Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
123.4615445
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I, as with other people, am no longer supporting organizations where the CEO/President makes in excess of $250,000. I don't make anywhere near that and find it objectionable that such huge portions of my donations are going to one person. I appreciate Charity Navigator bringing transparency to the world of non-profits. Thank you.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 31, 2012

I believe the compensation paid to president is too excessive.
$322,092--Donnell Van Noppen President

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

For many years I have given to Earthjustice and I think they serve a very important purpose, but this year I am withholding my contribution because it seems that Trip Van Noppen's salary is increasing at an accelerating rate at a time when most of us have not seen a raise (in fact more likely the opposite) in years. Noone needs $320k a year to live comfortably and I cannot in good conscience give to a charity whose CEO takes such a paycheck.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 3, 2012

I am grateful for the work done, but wish less was spent on fund raising. I get too many solicitations even after I have requested only once/year.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Charities are not businesses, and pay for executive directors should not chase the for-profit corporate model. For that reason, I am declining to renew support for charities with executive compensation that exceeds $250,000 or 1% of budget (for national organizations). If the work is so important that I should support it, then I expect charity leaders to be willing to support the work at several times my income.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

cap executive compensation at $250,000 or 1% of budget, whichever is lower.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 2, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 2, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

Earth Justice makes sure that environmental laws and regulations do more than just sit on the books. They take on meaningful fights and collaborate with other organizations so they're using their resources wisely. Nonprofit legal groups can easily end up cherry picking high-profile and/or winnable cases, but Earth Justice takes cases on their merits. I feel good about supporting their work because I know where my money is going.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

fighting for enforcement of hazardous waste laws.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers