Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.866675
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
August 20, 2012

more

August 20, 2012

I became involved with EORO because of my own background as an at risk youth. This organization is amazing, I have never met such a passionate director and staff that are invested in their mission. The work this organization is able to accomplish despite its small staff is phenomenal! I will continue to support EORO even though I have relocated out of state. The area and populations they reach are one of the most neglected and invisible, but are some of the most talent rich and intelligent youth. Please support this organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

Each One Reach One is a fantastic program. I have been volunteering in their GED study hall for over two years now and I am amazed at how dedicated and curious these boys are. The questions they ask are fantastic and I love to see their faces light up when they finally understand something that seemed so daunting at first. Thank you to all the EORO staff that make this study hall possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

I have worked with many community programs designed to serve youth who are involved in the juvenile justice system. Never have I met staff who were more dedicated than those at Each One Reach One. When I attended a reading of the plays that the young detainees wrote, I was moved to tears. Each One Reach One's executive director explains that the youth really engage and take pride in the play-writing experience, and that it inspires them to study for their GED and look forward in a healthy and positive way. Each One Reach One is an impressive organization, driven by compassion and intelligence.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

I have been involved with EORO for over 10 years as an actor and mentor in the playwriting and served on the board of directors. Working with an incarcerated youth in the process of writing a play based on their greatest wish or fear in life is an incredible experience. Most often the material is very auto biographical and extremely heart felt. Sometimes the young men writiing deeper material than the girls. To be able to help a young person have a voice - that most often is not provided one is such a gift. The show day is so exciting with every student brimming with pride for their accomplishment. The added plus of having a family member attend the show inside detention and witness there success is ovewhelming. Watching the youth and their professional actors on stage taking their bows is a memory that sticks with me long after I leave. The pride on their faces is unforgettable and I feel so blessed to have contributed a small part towards that success by my acting.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

Each week I sit across from a 17 year-old who is giving up his recreation time to study for the GED with a vision of his future. That is an amazing experience. The kids are appreciative and I always feel super-motivated to give as much as I can during our 2 hours. The last time many attended school regularly was in the 7th grade. In addition to the learning, the time gives us ways to connect on a human level. I am a middle-aged white woman who cares for them and this becomes a special, symbolic connection that I believe lasts beyond our time together. This charity provides one-on-one GED tutoring to incarcerated youth age 17 so that they acquire high schol knowledge, can apply to college, and create a relationship with an adult. The only challenge is that we as volunteers may only participate when there have been no disruptions on the campus for our safety and so the week-to-week schedule is not consistent. We meet one evening per week, but this is often cancelled. I appreciate them putting our safety first. I feel safe there. I feel like I am making a big difference in the lives of the students I get to work with. EORO also teaches a 2-week playwriting seminar which empowers students while engaging their imaginations, creating collaboration through theatrical play, and creative writing skills. At the end, they direct and their short plays are performed by professional actors in front of them and their families. The soul of this organization and its goals of educating and inspiring these kids who haven't had positive educational or enrichment experiences is incredible. I have also done the playwriting class. I love volunteering here. The founder and staff are excellent and inspiring, too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers