Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

My wife and I have made it a point to attend at least one ELTC production each year for the past eight years and we have never been disappointed. This season’s “The Poe Mysteries” was another extremely entertaining show uniquely conceived and excellently performed. Seeing an ELTC performance is one of our favorite annual “must do” events.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I had the pleasure of catching ELT's production of The Poe Mysteries this past summer and just loved it! After the show it took me quite some time to shake that eerie feeling that the show gave me. Overall the performance was gripping and the acting was fantastic. All the actors worked together in an impressively well-functioning manner, like clockwork. I can't wait to see more work by this extremely talented group of artists!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

As both the pastor of the church in which East Lynne has residence and as a member of the board, I have been extremely pleased with the year in and year out performance quality of each production. This company takes seriously their mission of keeping classic theater in front of the public. The productions always take into account the fact that they are performed in a church and the artistic director takes great pains to maintain suitability. These are shows in which no one ever has to worry about language or content. What a joy for that in today's woprld. I would urge anyone looking for good quality and wholesome entertainment and great production values to check out the East Lynne company.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

As a new board member of the East Lynne Theatre, I am delighted to be a part of this organization. The productions of classic American Theatre are both well directed and well performed. Educational outreach programs for students and adults offer workshops and acting classes as well as provide cultural enrichment programs to community schools. I particularly enjoy the "tales of Victorian" porch readings presented by actors weekly during the summer season in Cape May. The Press of Atlantic City described it best as "one of South Jersey's cultural treasures."

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I have been on the Board for many years and each year it is a challenge but I am amazed each year with the outstanding quality of the shows. They get better each year, and the actors are all top notch and I would put them up against any notable actor today. The shows , though dated, do have relevance to things today and most are done with humor, which is never outdated. This company has had challenges in locating a permanent home, but its involvement in the community is unbelievable.I am proud to be a Board Member and associated with such talented and caring people, the staff and the volunteers. Once you see a show, you will come back again. I have met people who drive a hundred miles to come see a show, then return home.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I am a theater professional who has both seen productions and worked with the company, and am always impressed by the quality of the work. First, the "hidden gems" of American theater that the company unearths and gives new life; and second, the fine performances. These have included adaptations of Mark Twain, O. Henry and Poe, revivals of George S. Kaufman and Eugene O'Neill, along with vibrant new works celebrating Paul Robeson and Louisa May Alcott. East Lynne Theater is a wonderful resource for the community, young and old, who need more exposure to the great works of our past, in Cape May NJ and on tour.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I at first saw plays at East Lynne for their content and excellent acting. Now I feel grateful that it promotes revival of early 20th Century plays and works by well known and new playwrites.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I have been attending performances by this theater group for a decade. The productions are first rate, and the acting rivals any I've seen at The Kennedy Center or Ford's Theater in Washington, D.C. The best thing about East Lynne is how history is infused with comedy. They find vintage play material with all the raucous hilarity of today's sitcoms. It never ceases to amaze me how the popular topics of the 19th and early 20th centuries are still the same concerns and issues of today. East Lynne doesn't just perform comedies (though that is my favorite). You'll find the performance season spanning the gamut: thought-provoking dramas, whimsical radio show enactments with sound effects, simple readings or story telling -- all depicted by a variety of skilled professional actors for very reasonable ticket prices. East Lynne also runs workshops for area youth, making them a truly educational resource for the local community. I hope they continue to delight audiences for years to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

East Lynne Theater Company (ELTC) performs early American plays not only in Cape May, NJ but take plays on the road. Some of these plays are world premiers and have not been seen in almost 100 years. ELTC has received grants including ones for educational programs. The acting and all aspects of presenting a play are great. Because of the fantastic plays and everyone being so friendly, ELTC is the only theater I attend. After the performances, the audience can meet the cast.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more


1 previous review
January 25, 2011

It is rewarding to watch patrons as they leave the theater, after seeing an East Lynne Theater production. All are entertained and some are changed: An altered perception or view. We, in the busines... more

October 10, 2012

This is a Theater which has great American comedies and thought provoking plays,fun for the whole family. Some plays are 100 years old and are hilarious and still true today. You won't find this kind of theater anywhere else in the U.S. East Lynne also has an Educational Outreach program which is the equal to the mega theaters in the region.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

It is rewarding to watch patrons as they leave the theater, after seeing an East Lynne Theater production. All are entertained and some are changed: An altered perception or view. We, in the business live for moments like that. Someone's life has changed forever and we did it. East Lynne Theater effects people that way on a regular basis. Plays and topics from America's theatrical past come to life again in Cape May. Our collective heritage is kept alive by Gayle Stahlhuth, Artistic Director, because of her passion and knowledge. Plays from America's past are shown to still be relevant, poignant, funny and appropriate. Gayle and this theater are national gems.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Experiencing the reactions of changed patrons and actors. Everyone is effected positively.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a permanent home for them.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

It's mission of doing plays fromm America's heritage rich past.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers