Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I was fortunate to take several of my middle school students on a trip with Dusty' Riders last spring. It was such an AMAZING experience. My students, many of whom had never been near a horse, cherished their time learning to care for Dusty. The opportunity to ride a horse afterwards made the experience that much more. Thank you Sarah and the rest of the supporters of Dusty's Riders. You make a huge difference in the lives of kids.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

This afternoon I saw a 8 year old girl go from asking me when the ride would be over because she was scared to not wanting to leave. It was a wonderful transformation to see and be a part of. I found out about Dusty's Riders at the Pomona horse expo and had been looking for a volunteer opportunity where I can share my love of horses with children. This program really fits the bill. The kids usually have never seen a horse let alone though of letting one eat out of their hand or getting on top of one of these great animals. The kids not only get to ride a horse but learn about them while learning about themselves. Sarah does a wonderful job running the program and gives it her all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

I am a sixth grade teacher at Vista Charter Middle School in Los Angeles. Dusty's Riders has given our students a life enriching opportunity that will forever stay in their hearts. Our students live in the inner city and have little or no access to enrichment activities outside of our school environment. Our Vista students were more than thrilled to brush Dusty, clean his hooves, and listen to his heartbeat. Dusty is one big giant loving horse and is wonderful with children. Our students went horseback riding in the Griffith Park trails with nothing but nature, time, and their thoughts to relish the entire experience. Listening to my students talk, laugh, share stories, and comment how "cool" the trip was; made me realize how lucky we were to be invited. We are forever grateful for the wonderful opportunity and hope to be so lucky to visit Dusty again. Thank you Dusty's Riders. You have made a powerful impact in our students. Mrs. Rochin

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I was able to come along on a Dusty's Riders adventure with a few of my students last year with a fellow colleague. We were treated well and I think the students really got a lot out of it. Some of them had never seen a horse, let alone ride one before. Their lives were changed. What a great opportunity!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 12, 2012

more

October 12, 2012

Sarah is an amazing woman and is always working so hard to help the children in her program! My daughter has volunteered at several of her events and I have donated to this charity also! We are so happy when the children come out with huge smiling faces & so excited! It's a great program & Sarah you are doing an awesome job! We are proud of you!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

It is a pleasure to be able to say I volunteered at Dustys. Sarah is a lovely woman who gives her all to the children who come to her. She has special gift and she shares it with each child she meets. She makes her volunteers feel like they haved helped even when they them selves are beginners with horses. As long as they are great with the kids and every one is having a great time she is happy. I wish Dustys many happy years to come because of all the smiles those years will bring to the children!Ronda Gurrea

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

I started as a volunteer w/ Dusty's Riders in 2009, not fully knowing what I was getting myself into. I'm actually a little scared when it comes to horseback riding, but seeing the difference this organization is making in the lives of the kids that get to participate makes me "cowgirl up" as often as I can! The best is seeing kids come back again and again and hearing all about how their time w/ Dusty and Sarah has helped them make great choices and be brave in their everyday life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

To partake in Dusty's program is heartwarming and touching in many ways. My most memorable experience is the day I watched a child so fearful of being near a horse for the fist time that he refused to walk inside the coral with his friends to greet Dusty. As his friends embraced the experience of feeding, brushing and leading Dusty themselves, his desire to experience the same fun and connection with Dusty slowly developed, enough that he trusted his friends who encouraged him to join them. Not one of them teased or pushed him to do so. These young children proved to have a level of maturity and understanding that one sees little of nowadays at such an age. Throughout the day his self confidence and trust grew. He cautiously walked in the coral with Sarah and experienced volunteer, T, by his side. That day we all shared in our hearts the hope that he would overcome his fear. With Sarah, T and Dusty's patience, the change unfolded gradually before our eyes. By the days end, he had fed, brushed and ridden on horseback for an hour on the trail and expressed that he wanted to return again for another outing. The transition in this young boy's level of self confidence was magical to witness and an enlightening experience that everyone shared. After every outing I have worked I am grateful for the expressions of appreciation and thanks from the children that are shared with Sarah and us all. Their gratitude is truly sincere. What ever troubles the children face in life are forgotten during their time with Dusty. The memory of the experience goes home in their hearts to cherish and lift their spirits. Thank you Sarah and Dusty, for the touching and confidence-building experiences you create for children. ...Happy Trails, and tales, indeed! - Kathy

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012

more

October 9, 2012

I enjoy every minute of the hours I put in for Dusty's Riders. Just to see the looks of pure joy on the kids faces as they ride a horse for the fist or second time is priceless. Dusty is amazing with them and the kids just love him. Hats off to Sarah Williams and Dusty!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012

more

October 9, 2012

I'm the director of a middle school and Ms. Williams has been very generous with her time and resources and allowed many of our students an experience they will not soon forget.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers