Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.809525
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

The name Dress for Success doesn't do this organization justice. The people of Dress for Success understand that the transition to self-sufficiency may start with having a professional appearance and looking good on the outside, but it takes so much more than that to be successful for the long run. The ongoing support network and programs they offer boost self esteem, improve life and coping skills, and encourage the women to overcome obstructions and be their very best. I've supported Dress for Success Pittsburgh and the Worldwide organization in many ways over the years. Changing the life of one woman can change the future of an entire family. I encourage anyone who wants to stop the often generational cycle of dependency on public assistance to get involved as a donor or volunteer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Want them to get more recognition for their ongoing support efforts and the need for funding to improve those programs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I teach a Job Readiness class for the Going Places Network. DFS Pittsburgh provides a wealth of resources and information to its clients. The networking opportunities for job seekers are invaluable. I would recommend DFS Pittsburgh for any job seeker or other social service agencies.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I went through Dress for Success’ Going Places Networking program and it help me become more professionally confident. Also, the staffs are great mentors, and I know I can go to them for guidance on anything.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I started volunteering at Dress for Success for a class in social work. As a student, I have few flexible hours and sometimes unexpected events cropping up (much to my displeasure). I'll admit, I was surprise. Surprised by how dedicated Christie was to all the clients who came in, taking care of each and every one of them like paying customers. Surprised by how many people they are able to reach out to. Surprised by not just the clothing offered, but the services as well. I was able to work when I could, where I could--which quickly became whenever I had a spare moment. This organization is an active movement towards women's empowerment. Start with something universal, like that first impression, and then boiling it down into skill sets such as how to speak and conduct oneself while in a professional environment. Also, money management courses to help women get better control over their life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We have the awesome wo-man power, we just need more hanging and shoe racks to organize clothes in storage so that we are able to get exactly what the client needs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I was here at Dress for Success Pittsburgh for about 9 months as a volunteer. Getting to know everything I know about DFS has been a experience for me. You couldn't tell me I would be doing this,but I like putting smiles on peoples faces, jus to know that I can help out in there time of need, that puts a smile on my face also. I love what I do here..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I was on the Board for two years (2010 to 2012) then moved to an active volunteer status. I first hand witnessed how the organization helps women not only with clothing but being successful in their professional and personal lives as well, by developing the whole person. It is a rewarding experience to be a part of over the years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

As a donor and staff member at Dress for Success Pittsburgh, I see the impact we have on our female clients on a daily basis. We initially start with clothing assistance, but the magic begins when our ladies are actively engaged in personal and professional development programs so they can maintain a job, enhance their career skills and become positive role models for their children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 12, 2013

more

February 12, 2013

Dress for Success changes the lives of the clients served. The organization does much more for these women than provide a suit for interviewing. Dress for Success empowers women to take control of their professional and personal lives by providing the skills and support required to interview effectively, to obtain and maintain a job, and to be successful in all facets of life. As a board member, I find my time and effort rewarding - I can see that Dress for Success is making a difference!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 11, 2013

more

February 11, 2013

As both a volunteer and a board member, I have seen up-close the work that happens at Dress for Success Pittsburgh. I can't say enough about the impact the organization has on the women we serve. Finding a job and playing an active role to grow in that job take time, energy, commitment and sometimes a little help from others. DFS Pittsburgh - volunteers, staff, board, advisory boards - offer that help and guidance to our clients day after day. I applaud the hard work of everyone involved - especially our clients! - and am proud to be part of this fabulous group.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

After my company closed its doors, I was a little lost. Dress For Success gave me that positive reinforcement that job seekers need, as well as a kicking outfit. With my great profolio and interviewing skills , I landed a new job. As part of DFS, I am passing on information and creating a positive image of success.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers