Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.866675
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I mentor for Each One Reach One's play writing program for incarcerated youth. It is an incredible program. In my view, this program should be provided for children, youth, and adults everywhere. it is a powerful way for the participants to reflect upon and express their experience of life. The well structured and guided course gives the youth a clear and powerful voice. There is a staged reading by professional actors for a live audience giving positive recognition for each writer. This program empowers, transforms, and gives the possibility for change. I learned a lot through mentoring on the program and it helped with my writing. The arts are so very important to society. We all need to realize we need art! Aristotle said, "The aim of art is to represent not the outward appearance of things, but their inward significance." We all have an inner life that needs to be expressed. When this isn't expressed it can manifest itself in destructive ways. Each One Reach One provides a positive, constructive environment for youth to express the significance of their inner life. I heartily support their work!
~Matthew Sloan

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

I've been volunteering with the GED program in San Francisco for a little over four years. It's a consistently incredible experience. We try and keep the pairings between tutor and student consistent, so you really do get to build a relationship with the kid. It's great to watch their self-esteem and confidence in their abilities slowly grow over the months or even years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I volunteer at Each One Reach One as a GED tutor. I've absolutely loved working with the kids. They are so motivated and come to study hall of their own volition, giving up their rec time to come in and do school work. I've been paired with a couple different boys now, and every one of them has been motivated and focused. It's also great that we're helping kids who probably don't get a lot of help on schoolwork at home and in school. I really believe that we're giving these kids a chance at a different life and offering them an opportunity they might not otherwise have.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I feel so blessed to be volunteering with EORO doing GED tutoring. They give volunteers the opportunity to help where it is most needed. I haven't been doing this long, but it is one of the most fulfilling things I have ever done. I look forward to continuing and hopefully expanding work with EORO.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Over a course of more than 10 years I have worked with EORO as an actor and playwriting mentor. The model is excellent: it is high quality, a one-to-one ratio for mentor/incarcerated youth. Actually more than that as we become a community during each two-week residency; mentors support each other and the youth support each other and we all support each other. Seriously, it becomes not merely (!!) an excellent tutorial and opportunity for the youth to learn, develop and express creative writing skills and critical thinking abilities; it is also an opportunity for them to experience the best aspects of the creative/collaborative process which is also important to their improved life paths.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 1, 2012

more

September 1, 2012

My experience with EORO started at its inception - i donated without designating how my donation would be applied, but after a chance meeting with Robin Sohnen, Founder and Executive Director I knew my donation would be well-placed helping at risk youth. I have the benefit of hindsight now - and besides monetary donations over the years I have volunteered doing office work, been a volunteer at their fundraisers and a Board Member. I've seen first hand EORO's mission delivered, their growth as a non-profit and the inroads politically to make a difference in these youth's lives. And the youth population has responded - EORO's programming speaks to a need that breaks down internal walls and sets youth free. I've been to the performances and witnessed the closing circle where youth in detention, their parole officers, their mentors and sometimes family members join hands and you can see that the youth's lives has changed forever. I am honored to be involved with EORO - it has enriched my life in untold ways. Thank you EORO!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I love this organization. In the four years I have been involved with them I have attended about a half dozen playwriting shows and it never gets old to see young people be given a chance to rewrite the script for the rest of their life. The work involves diverse volunteers and mentors from the community who join together to help break down the stereotypes and attitudes that keep at-risk kids down and destined to a cycle of incarceration. Amazingly powerful!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2012

more

August 28, 2012

I attended one of Each One Reach One play performances at the detention center in San Mateo County. It was quite an experience to see but one I will most certainly will never forget. The young men that wrote the plays looked so happy and excited to see their plays preformed by actors and even more thrilled to have them acted out in front of an audience. I was struck by one young man's story and how he was released for the detention center but asked to come back so he could have his play preformed. It just shows how much he enjoyed participating in the play writing workshop and wanted to see his play through to the end. Each participant seamed excited to have their plays heard and appreciated. I think what Each One Reach One is doing for our incarcerated youth is trying to break the cycle and educate them while getting them on the right track.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2012

more

August 28, 2012

I joined the board of Each One Reach One after attending one of the play reading performances at the San Francisco detention center. I was blown away by the plays written by these youth who were 'doing time' at the facility. The sensitivity, knowledge, love, self awareness that were expressed in their words filled me with amazement. I wanted to be part of an organization that could provide this type of opportunity for self expression to these kids. To see the pride in each boy's face as they accepted the applause and certificate for their achievement was priceless. I believe in the program and am committed to help it grow and succeed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 23, 2012

more

August 23, 2012

I have worked with EORO in their playwriting program as an actor and mentor. The greatest aspects of the program are it gives the incarcerated youth a voice and self-worth. I have experienced young folks saying "I didn't know I could actually write a play!" when mentoring, and I can see how proud of them selves they are. Parents who come to the staged readings are often teary-eyed they are so proud of their child's achievement. It is truly a moving experience for everyone involved and I know we've all helped make a difference in everyone's lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers