Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.862075
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
March 30, 2011

more

March 30, 2011

In a world increasingly driven by organizations or initiatives with stylistic visual "packaging", but often lacking in substance, Earth Force rises above the fray with high quality youth programs with long-term impact. Beyond the logos and graphics, which Earth Force does well, one quickly realizes the organization is about the people and community. Earth Force representatives in the Lowcountry of South Carolina have always been there for us as a partner in a regional education consortium. Phone calls like "Can you help us spread the word about summer camp?" to "Can you help gather a youth group for storm drain marking", are always answered with "Yes, we'll be glad to support the effort!" There are no territory issues, no egos, just the work, a spirit of collaboration, and the community goals. In the field of environmental stewardship, it becomes evident that change begins at the community-level, and often youth are the ripples in the pond that impact their families and communities. Earth Force programs reinforce the community ideal and aim at developing a long-term relationship, not just an episodic event, with youth.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The programs that we partner together on, including after-school youth programs, summer programs, GREEN program, stormwater runoff education programs (such as storm drain marking, wetlands and oyster reef restorations).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more opportunity and resources to expand their efforts.

May 2, 2014

more

May 2, 2014

Earth Force is a great organization here in Denver. They have an abundance of great resources for any non-profit in the Environmental Field (lessons, give-aways, trainings, helpers). They always attend our events and educate the public!
April 16, 2014

more

April 16, 2014

Earth Force has been a part of my life since before I had braces. As an adult board member I've seen the organization in a number of its iterations and I am still proud to say that it is an organization which I strongly support. Earthforce began engaging youth in classrooms and through educators to bring their voices to bear on the environmental and social issues relevant to them. It has grown to strategically and systematically mobilize multiple stakeholders in creating an environment in which youth and their voices are able to thrive.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

I am grateful that Earth Force’s Youth Engagement Zone was one of Learn and Serve America’s legacy programs. Their high-quality work allowed this program to go out on a very high note. I don’t think I’ve ever worked with a team who was as committed to making a difference in their community and in the world. Hats off to Earth Force!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have at least one branch in every state in the country.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

I have a long history with Earth Force as a former staff member who has carried the core beliefs and vision of the organization with me. Earth Force's work is vital at a time when communities are increasingly short on resources to support the authentic civic engagement of their youngest citizens. In my current position, we are fortunate to enjoy a fantastic partnership with Earth Force that continues to grow. Most recently this partnership has allowed us to feature educators and students who have worked on long-term water monitoring projects in our series of educational videos. We look forward to many more opportunities to work together!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

I've got the Earth Force "bug". I had the great fortune of getting to know Chris C., COB at Earth Force. She explained the mission and the programs and proven methodology of their work. Brilliant. I then had the opportunity to learn more from Lisa B., RD. How could anyone dispute the concepts that the earth needs to be cared for and children need to earn and experience responsibility? What a magnificent combination. I also feel like Earth Force has initiated a much needed concept of "uncommon Collaboratives". Teaching our children gives us great hope for the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand its reach. We need it!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

I am a grateful member of the Earth Force network and I continue to be impressed with their work and its impact on youth as well as teachers. I am a teacher educator who strives to teach my pre-service teachers "best practices" in the field. I continuously try to help my college students see that a program is GOOD when it has a sound theoretic backing. Earth Force follows in the tradition of John Dewey and his focus on meaningful problem solving where reflection is KEY to growth and learning. I have watched my college students grow as they work with elementary and middle school children collaboratively exploring their communities, identifying environmental issues, and developing strategies that will be used to address these issues. The program allows my pre-service teachers to learn to facilitate and guide their students toward possible solutions to a selected problem; but the most impressive part of the program is that these problems and strategies toward solution are student-selected and student-led. Earth Force values the capacity of its participants whether it is teacher, elementary/middle school student, pre-service teacher or college professor.

Earth Force is a program that is consistent with ideas embedded in service learning because it allows both the pre-service teachers and their students to grow while redressing meaningful, authentic problems. Watching the pre-service teachers work with their elementary and middle level students reflects the importance of youth voice. I am proud to watch these pre-service teachers actually hand over the reigns of their lessons to children, trusting that the Earth Force process will provide the needed structure that will lead to deep and meaningful learning. Traditional course work and assignments could never foster the kinds of learning that Earth Force is capable of providing to youth and teachers alike.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

I have known and worked with the staff at Earth Force for more than five years. One of the most amazing things about them is that they are the same people today that they were five years ago! In other words, once you start working at Earth Force you never want to leave. The staff retention is a strong testament to the steady management of the organization and a wonderful statement about the value of the mission.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 13, 2012

Earth Force is the most innovative non-profit I know. We are flexible to change and know how to do it best so that the vision of our organization is still protected. Innovation is what makes the best ... more

August 13, 2013

I have worked with dozens of youth service organizations closely, so I can confidently affirm Earth Force's unparalleled leadership around thinking two steps ahead of problems. Earth Force knows that being collaborative is the crux of community changemaking. Earth Force is an organization that's not in this industry for fame, but rather to truly be an organization that thinks about transforming communities and empowering youth as leaders as efficiently and effectively as possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would advocate that we continue to build out a diversified funding stream to continue to support this amazing work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2012

Earth Force is the most innovative non-profit I know. We are flexible to change and know how to do it best so that the vision of our organization is still protected. Innovation is what makes the best non-profits.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2012

I love how Earth Force has found its niche in empowering young people to become catalysts for environmental change in their communities. Earth Forces gives tens of thousands of young people an opportunity to show their communities that we are more than just the future, we are today!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 24, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Earth Force is an amazing organization with innovative solutions to supporting a generation of environmental concerned and active citizens. Our programs help train teachers to get young people thinking about the world around them and how our daily actions are all a part of an interconnected planet. Then, we empower young people to create real solutions to these community issues. Additionally, our programs use our unique curriculum that connects environmental service to math, language arts, social studies, and science academic standards.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By evaluating our progress and monitoring our organization's growth.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Diversify funding sources.

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

Earth Force's mission is to engage young people as active citizens who improve the environment and their communities now and in the future. Earth Force has 15 years of engagement strategies and expertise working with young people, particularly those in underserved communities, helping them find their voice and assuming leadership roles. Headquartered in Denver and active in 40 communities throughout the United States, Earth Force reaches over 15,000 youth per year. Through high quality professional development and inquiry-based, hands-on learning opportunities, Earth Force’s approach to youth engagement, community engagement and environmental stewardship helps young people build the knowledge, skills and competencies they need for careers in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM).

My involvement with Earth Force began as an Earth Force "parent" while my daughter was in middle school. She partcipated in projects with Earth Force staff who guided the efforts of her middle school science teacher. My daughter subsequently participated in an Earth Force city-wide Youth Leadership Team that produced a video about climate change with the local public television station. While in High School, my daughter worked with another student to develop and implement a weekly after-school environmental program for 4th graders in a local elementary school. She now is entering her sophomore year in college, focusing on environmental studies and geography. The skills my daughter learned and put into practice through Earth Force will shape the rest of her life.

Earth Force’s educational model is somewhat unique in that it promotes problem-solving and service-learning for K-12 students, civic engagement to gain an understanding of “how local change works”, and implementation through community-based initiatives. This model encourages students to investigate and address larger and longer-term issues that become lifelong environmentally-focused lessons and opportunities for leadership development. An example of this was presented to our Board in Baltimore, MD in February 2012 via four 8th grade students from the Alexandria VA School District. After a presentation of their watershed projects, Q&A from the Board elicited several statements from the students that both validated the Earth Force educational model and elevated the students’ efforts from “just another school science project”. The students expressed the following developmental and engagement benefits from the projects: raised project awareness, passed on what they learned to other students and the community, improved their communication and leadership skills, participated in field trips, were passionate and dedicated to a longer term project, what we do matters, conducted outside the textbook learning, and learned from doing. Hearing the students describe these life lessons from their Earth Force program were identical to ones I heard from my daughter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers