Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.978725
Write A Review
October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It was thanks to Dusty's Riders that I was able to learn everything there is to know about horses. Learning how to feed a horse, knowing where the many different body parts, and even given the opportunity to ride. I have lost track of how many times I've gone to Dusty's Riders but I have to say it was a new and different experience EVERY time and I absolutely LOVE this organization. From doing a different activity because the weather is not in our favor, to taking a new trail, to even moving to a new location. Dusty's Riders give kids a chance to grow, learn, and explore. Sarah along with her volunteers dedicate and sacrifice their Saturdays to spend with the kids in hopes of giving them a new experience that they can remember forever.
October 7, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 21, 2013

Sarah is Amazing! She is very patient and enjoys seeing our kids eyes and hearts open up to Dusty. It's a great trip that our kids never forget. more

October 7, 2014

Dustys is a great program for kids. We really enjoy being with Sarah, Dusty and the great volunteers she recruits. The day is well worth it for the children and for the staff who supervise on the trip. The best part of the day is how we spend a few minutes reflecting about the ride and how each horse has its personality.
September 21, 2013

Sarah is Amazing! She is very patient and enjoys seeing our kids eyes and hearts open up to Dusty. It's a great trip that our kids never forget.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

Dusty's Riders Organization is a great therapeutic program for my high at risk kids. HYC has been working with Dusty's Riders for several years and we have witness a great positive changes in the youth behavior, with the population we work. Sarah is also great with the kids. Our counseling groups are always looking forward when it comes to visiting Dusty's Riders.
August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

I've volunteered with Dusty's Riders a few times, and it has always been an absolute pleasure to spend the day doing so! Learning about the horses in the morning and then getting to ride in the afternoon is extremely valuable for the kids and I can't speak highly enough of the program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

Dusty's Riders is an amazing organization that takes introduces at-risk kids to horses and takes them on horseback rides through Griffith Park. I always have a great time when I volunteer. It is fun hanging out with Dusty the horse and getting to know the kids and seeing them interact with horses, sometimes for the first time. Dusty's Riders opens up a whole new world to at-risk kids and teens and gives them a huge boost of confidence.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
August 6, 2009

Fantastic Organization. All children need to be exposed to horses - to understand what it is like to care for and treat an animal with the respect and reverence they deserve. At-risk children are no... more

August 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Sarah and Dusty have a great thing going! It is nearly ridiculous to call it volunteering when really you get the wonderful opportunity to hang out with a group of excited kids, go horseback riding and spend time out in the beautiful outdoors of Southern California. Dusty's Riders meets each child on their level (an apprehensive child who isn't quite sure about this whole horseback riding thing) and then gently nudges them to take a risk and believe in themselves. By the end of the day - the kids are all laughing and surprised that they ever even considered not getting up on the horse. It is just fantastic to see kids who often have very little control over their day to day circumstances take ahold of the reins and recognize that their confidence is important. This is really just a one in a million organization that I love to volunteer with as often as I can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it so more children have access to this great organization. However, we all know that it takes more money and more people's time to make that kind of change. If you are in a position to help Dusty's Riders - do it! You are making a wonderful investment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2009

Fantastic Organization. All children need to be exposed to horses - to understand what it is like to care for and treat an animal with the respect and reverence they deserve. At-risk children are no different. I am please to have have volunteered for such a wonderful program and look forward to participating again in the future.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

to see kids gain confidence within themselves. Some kids come in nervous about working with such large and powerful animals. But, they quickly learn they are capable of working with horses when provided with the right tools and encouragement to succeed.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

Dustys riders is a wonderful nonprofit organization. I very much enjoy volunteering for them. When the the kids first arrive the majority of them are scared, apprehensive and afraid to even get close to a horse. As the day goes on; you see their confidence build and you see them interacting, relaxing and just enjoying the experience. It is valuable life lessons that they learn and will take them through life on their journey.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

This is a great volunteer opportunity. I have been volunteering with them for years and every time I go it is a wonderful experience. The children love spending time with Dusty and for many this is their first time around a horse or let alone an animal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 12, 2009

Dusty's Riders program has been a great program for our members at the Boys and Girls Club of West San Gabriel Valley, our members enjoy every aspect of this program,from Dusty , horseback riding, sle... more

August 14, 2014

Dusty's riders is a Fantastic program, which teaches kids and adults of all ages about the wonderful world of horses. Many of these kids may have never being able to be on horse, let alone being able to afford to ride a horse. FANTASTIC PROGRAM , SARAH and DUSTY!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2009

Dusty's Riders program has been a great program for our members at the Boys and Girls Club of West San Gabriel Valley, our members enjoy every aspect of this program,from Dusty , horseback riding, sleepovers, Rancho Oso,etc. Our staff enjoy the outings

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

our members lives, many of our members can not afford such or never been on a horse before, this is a great experience for them!

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

The youth we serve have the ability to engage in a new and rewarding experience though Dusty's Riders. We are greatly appreciative of what they have offered our youth.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers