Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

I've volunteered with Dusty's Riders a few times, and it has always been an absolute pleasure to spend the day doing so! Learning about the horses in the morning and then getting to ride in the afternoon is extremely valuable for the kids and I can't speak highly enough of the program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

Dusty's Riders is an amazing organization that takes introduces at-risk kids to horses and takes them on horseback rides through Griffith Park. I always have a great time when I volunteer. It is fun hanging out with Dusty the horse and getting to know the kids and seeing them interact with horses, sometimes for the first time. Dusty's Riders opens up a whole new world to at-risk kids and teens and gives them a huge boost of confidence.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
August 6, 2009

Fantastic Organization. All children need to be exposed to horses - to understand what it is like to care for and treat an animal with the respect and reverence they deserve. At-risk children are no... more

August 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Sarah and Dusty have a great thing going! It is nearly ridiculous to call it volunteering when really you get the wonderful opportunity to hang out with a group of excited kids, go horseback riding and spend time out in the beautiful outdoors of Southern California. Dusty's Riders meets each child on their level (an apprehensive child who isn't quite sure about this whole horseback riding thing) and then gently nudges them to take a risk and believe in themselves. By the end of the day - the kids are all laughing and surprised that they ever even considered not getting up on the horse. It is just fantastic to see kids who often have very little control over their day to day circumstances take ahold of the reins and recognize that their confidence is important. This is really just a one in a million organization that I love to volunteer with as often as I can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it so more children have access to this great organization. However, we all know that it takes more money and more people's time to make that kind of change. If you are in a position to help Dusty's Riders - do it! You are making a wonderful investment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2009

Fantastic Organization. All children need to be exposed to horses - to understand what it is like to care for and treat an animal with the respect and reverence they deserve. At-risk children are no different. I am please to have have volunteered for such a wonderful program and look forward to participating again in the future.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

to see kids gain confidence within themselves. Some kids come in nervous about working with such large and powerful animals. But, they quickly learn they are capable of working with horses when provided with the right tools and encouragement to succeed.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

Dustys riders is a wonderful nonprofit organization. I very much enjoy volunteering for them. When the the kids first arrive the majority of them are scared, apprehensive and afraid to even get close to a horse. As the day goes on; you see their confidence build and you see them interacting, relaxing and just enjoying the experience. It is valuable life lessons that they learn and will take them through life on their journey.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

This is a great volunteer opportunity. I have been volunteering with them for years and every time I go it is a wonderful experience. The children love spending time with Dusty and for many this is their first time around a horse or let alone an animal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

My first experience was great!!! I had the opportunity to take my daughter along with other kids from our organization and she had a blast. It was all she could talk about for the rest of the day. She now wishes to be a professional rider and to become a teacher to help other children learn to love and get over their fear of riding a horse. Her Grandma is a real cowgirl and she was so excited to tell grandma that she rode a horse!! Sarah and the other guides were amazing, patient, caring and fun!!! This program really teaches you the meaning of patience. WE LOVE DUSTY!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

This is an amazing organization. Sarah Williams, the founder of Dusty's Riders is selfless and is so passionate about changing the lives of youth in a positive way. What better way to do that for kids than with horses? I have such a blast volunteering with Dusty's Riders, and I have first hand seen kids face their fears and conquer them through riding horses, and this experience will crossover to the rest of their lives. Not only is this a great organization for the kids but for the volunteers too! It's so much much to be around Sarah, the kids, and the atmosphere of riding horses in Griffith Park is one of a kind. Thank you Dusty's Riders for an amazing opportunity for both youth and volunteers! :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I had a blast volunteering one Saturday afternoon for Dusty's Riders. It was obvious the kids really enjoyed learning about horses - they got to feed Dusty carrots, brush, and walk him. Even the kids who were nervous at first were able to face their fear when they pet Dusty and got up close to him. I was lucky enough to grow up around horses, and this experience reminded me how awe-inspiring and awesome it is to interact with an animal foreign to you for the first time. Sarah (and Dusty) could not have been sweeter or more patient!

As if the morning at the ranch wasn't fun enough, we then got to go on a trail ride together - it truly is life-changing for kids to get them out of their everyday environments, explore new surroundings and experiences, and ride a horse for the first time. I'm sure they will remember our awesome ride (well, slow walk) through Griffith Park for a long time.

Oh, and THEN, the kids get to go to Shakey's for a pizza lunch! Seriously, what a perfect day all around. Major kudos to Sarah for her organization, creativity, and passion for this initiative!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

This organization is one of the most powerful influncences I have seen on children. It shows them something that they might not have the opportunity to experience in their current situation. It is done with love, kindness and respect on many levels. I would recommend this group to anyone wanting to make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

This afternoon I saw a 8 year old girl go from asking me when the ride would be over because she was scared to not wanting to leave. It was a wonderful transformation to see and be a part of. I found out about Dusty's Riders at the Pomona horse expo and had been looking for a volunteer opportunity where I can share my love of horses with children. This program really fits the bill. The kids usually have never seen a horse let alone though of letting one eat out of their hand or getting on top of one of these great animals. The kids not only get to ride a horse but learn about them while learning about themselves. Sarah does a wonderful job running the program and gives it her all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers