Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.978725
Write A Review
October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It was thanks to Dusty's Riders that I was able to learn everything there is to know about horses. Learning how to feed a horse, knowing where the many different body parts, and even given the opportunity to ride. I have lost track of how many times I've gone to Dusty's Riders but I have to say it was a new and different experience EVERY time and I absolutely LOVE this organization. From doing a different activity because the weather is not in our favor, to taking a new trail, to even moving to a new location. Dusty's Riders give kids a chance to grow, learn, and explore. Sarah along with her volunteers dedicate and sacrifice their Saturdays to spend with the kids in hopes of giving them a new experience that they can remember forever.
October 7, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 21, 2013

Sarah is Amazing! She is very patient and enjoys seeing our kids eyes and hearts open up to Dusty. It's a great trip that our kids never forget. more

October 7, 2014

Dustys is a great program for kids. We really enjoy being with Sarah, Dusty and the great volunteers she recruits. The day is well worth it for the children and for the staff who supervise on the trip. The best part of the day is how we spend a few minutes reflecting about the ride and how each horse has its personality.
September 21, 2013

Sarah is Amazing! She is very patient and enjoys seeing our kids eyes and hearts open up to Dusty. It's a great trip that our kids never forget.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

Dusty's Riders Organization is a great therapeutic program for my high at risk kids. HYC has been working with Dusty's Riders for several years and we have witness a great positive changes in the youth behavior, with the population we work. Sarah is also great with the kids. Our counseling groups are always looking forward when it comes to visiting Dusty's Riders.
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

The youth we serve have the ability to engage in a new and rewarding experience though Dusty's Riders. We are greatly appreciative of what they have offered our youth.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

This is an amazing organization. I have had the privilege of taking 2 groups of kids to share the Dusty experience. I have observed the kids in a different light and get to be part of the excitement and learning process they go through. Thank you for giving kids this wonderful opportunity.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

Dusty's Riders is a not for profit organization that get kids from the inner city and exposes them to horses. I have seen youth who participate improve their self esteem, boost moral and gain respect for others as well as themselves. I remember shy boy who rarely talked to anyone, his name was Julius. Julius was soft spoken, and lacked confidence. During one of our outings he gained the courage to feed and lead a horse. At the end of the day he eventually rode the horse, and that gave him such a boost. When he got back to our clubhouse he was a totally different young man. That summer he gained a lot of friends and joined our swim team, and eventually became team captain. The moral boost that he got really helped him out, and it transcended to other aspects in his life. This is truly a life changing program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I've been working for this organization for over 10 years and I know that this organization is always looking to expand. They have a dream to have their own ranch, if they could make that happen that will give them the opportunity impact a greater amount of youth.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I had the privilege of visiting Dusty's Riders two times this summer. Each outing included 10 youth, ages 12-18, from the Boys & Girls Club of Venice. We had an amazing time! The youth learned about Dusty, fed him carrots, groomed his coat and walked him around the ring. It was an engaging experience for all ages! Then, we enjoyed horseback riding and lunch at Shakey's. Sarah was extremely organized, patient, supportive, encouraging and fun! The youth were very grateful and excited for the experience. And, the bandanas and buttons ("I cow girl'd up!"; "I cow boy'd up!") were creative mementos to remember the day. I would certainly recommend Dusty's Riders to others!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization is amazing! My only suggestion is to improve the lunch option. As a youth development professional witnessing childhood obesity first hand, I would encourage healthier alternatives to pizza.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

Dusty's Riders has been providing a fantastic service absolutely free of charge to our organization. Three times a year, the Riders engage our children for several hours. The kids learn about horses; how to groom them, how to be safe with them and best of all, how to ride them!
Our kids have a
fantastic time. For many, this is the first time seeing a horse up close and personal. Some are a little shy or scared, but the staff at Dusty's works very hard to build confidence in the kids and at the same time, teaching kindness to other living creatures.
We are very happy to be on Dusty's list. We will rearrange our schedule if needed so that the children get a day with the horses.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I was fortunate to take several of my middle school students on a trip with Dusty' Riders last spring. It was such an AMAZING experience. My students, many of whom had never been near a horse, cherished their time learning to care for Dusty. The opportunity to ride a horse afterwards made the experience that much more. Thank you Sarah and the rest of the supporters of Dusty's Riders. You make a huge difference in the lives of kids.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

I am a sixth grade teacher at Vista Charter Middle School in Los Angeles. Dusty's Riders has given our students a life enriching opportunity that will forever stay in their hearts. Our students live in the inner city and have little or no access to enrichment activities outside of our school environment. Our Vista students were more than thrilled to brush Dusty, clean his hooves, and listen to his heartbeat. Dusty is one big giant loving horse and is wonderful with children. Our students went horseback riding in the Griffith Park trails with nothing but nature, time, and their thoughts to relish the entire experience. Listening to my students talk, laugh, share stories, and comment how "cool" the trip was; made me realize how lucky we were to be invited. We are forever grateful for the wonderful opportunity and hope to be so lucky to visit Dusty again. Thank you Dusty's Riders. You have made a powerful impact in our students. Mrs. Rochin

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers