Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
123.445
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 27, 2013

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
January 15, 2013

As a former employee of DU, I would bet that Ducks Unlimited is the most corrupt non-profit in America. All of their good employees and lead volunteers have left; their membership nationwide has dropp... more

March 27, 2013

In response to Ducksupporter's comments, the numbers he quotes on membership and acres conserved are in error. This is exactly the kind of Koolaid DU gives it's volunteers.

If you really want to find out how bad DU is, go talk to someone that used to work for them. It does not bode well
for an organization when all former employees bad mouth the organization.

DU has become the laughing stock of the "critter" non profits. There are so many better, ethical organizations for you guys to volunteer for and support.

It's a miracle that Charity Navigator even gave them 2 stars.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 15, 2013

As a former employee of DU, I would bet that Ducks Unlimited is the most corrupt non-profit in America. All of their good employees and lead volunteers have left; their membership nationwide has dropped so low they will not publish the numbers; they cook their books so hard it would make the former CFO of Enron blush and their biologists understand that, because their projects are so small in scope, they have no impact on helping waterfowl - They simply can not handle "landscape" size initiatives like The Nature Conservancy. The only reason DU exists is to provide salaries to 6 executives, 50 support employees and about 40 biologists. Anyone who thinks DU really has a mission that involves waterfowl and wetlands conservation is just kidding themselves. It is so sad and unfortunate how the volunteers are duped. If any of the hunting magazines need information on waterfowl numbers or conservation, they go to Delta Waterfowl - DU has disappeared as an authoritative source. DU is truly a despicable and unethical organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

February 20, 2013

Referencing the highly inaccurate/deceptive review by Jack Reynolds on this site:

Per my research, there is no former DU employee by that name. DU is very proud of their 544,086 adult members found across the U.S., and does publish that figure quite regularly. DU financials are carefully
audited and verified each year. Further, DU's staff, supporters, partners and thousands of volunteers have conserved more than 13 million acres of wetlands and associated habitats in the organization's 76 years. DU is among the largest, mort effective and most respected conservation organizations in the world, and the more than 1/2 million members of DU couldn't be more proud. Those facts are accurate. Mr. Reynold's review is so inaccurate and misleading that it should be removed immediately as a false review.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2011

I have been with Ducks Unlimited as a grassroots donor and volunteer since 1988. I have came through the volunteer ranks and I am very proud of what DU has accomplished over the years before and since I joined them. We are a proud group of volunteers asking only for a better outdoors for our children and grandchildren. I am proud to say that our efficiency is so high as all of the officers are strictly volunteers also. Hence our ability to put money on the ground. For more info on our group please visit www.ducks.org . And if you are interested in supporting us or joining as a volunteer in our mission please check the tabs on that site.

Dale Borske
Michigan Ducks Unlimited State Treasurer

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My personal outdoor experiences. Living on Saginaw Bay on Lake Huron there are many projects that DU is involved in. Nothing is so satisfying as watching wildlife using the lands we have helped to obtain and restore.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make more people aware of our mission and accomplishments and get them to join us in our endeavors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes I met many dedicated people and they have become personal friends over the years.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like I have put something back into the outdoors instead of just reaping the benefits. It is a great feeling that needs no accolades.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 3, 2011

more

March 3, 2011

I have been a volunteer with Ducks Unlimited for many years and have held numerous positions, both as a "worker bee" and in a leadership role. I started volunteering when I saw that the funds that were used for conservation programs have always made up at least 85% of funds raisied.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the difference made in marshes and wetlands on the Gulf Coast and the efforts to conserve and restore wetlands.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that the fund raising staff was given training on making presentations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Simplify staff goals when it comes to fundraising.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have met people from all over North America and many have become good friends. It is an organization that attempts to engender a "family atmosphere" among volunteers.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Great. Seeing and being with like minded volunteers makes being part of the volunteer organization of Ducks Unlimited truly specisl.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers