Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.859655
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

I am grateful that Earth Force’s Youth Engagement Zone was one of Learn and Serve America’s legacy programs. Their high-quality work allowed this program to go out on a very high note. I don’t think I’ve ever worked with a team who was as committed to making a difference in their community and in the world. Hats off to Earth Force!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have at least one branch in every state in the country.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

I have a long history with Earth Force as a former staff member who has carried the core beliefs and vision of the organization with me. Earth Force's work is vital at a time when communities are increasingly short on resources to support the authentic civic engagement of their youngest citizens. In my current position, we are fortunate to enjoy a fantastic partnership with Earth Force that continues to grow. Most recently this partnership has allowed us to feature educators and students who have worked on long-term water monitoring projects in our series of educational videos. We look forward to many more opportunities to work together!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

I am a grateful member of the Earth Force network and I continue to be impressed with their work and its impact on youth as well as teachers. I am a teacher educator who strives to teach my pre-service teachers "best practices" in the field. I continuously try to help my college students see that a program is GOOD when it has a sound theoretic backing. Earth Force follows in the tradition of John Dewey and his focus on meaningful problem solving where reflection is KEY to growth and learning. I have watched my college students grow as they work with elementary and middle school children collaboratively exploring their communities, identifying environmental issues, and developing strategies that will be used to address these issues. The program allows my pre-service teachers to learn to facilitate and guide their students toward possible solutions to a selected problem; but the most impressive part of the program is that these problems and strategies toward solution are student-selected and student-led. Earth Force values the capacity of its participants whether it is teacher, elementary/middle school student, pre-service teacher or college professor.

Earth Force is a program that is consistent with ideas embedded in service learning because it allows both the pre-service teachers and their students to grow while redressing meaningful, authentic problems. Watching the pre-service teachers work with their elementary and middle level students reflects the importance of youth voice. I am proud to watch these pre-service teachers actually hand over the reigns of their lessons to children, trusting that the Earth Force process will provide the needed structure that will lead to deep and meaningful learning. Traditional course work and assignments could never foster the kinds of learning that Earth Force is capable of providing to youth and teachers alike.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

I have known and worked with the staff at Earth Force for more than five years. One of the most amazing things about them is that they are the same people today that they were five years ago! In other words, once you start working at Earth Force you never want to leave. The staff retention is a strong testament to the steady management of the organization and a wonderful statement about the value of the mission.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2013

more

May 1, 2013

I have partnered with Earthforce for approximately one year, and it is truly a relationship I value. Their expertise with environmental education and their commitment to the youth in our program and within the Denver community goes above and beyond their personal mission. It is an honor and privilege to have them in my core of trusted business relationships.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Earth Force has provided the opportunity for teachers across my county to become involved in water quality monitoring. In addition to this opportunity, they've provided professional development for teachers to encourage service learning and community involvement. There work has allowed every 7 th or 8 th grade student within the Flint River Watershed in Lapeer County to have a real-world, data collecting experience and encourage them to do something positive for the environment and community. Earth Force continues to support my work and my teachers, and honestly, they're just great people!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Earth Force's collaborative approach to everything they do is the standard by which all organizations should work. Earth Force's commitment to quality and follow through, willingness to integrate innovative collaborative processes and their passion for students and the environment are unmatched. Earth Force staff are committed to ongoing, meaningful relationships and impacts for the communities, schools, teachers and students they work with.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Earth Force is an organization of excellence. The staff, events and the curriculum combined provide for a hands on experience that is not offered for professionals wanting to engage students in service learning. The staff are very courteous and truly provide consultation with an individualized touch to help you better what you offer to the community as a professional. The curriculum is broad and specific enough to cater to a youth group that meets anywhere from everyday to every other week. The retreat that is held in the spring is an awesome opportunity for the students to show themselves as leaders in the community with a mission to serve in the capacity they chose by following the steps within the Earth Force Curriculum. My students were enlightened and so proud of themselves when they had the opportunity to share the work they conducted throughout the year. Their eyes lit when they had the opportunity to share these experiences with other adults and students as well. They were honored to win the Earth Force Best Service to the Community Award for the academic year of 2011-2012. This success happened within the first year of using Earth Force's curriculum. This is not to my credit, but truly to the caliber of the students and Earth Force for putting together a curriculum that is easy and manageable enough to dive into.

Photos

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing at all :)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

The hands on guidance, consultation and breadth of the curriculum.

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working with Earth Force of almost a year now and have enjoyed every step along the way. Since I have been in my current position I have had the pleasure if working with Earth Force on two different teacher training events. Our most recent training was in a county that has very little environmental education and was a county that our youth program was not in yet, so there was a lot to get done. I could not have had a successful training without the assistance of the Earth Force employees. Whenever I was unsure of something they were there to answer any question I had and if they did not know off hand they helped me find it out. I stand behind the Earth Force Curriculum 100% but even more important than that is the Earth Force employees stand with you 100%. You can have a great curriculum but if you do not have the great people that Earth Force has than the curriculum means nothing.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing how their curriculum changes the lives of the students that go through it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more money for them to do more trainings.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

The Curriculum is great, you can use it step by step or you can make it your own. It really fits any style of teaching. this is important because you have a training there no two teachers are the same.

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Although I have not had much personal experience with Earth Force, I know that they do great work in schools. I had the opportunity to meet with the Germantown Friends School Environmental Action Club and see some of their projects, and I am blown away by the maturity and dedication of these students! They inspire me to continue what I do every day. Earth Force's mission is essential -- we have to involve the youth if we want to save our environment and ourselves. Earth Force gives young students the opportunity to use their imaginations and develop skills that will serve them for the rest of their lives.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers