Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

My first experience was great!!! I had the opportunity to take my daughter along with other kids from our organization and she had a blast. It was all she could talk about for the rest of the day. She now wishes to be a professional rider and to become a teacher to help other children learn to love and get over their fear of riding a horse. Her Grandma is a real cowgirl and she was so excited to tell grandma that she rode a horse!! Sarah and the other guides were amazing, patient, caring and fun!!! This program really teaches you the meaning of patience. WE LOVE DUSTY!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

This is an amazing organization. Sarah Williams, the founder of Dusty's Riders is selfless and is so passionate about changing the lives of youth in a positive way. What better way to do that for kids than with horses? I have such a blast volunteering with Dusty's Riders, and I have first hand seen kids face their fears and conquer them through riding horses, and this experience will crossover to the rest of their lives. Not only is this a great organization for the kids but for the volunteers too! It's so much much to be around Sarah, the kids, and the atmosphere of riding horses in Griffith Park is one of a kind. Thank you Dusty's Riders for an amazing opportunity for both youth and volunteers! :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I had a blast volunteering one Saturday afternoon for Dusty's Riders. It was obvious the kids really enjoyed learning about horses - they got to feed Dusty carrots, brush, and walk him. Even the kids who were nervous at first were able to face their fear when they pet Dusty and got up close to him. I was lucky enough to grow up around horses, and this experience reminded me how awe-inspiring and awesome it is to interact with an animal foreign to you for the first time. Sarah (and Dusty) could not have been sweeter or more patient!

As if the morning at the ranch wasn't fun enough, we then got to go on a trail ride together - it truly is life-changing for kids to get them out of their everyday environments, explore new surroundings and experiences, and ride a horse for the first time. I'm sure they will remember our awesome ride (well, slow walk) through Griffith Park for a long time.

Oh, and THEN, the kids get to go to Shakey's for a pizza lunch! Seriously, what a perfect day all around. Major kudos to Sarah for her organization, creativity, and passion for this initiative!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

This organization is one of the most powerful influncences I have seen on children. It shows them something that they might not have the opportunity to experience in their current situation. It is done with love, kindness and respect on many levels. I would recommend this group to anyone wanting to make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

This afternoon I saw a 8 year old girl go from asking me when the ride would be over because she was scared to not wanting to leave. It was a wonderful transformation to see and be a part of. I found out about Dusty's Riders at the Pomona horse expo and had been looking for a volunteer opportunity where I can share my love of horses with children. This program really fits the bill. The kids usually have never seen a horse let alone though of letting one eat out of their hand or getting on top of one of these great animals. The kids not only get to ride a horse but learn about them while learning about themselves. Sarah does a wonderful job running the program and gives it her all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 12, 2012

more

October 12, 2012

Sarah is an amazing woman and is always working so hard to help the children in her program! My daughter has volunteered at several of her events and I have donated to this charity also! We are so happy when the children come out with huge smiling faces & so excited! It's a great program & Sarah you are doing an awesome job! We are proud of you!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

It is a pleasure to be able to say I volunteered at Dustys. Sarah is a lovely woman who gives her all to the children who come to her. She has special gift and she shares it with each child she meets. She makes her volunteers feel like they haved helped even when they them selves are beginners with horses. As long as they are great with the kids and every one is having a great time she is happy. I wish Dustys many happy years to come because of all the smiles those years will bring to the children!Ronda Gurrea

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

To partake in Dusty's program is heartwarming and touching in many ways. My most memorable experience is the day I watched a child so fearful of being near a horse for the fist time that he refused to walk inside the coral with his friends to greet Dusty. As his friends embraced the experience of feeding, brushing and leading Dusty themselves, his desire to experience the same fun and connection with Dusty slowly developed, enough that he trusted his friends who encouraged him to join them. Not one of them teased or pushed him to do so. These young children proved to have a level of maturity and understanding that one sees little of nowadays at such an age. Throughout the day his self confidence and trust grew. He cautiously walked in the coral with Sarah and experienced volunteer, T, by his side. That day we all shared in our hearts the hope that he would overcome his fear. With Sarah, T and Dusty's patience, the change unfolded gradually before our eyes. By the days end, he had fed, brushed and ridden on horseback for an hour on the trail and expressed that he wanted to return again for another outing. The transition in this young boy's level of self confidence was magical to witness and an enlightening experience that everyone shared. After every outing I have worked I am grateful for the expressions of appreciation and thanks from the children that are shared with Sarah and us all. Their gratitude is truly sincere. What ever troubles the children face in life are forgotten during their time with Dusty. The memory of the experience goes home in their hearts to cherish and lift their spirits. Thank you Sarah and Dusty, for the touching and confidence-building experiences you create for children. ...Happy Trails, and tales, indeed! - Kathy

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012

more

October 9, 2012

I enjoy every minute of the hours I put in for Dusty's Riders. Just to see the looks of pure joy on the kids faces as they ride a horse for the fist or second time is priceless. Dusty is amazing with them and the kids just love him. Hats off to Sarah Williams and Dusty!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I learned about Dusty's Riders a few years ago through a mutual friend of mine and Sarah's, and finally was able to start volunteering this summer. I was amazed by Sarah's energy and ability to involve every kid and make each one feel special. It is such fun to watch the kids evolve throughout the day, and see the glow in their faces after the ride. Horses have such power, and I truly believe that meeting Dusty changes the lives of these kids for the better.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

reading the questionnaires the kids fill out after their day. Many say it was the best day of their lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me wish that I could make the dream of the ranch come true, so that more kids could have this wonderful experience.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers