Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.859655
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a former Earth Force youth and current Board Member, I can attest to the life-changing impact this organization has on young people. When I was in fifth grade, Earth Force began its programming in my elementary school. Using its "youth voice" model, the organization asked my peers and I what we thought about environmental issues rather than telling us what to think or do. This model that empowers youth indeed encourages them to take life long leadership roles in forming the types of communities they want to see. Earth Force encouraged my involvement in different environmentally focused projects throughout my youth, including my involvement in the USDA Forest Service's Centennial Congress and my participation in the International Conference "Let's Take Care of the Planet." I so believe in this organization that my involvement continues today through service on the board of directors and financial support. I cannot recommend this organization more highly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Earth Force is an organization of excellence. The staff, events and the curriculum combined provide for a hands on experience that is not offered for professionals wanting to engage students in service learning. The staff are very courteous and truly provide consultation with an individualized touch to help you better what you offer to the community as a professional. The curriculum is broad and specific enough to cater to a youth group that meets anywhere from everyday to every other week. The retreat that is held in the spring is an awesome opportunity for the students to show themselves as leaders in the community with a mission to serve in the capacity they chose by following the steps within the Earth Force Curriculum. My students were enlightened and so proud of themselves when they had the opportunity to share the work they conducted throughout the year. Their eyes lit when they had the opportunity to share these experiences with other adults and students as well. They were honored to win the Earth Force Best Service to the Community Award for the academic year of 2011-2012. This success happened within the first year of using Earth Force's curriculum. This is not to my credit, but truly to the caliber of the students and Earth Force for putting together a curriculum that is easy and manageable enough to dive into.

Photos

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing at all :)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

The hands on guidance, consultation and breadth of the curriculum.

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working with Earth Force of almost a year now and have enjoyed every step along the way. Since I have been in my current position I have had the pleasure if working with Earth Force on two different teacher training events. Our most recent training was in a county that has very little environmental education and was a county that our youth program was not in yet, so there was a lot to get done. I could not have had a successful training without the assistance of the Earth Force employees. Whenever I was unsure of something they were there to answer any question I had and if they did not know off hand they helped me find it out. I stand behind the Earth Force Curriculum 100% but even more important than that is the Earth Force employees stand with you 100%. You can have a great curriculum but if you do not have the great people that Earth Force has than the curriculum means nothing.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing how their curriculum changes the lives of the students that go through it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more money for them to do more trainings.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

The Curriculum is great, you can use it step by step or you can make it your own. It really fits any style of teaching. this is important because you have a training there no two teachers are the same.

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Although I have not had much personal experience with Earth Force, I know that they do great work in schools. I had the opportunity to meet with the Germantown Friends School Environmental Action Club and see some of their projects, and I am blown away by the maturity and dedication of these students! They inspire me to continue what I do every day. Earth Force's mission is essential -- we have to involve the youth if we want to save our environment and ourselves. Earth Force gives young students the opportunity to use their imaginations and develop skills that will serve them for the rest of their lives.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working with Earth Force over the past five years in the capacity of a university professor who uses CAPS (Community Action and Problem Solving) as a methodology for training pre-service teachers. This methodology is excellent for teaching pre-service teachers the importance of critical thinking/problem solving and tolerance/acceptance of alternative points of view...My pre-service teachers learn firsthand that the process is sometimes just as important as the product. These fledgling teachers then take these newly formed skills to their field placements and teach middle school students how to think!!! Most important, the context of the thinking and problem solving is based in critical environmental issues. EF participants learn about problem solving and, because they try to resolve these environmental issues, they become empowered as agents of change that will lead to a healthier planet. EF is meaningful to both teachers and students because they learn scientific content in the context of their local community...thinking and solving problems in your own backyard - PEOPLE can make a difference and this is the mantra that EF espouses.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 1, 2012

more

May 1, 2012

I have been involved with EarthForce as a volunteer and donor for more than 12 years, and have always been impressed with their ability to engage young people to identify and then address environmental problems in their communities. Youth are empowered to improve the world around them now and gain the problem-solving and advocacy skills they need in the future. EarthForce's innovative model helps people make an immediate impact, but has built-in sustainability.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 1, 2012

more

May 1, 2012

Earth Force is a living example of what doing 'good' means. They are an incredible group of people who work tirelessly to promote opportunities for youth voice to be heard, and youth hands to be active in shaping the communities they desire. Thanks Earth Force for all you do!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 26, 2011

Earth Force is dynamic and inspiring! The service-learning program empowers students and helps them help their communities. It is wonderful to hear the stories of these kids who worked - to start re... more

April 30, 2012

Earth Force is about the things that - in my opinion - make our communities better places to live and give me hope for the future: young people, the environment, youth leadership and service-learning. I support Earth Force so that their service-learning process can continue to create youth leaders who know how to address local issues that are important to them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Earth Force is dynamic and inspiring! The service-learning program empowers students and helps them help their communities. It is wonderful to hear the stories of these kids who worked - to start recycling programs or clean-up nearby creeks - and learned through their projects. It enhances their everyday classroom learning with leadership and community connections.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Interacted with students at the Youth Summit and heard about their projects.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Volunteer and donate more.

April 25, 2012

more

April 25, 2012

Earth Force is an amazing organization that provides a necessary and valuable service to under-served youth. I had the pleasure of working with EF and group of middle school students in Belen, NM, where we used the EF process to create strong connections between the local environment and the community. Best of all, by learning how to create a community garden, test water quality of the local acequias, plant trees in local parks, and repair a greenhouse at an elementary school, the students realized that they were part of their community as well. They became more invested in their local government, and their community was impressed with the efforts of these students. It's just a great program making crucial connections in important ways.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 24, 2012

more

April 24, 2012

I have been working with Earth Force for more than ten years. They lead the Global Rivers Environmental Education Network that is supported by my company, General Motors. This program takes a hands-on approach to environmental education by matching schools with local environmental partner organizations and GM facilities to take students out of their classrooms to study local rivers and streams. EF's expertise and networking in the area of environmental education and service learning is unmatched. In addition, they have somehow mastered the ability to work with us unruly manufacturing- types and mold us into dedicated mentors in the program! They are always willing to work through the problems that come up -- which are many! I am very satisfied with the level of service provided by EF. They are very reliable and is always looking ways to improve our program. Deserving of many kudos! (Full disclosure: I am also a board member.)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers