consistently, shows are well-directed with terrific ensemble casts. Educational outreach focuses on in-school residencies, summer workshops for students, and playwriting and acting classes for adults - and the work is incredible.

Photos

Videos

Henry Sawyer and the Civil War

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 10, 2012

more


1 previous review
January 25, 2011

It is rewarding to watch patrons as they leave the theater, after seeing an East Lynne Theater production. All are entertained and some are changed: An altered perception or view. We, in the busines... more

October 10, 2012

This is a Theater which has great American comedies and thought provoking plays,fun for the whole family. Some plays are 100 years old and are hilarious and still true today. You won't find this kind of theater anywhere else in the U.S. East Lynne also has an Educational Outreach program which is the equal to the mega theaters in the region.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

It is rewarding to watch patrons as they leave the theater, after seeing an East Lynne Theater production. All are entertained and some are changed: An altered perception or view. We, in the business live for moments like that. Someone's life has changed forever and we did it. East Lynne Theater effects people that way on a regular basis. Plays and topics from America's theatrical past come to life again in Cape May. Our collective heritage is kept alive by Gayle Stahlhuth, Artistic Director, because of her passion and knowledge. Plays from America's past are shown to still be relevant, poignant, funny and appropriate. Gayle and this theater are national gems.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Experiencing the reactions of changed patrons and actors. Everyone is effected positively.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a permanent home for them.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

It's mission of doing plays fromm America's heritage rich past.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers