Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.862075
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 16, 2014

more

April 16, 2014

Earth Force has been a part of my life since before I had braces. As an adult board member I've seen the organization in a number of its iterations and I am still proud to say that it is an organization which I strongly support. Earthforce began engaging youth in classrooms and through educators to bring their voices to bear on the environmental and social issues relevant to them. It has grown to strategically and systematically mobilize multiple stakeholders in creating an environment in which youth and their voices are able to thrive.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2013

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 13, 2012

Earth Force is the most innovative non-profit I know. We are flexible to change and know how to do it best so that the vision of our organization is still protected. Innovation is what makes the best ... more

August 13, 2013

I have worked with dozens of youth service organizations closely, so I can confidently affirm Earth Force's unparalleled leadership around thinking two steps ahead of problems. Earth Force knows that being collaborative is the crux of community changemaking. Earth Force is an organization that's not in this industry for fame, but rather to truly be an organization that thinks about transforming communities and empowering youth as leaders as efficiently and effectively as possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would advocate that we continue to build out a diversified funding stream to continue to support this amazing work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2012

Earth Force is the most innovative non-profit I know. We are flexible to change and know how to do it best so that the vision of our organization is still protected. Innovation is what makes the best non-profits.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2012

I love how Earth Force has found its niche in empowering young people to become catalysts for environmental change in their communities. Earth Forces gives tens of thousands of young people an opportunity to show their communities that we are more than just the future, we are today!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 24, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Earth Force is an amazing organization with innovative solutions to supporting a generation of environmental concerned and active citizens. Our programs help train teachers to get young people thinking about the world around them and how our daily actions are all a part of an interconnected planet. Then, we empower young people to create real solutions to these community issues. Additionally, our programs use our unique curriculum that connects environmental service to math, language arts, social studies, and science academic standards.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By evaluating our progress and monitoring our organization's growth.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Diversify funding sources.

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

Earth Force's mission is to engage young people as active citizens who improve the environment and their communities now and in the future. Earth Force has 15 years of engagement strategies and expertise working with young people, particularly those in underserved communities, helping them find their voice and assuming leadership roles. Headquartered in Denver and active in 40 communities throughout the United States, Earth Force reaches over 15,000 youth per year. Through high quality professional development and inquiry-based, hands-on learning opportunities, Earth Force’s approach to youth engagement, community engagement and environmental stewardship helps young people build the knowledge, skills and competencies they need for careers in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM).

My involvement with Earth Force began as an Earth Force "parent" while my daughter was in middle school. She partcipated in projects with Earth Force staff who guided the efforts of her middle school science teacher. My daughter subsequently participated in an Earth Force city-wide Youth Leadership Team that produced a video about climate change with the local public television station. While in High School, my daughter worked with another student to develop and implement a weekly after-school environmental program for 4th graders in a local elementary school. She now is entering her sophomore year in college, focusing on environmental studies and geography. The skills my daughter learned and put into practice through Earth Force will shape the rest of her life.

Earth Force’s educational model is somewhat unique in that it promotes problem-solving and service-learning for K-12 students, civic engagement to gain an understanding of “how local change works”, and implementation through community-based initiatives. This model encourages students to investigate and address larger and longer-term issues that become lifelong environmentally-focused lessons and opportunities for leadership development. An example of this was presented to our Board in Baltimore, MD in February 2012 via four 8th grade students from the Alexandria VA School District. After a presentation of their watershed projects, Q&A from the Board elicited several statements from the students that both validated the Earth Force educational model and elevated the students’ efforts from “just another school science project”. The students expressed the following developmental and engagement benefits from the projects: raised project awareness, passed on what they learned to other students and the community, improved their communication and leadership skills, participated in field trips, were passionate and dedicated to a longer term project, what we do matters, conducted outside the textbook learning, and learned from doing. Hearing the students describe these life lessons from their Earth Force program were identical to ones I heard from my daughter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 28, 2011

I started with EarthForce in the 3rd grade, my first service project was on community recycling and this project was presented to an audotorim filled with proud parents from the best low-income neighb... more

October 11, 2012

From the many years that I have spent working with Earth Force I can honestly say I've watched and experienced the organization grow from a good thing, to a pilliar of excellence in the field youth leadership and environmental education. I watched with awe the tenacity, grace, and agility employed in restructuring the organization. I also saw the care and empathy used in communicating and working with the staff members around the changes. As a board member I can say that the leadership made very difficult decisions that ultimately steered the ship towards bold innovations and success. Earth Force wouldn't be the organization that it is without that type of dynamic and sensitive leadership. And the people who would loose the most are the students whose lives are positively impacted by that marvelous six step process.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I started with EarthForce in the 3rd grade, my first service project was on community recycling and this project was presented to an audotorim filled with proud parents from the best low-income neighborhood in the world; the Five-Points community in Denver, Colorado. I continued with Earthforce engaging in a number of other service projects eventaully becoming a class room assistant at both Swansea Elementary and Columbine Elementary schools. I assisted some of the best kids I ever met in their own, youth driven service learning process. At a young age, these experiences challenged my understanding of environmental thought as it applied to poverty, youth activism and community education and engagement. During my last high school years I worked at the FrontRange Earth Force office and served as a local board member and eventually as a national board member. Having the ability to learn from and engage with these intelligent, progressive, and down-to-earth individuals ultimately helped to shape my relationship to the professional world and at the same time keep me grounded in what meant the most to me. Creating active and empowered individuals from all walks of life, building stronger more sustainable communities, and bringing everyone to the table in discussions about environmental action.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The Earth Force Process works. I can personally attest to it. I've used it with college students in New York as well as with Middle School students in Belize and I've seen how giving youth agency in their own education and the exercise of their critical thinking skills improves their ability to participate as active citizens. Earth Force is successful because of it's strong commitment to the undeserved as well as the planet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would expand and differentiate the curriculum for use in specific college and high school courses.

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a former Earth Force youth and current Board Member, I can attest to the life-changing impact this organization has on young people. When I was in fifth grade, Earth Force began its programming in my elementary school. Using its "youth voice" model, the organization asked my peers and I what we thought about environmental issues rather than telling us what to think or do. This model that empowers youth indeed encourages them to take life long leadership roles in forming the types of communities they want to see. Earth Force encouraged my involvement in different environmentally focused projects throughout my youth, including my involvement in the USDA Forest Service's Centennial Congress and my participation in the International Conference "Let's Take Care of the Planet." I so believe in this organization that my involvement continues today through service on the board of directors and financial support. I cannot recommend this organization more highly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2010

more

April 8, 2010

Earth Force is a wonderful organization that investing in our nation's youth. Earth Force gives youth the tools they need to make a change in thier communtiies. Earth Force does a wonderful job with working with teachers, students, schools, and other organizations ro bring environmental education to thousands.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

diverse and very friendly

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers