Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.866675
Write A Review
October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I mentor for Each One Reach One's play writing program for incarcerated youth. It is an incredible program. In my view, this program should be provided for children, youth, and adults everywhere. it is a powerful way for the participants to reflect upon and express their experience of life. The well structured and guided course gives the youth a clear and powerful voice. There is a staged reading by professional actors for a live audience giving positive recognition for each writer. This program empowers, transforms, and gives the possibility for change. I learned a lot through mentoring on the program and it helped with my writing. The arts are so very important to society. We all need to realize we need art! Aristotle said, "The aim of art is to represent not the outward appearance of things, but their inward significance." We all have an inner life that needs to be expressed. When this isn't expressed it can manifest itself in destructive ways. Each One Reach One provides a positive, constructive environment for youth to express the significance of their inner life. I heartily support their work!
~Matthew Sloan

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

I've been volunteering with the GED program in San Francisco for a little over four years. It's a consistently incredible experience. We try and keep the pairings between tutor and student consistent, so you really do get to build a relationship with the kid. It's great to watch their self-esteem and confidence in their abilities slowly grow over the months or even years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I volunteer at Each One Reach One as a GED tutor. I've absolutely loved working with the kids. They are so motivated and come to study hall of their own volition, giving up their rec time to come in and do school work. I've been paired with a couple different boys now, and every one of them has been motivated and focused. It's also great that we're helping kids who probably don't get a lot of help on schoolwork at home and in school. I really believe that we're giving these kids a chance at a different life and offering them an opportunity they might not otherwise have.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I feel so blessed to be volunteering with EORO doing GED tutoring. They give volunteers the opportunity to help where it is most needed. I haven't been doing this long, but it is one of the most fulfilling things I have ever done. I look forward to continuing and hopefully expanding work with EORO.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Over a course of more than 10 years I have worked with EORO as an actor and playwriting mentor. The model is excellent: it is high quality, a one-to-one ratio for mentor/incarcerated youth. Actually more than that as we become a community during each two-week residency; mentors support each other and the youth support each other and we all support each other. Seriously, it becomes not merely (!!) an excellent tutorial and opportunity for the youth to learn, develop and express creative writing skills and critical thinking abilities; it is also an opportunity for them to experience the best aspects of the creative/collaborative process which is also important to their improved life paths.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

Each One Reach One is a fantastic program. I have been volunteering in their GED study hall for over two years now and I am amazed at how dedicated and curious these boys are. The questions they ask are fantastic and I love to see their faces light up when they finally understand something that seemed so daunting at first. Thank you to all the EORO staff that make this study hall possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

Each week I sit across from a 17 year-old who is giving up his recreation time to study for the GED with a vision of his future. That is an amazing experience. The kids are appreciative and I always feel super-motivated to give as much as I can during our 2 hours. The last time many attended school regularly was in the 7th grade. In addition to the learning, the time gives us ways to connect on a human level. I am a middle-aged white woman who cares for them and this becomes a special, symbolic connection that I believe lasts beyond our time together. This charity provides one-on-one GED tutoring to incarcerated youth age 17 so that they acquire high schol knowledge, can apply to college, and create a relationship with an adult. The only challenge is that we as volunteers may only participate when there have been no disruptions on the campus for our safety and so the week-to-week schedule is not consistent. We meet one evening per week, but this is often cancelled. I appreciate them putting our safety first. I feel safe there. I feel like I am making a big difference in the lives of the students I get to work with. EORO also teaches a 2-week playwriting seminar which empowers students while engaging their imaginations, creating collaboration through theatrical play, and creative writing skills. At the end, they direct and their short plays are performed by professional actors in front of them and their families. The soul of this organization and its goals of educating and inspiring these kids who haven't had positive educational or enrichment experiences is incredible. I have also done the playwriting class. I love volunteering here. The founder and staff are excellent and inspiring, too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers