Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
123.4615445
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I, as with other people, am no longer supporting organizations where the CEO/President makes in excess of $250,000. I don't make anywhere near that and find it objectionable that such huge portions of my donations are going to one person. I appreciate Charity Navigator bringing transparency to the world of non-profits. Thank you.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 31, 2012

I believe the compensation paid to president is too excessive.
$322,092--Donnell Van Noppen President

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

For many years I have given to Earthjustice and I think they serve a very important purpose, but this year I am withholding my contribution because it seems that Trip Van Noppen's salary is increasing at an accelerating rate at a time when most of us have not seen a raise (in fact more likely the opposite) in years. Noone needs $320k a year to live comfortably and I cannot in good conscience give to a charity whose CEO takes such a paycheck.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The environment is constantly under threat by corporations, politicians and , sadly, much of the public. The only recourse is to take these threatening sources to court. Too much of our society is greed-driven. We are destroying our own habitat at an alarming rate. Earthjustice is absolutely necessary to maintain any kind of sane approach to environmental issues. Both political parties are destructive. Earthjustice is a light that shines in an otherwise dark reality. They are courageous and organized in their approach.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

Very active organization with easy online petition access. Makes a difference in many areas. Very imaginative, well written and professional emails. Worthy of support. Frequent communications.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

I've supported Earthjustice because they've taken action on a substantial number of cases and gotten substantial results. Anyone who bothers to research the history of the extraction and use of natural resources will agree that the earth needs a good lawyer. Technologies like mountaintop removal and hydraulic fracturing need to be opposed, and our advocates need teeth. Chanting protesters are not going to stop BP, Exxon, or the Peabody Coal Company from destroying the earth. Existing laws, or lack of enforcement, enable corporations to plunder, and legal action is needed to stop them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The more I learn about this organization, the less I believe in its mission. Yes, the environment needs protection. However, suing the government and other entities does not always enact the proper change that is needed for true protection. On top of the fact that they later seek attorney's fees and costs from the government makes me even more suspicious of their true goals. I'd rather send my money to the Nature Conservancy that actually does collaborative work to help the environment rather that confrontational tactics. The true impact of this organization is about litigation and no collaboration which in the end only fills their pockets with other people's monies.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012

I am grateful for the work done, but wish less was spent on fund raising. I get too many solicitations even after I have requested only once/year.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 7, 2012

more

July 7, 2012

Compensation of Leaders (FYE 06/2011)
Compensation % of Expenses Paid to Title
$322,092 1.09% Donnell Van Noppen President

Regardless of their 4-Star ratings, I'm having trouble getting motivated to send donations to charities whose presidents are getting salaries
over $100k.
June 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Charities are not businesses, and pay for executive directors should not chase the for-profit corporate model. For that reason, I am declining to renew support for charities with executive compensation that exceeds $250,000 or 1% of budget (for national organizations). If the work is so important that I should support it, then I expect charity leaders to be willing to support the work at several times my income.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

cap executive compensation at $250,000 or 1% of budget, whichever is lower.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers