Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.978725
Write A Review
October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

My first experience was great!!! I had the opportunity to take my daughter along with other kids from our organization and she had a blast. It was all she could talk about for the rest of the day. She now wishes to be a professional rider and to become a teacher to help other children learn to love and get over their fear of riding a horse. Her Grandma is a real cowgirl and she was so excited to tell grandma that she rode a horse!! Sarah and the other guides were amazing, patient, caring and fun!!! This program really teaches you the meaning of patience. WE LOVE DUSTY!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

This is an amazing organization. I have had the privilege of taking 2 groups of kids to share the Dusty experience. I have observed the kids in a different light and get to be part of the excitement and learning process they go through. Thank you for giving kids this wonderful opportunity.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

Dusty's Riders is a not for profit organization that get kids from the inner city and exposes them to horses. I have seen youth who participate improve their self esteem, boost moral and gain respect for others as well as themselves. I remember shy boy who rarely talked to anyone, his name was Julius. Julius was soft spoken, and lacked confidence. During one of our outings he gained the courage to feed and lead a horse. At the end of the day he eventually rode the horse, and that gave him such a boost. When he got back to our clubhouse he was a totally different young man. That summer he gained a lot of friends and joined our swim team, and eventually became team captain. The moral boost that he got really helped him out, and it transcended to other aspects in his life. This is truly a life changing program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I've been working for this organization for over 10 years and I know that this organization is always looking to expand. They have a dream to have their own ranch, if they could make that happen that will give them the opportunity impact a greater amount of youth.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

This is an amazing organization. Sarah Williams, the founder of Dusty's Riders is selfless and is so passionate about changing the lives of youth in a positive way. What better way to do that for kids than with horses? I have such a blast volunteering with Dusty's Riders, and I have first hand seen kids face their fears and conquer them through riding horses, and this experience will crossover to the rest of their lives. Not only is this a great organization for the kids but for the volunteers too! It's so much much to be around Sarah, the kids, and the atmosphere of riding horses in Griffith Park is one of a kind. Thank you Dusty's Riders for an amazing opportunity for both youth and volunteers! :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I had the privilege of visiting Dusty's Riders two times this summer. Each outing included 10 youth, ages 12-18, from the Boys & Girls Club of Venice. We had an amazing time! The youth learned about Dusty, fed him carrots, groomed his coat and walked him around the ring. It was an engaging experience for all ages! Then, we enjoyed horseback riding and lunch at Shakey's. Sarah was extremely organized, patient, supportive, encouraging and fun! The youth were very grateful and excited for the experience. And, the bandanas and buttons ("I cow girl'd up!"; "I cow boy'd up!") were creative mementos to remember the day. I would certainly recommend Dusty's Riders to others!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization is amazing! My only suggestion is to improve the lunch option. As a youth development professional witnessing childhood obesity first hand, I would encourage healthier alternatives to pizza.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

Dusty's Riders has been providing a fantastic service absolutely free of charge to our organization. Three times a year, the Riders engage our children for several hours. The kids learn about horses; how to groom them, how to be safe with them and best of all, how to ride them!
Our kids have a
fantastic time. For many, this is the first time seeing a horse up close and personal. Some are a little shy or scared, but the staff at Dusty's works very hard to build confidence in the kids and at the same time, teaching kindness to other living creatures.
We are very happy to be on Dusty's list. We will rearrange our schedule if needed so that the children get a day with the horses.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I had a blast volunteering one Saturday afternoon for Dusty's Riders. It was obvious the kids really enjoyed learning about horses - they got to feed Dusty carrots, brush, and walk him. Even the kids who were nervous at first were able to face their fear when they pet Dusty and got up close to him. I was lucky enough to grow up around horses, and this experience reminded me how awe-inspiring and awesome it is to interact with an animal foreign to you for the first time. Sarah (and Dusty) could not have been sweeter or more patient!

As if the morning at the ranch wasn't fun enough, we then got to go on a trail ride together - it truly is life-changing for kids to get them out of their everyday environments, explore new surroundings and experiences, and ride a horse for the first time. I'm sure they will remember our awesome ride (well, slow walk) through Griffith Park for a long time.

Oh, and THEN, the kids get to go to Shakey's for a pizza lunch! Seriously, what a perfect day all around. Major kudos to Sarah for her organization, creativity, and passion for this initiative!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I was at the ranch one day when Sarah and her Volunteers brought out some kids. It was really amazing to see the looks on the faces of these kids who had probably never seen a horse in person before, and I would bet had never been to a ranch before. It really put things in perspective. Keep up the great works DUSTY'S RIDERS!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

This organization is one of the most powerful influncences I have seen on children. It shows them something that they might not have the opportunity to experience in their current situation. It is done with love, kindness and respect on many levels. I would recommend this group to anyone wanting to make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I was fortunate to take several of my middle school students on a trip with Dusty' Riders last spring. It was such an AMAZING experience. My students, many of whom had never been near a horse, cherished their time learning to care for Dusty. The opportunity to ride a horse afterwards made the experience that much more. Thank you Sarah and the rest of the supporters of Dusty's Riders. You make a huge difference in the lives of kids.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers