Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.89135
Write A Review
August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

A big thank you to Tom and your whole organization for a wonderful water ski day...our son, has been attending for many years and looks forward to the day. The word LOVE was shown all day, by the delightful, helpful Hosts, the food crew, the boat drivers and helpers in the water, the fishing volunteers, who made him feel so good, with every catch!! It was a relaxing day for the parents too, as our children were well taken care of by their Hosts. Thank you for giving these young people the opportunity to be like everyone else, if only for a day. He took home many stories and of course, a tattoo to show his friends!! Looking forward to next year...thank you

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

Our family just attended the Dreams for Kids Extreme Recess adaptive waterskiing event in Twin Lakes, WI and it was a blast!! Our son is not able to experience standing up to waterski so a few years ago, we were invited to attend a waterskiing event where our son waterskied FOR THE FIRST TIME! This was his third year to ski and he loved it so much he didn't want to leave until he got "one more chance" to ski!! All the selfless Dreams for Kids team and volunteers are so giving and want everyone to have a great time. It is so impressive how dedicated they are to bringing joy to those with disabilities and they don't stop there. They also are so helpful to the families and provide fun for every member. We really appreciate the generosity and hearts of all involved!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

Dreams For Kids directly makes an impact in the lives of kids in need. They replace charity with opportunity in the sense that they enable children to achieve goals by providing them with the tools to do so.

Several years back I started volunteering with Dreams For Kids. I have a sister
with autism, and after I had done a couple of events with them, they invited her out to be a guest. We've had some amazing experiences, and done things neither of us thought possible!

This is one of the most hard working, down to earth, friendly and fun groups I've ever been a part of who make a direct impact in children's lives. I feel so grateful that me and my family are a part of it and we hope to continue our involvement with them for years to come. Highly recommended on all levels.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This was my family's second year at Extreme Recess and once again they did an amazing job! My entire family enjoyed the day but most of all my 8 year old with special needs. This organization does an exceptional job going beyond expectations in accommodating families with special needs children all you had to do was look at the faces of all the children participating and see the joy and what great work they were doing. This year my son decided to try the water skiing . The staff and volunteers were so patient and encouraging even though it took 30 min for him to work up the courage. After his ride he told everyone it was the best day off his life. Thank you so much for making that moment possible .

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

My son & I attended the Extreme Recess last week for the first time. He had a blast! My 12 year old son has special needs, so there aren't many extra curricular activities available for him, so anytime I hear of one we are all over it. What a great event! Everyone was so attentive, pleasant, patient, friendly & most important excepting. What a great event! I'd like to thank everyone involved in this event , especially our helper Ryan for the day. This to me was a success, my son had a smile the entire day & a pleasant sleep on the ride home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 5, 2013

We had 6 fantastic hours @ Extrreme Recess hosted by Dreams for kids. 6 fantastic hours that were better than a 7 day vacation. NEVER have my child & I been welcome & cared for by such an incredible ... more

August 7, 2013

For 1 day every year, me & my Joe are on vacation & we are lucky to spend our vacation within the the family Tom Toughy -created through "Dreams For Kids" & "Extreme Recess"


For 1 amazing day me & my 10 yr old son Joe are surrounded by total acceptance & help & comfort & fun &
adventure.


For 1 amazing day a year we are at ease.


To see my son experience the joy & pride of water sports, navigating the BBQ buffet with his "friend / volunteer", waiting his turn & actually helping another child is beyond thrilling.


Joe is a very sassy, smart, funny kid with autism. & like every family welcomed to Extreme Recess we have our challenges.


Autism if brutal & hard & my son is an amazing kid. & My son's father is dead & my son's life is hard. & we go to Extreme Recess & land in the most amazing place!


1 day a year at Extreme Recess:

Total acceptance, positive peer models - seeing father's & adult males "showing up" & high fiving & cheering my son!


& Joe seeing the pleasure of doing & giving to others & so lucky to be on the receiving end of so much generosity!


Vacation:

Family

Fun

Acceptance

Love

Gratitude



P.S. To our volunteer Ciara - THANK YOU! You are amazing & patient & kind & we will not soon forget!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More events!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

We had 6 fantastic hours @ Extrreme Recess hosted by Dreams for kids.
6 fantastic hours that were better than a 7 day vacation.

NEVER have my child & I been welcome & cared for by such an incredible staff.

To most children / familes a day @ the beach is exactly what is
implied. A day @ the beach. Although my son & I have been to many beaches, our true & first day @ the beach, was with Extreme Recess hosted by Dreams for Kids Twin Lakes WI 2012.

& We are looking forward to Extreme Recess 2013

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

There are no words to adequately express my gratitude for Dreams for Kids. My son Matthew has so many fears which Dreams for Kids and its wonderful volunteers have helped to overcome. Still, the fear of going down a snow mountain was not only great but very much justified. Therefore, I was dumbfounded when he kept insisting that he wanted to do it, and on regular skis no less. Naturally we were all careful. Dreams for Kids volunteer Dave took Matthew on the smallest of the bunny hills and he alone went down the slope with Matthew. If you could see the stars in Matthew's eyes, it was a magical moment. They did it a few times but Matthew was not satisfied and insisted on going on a bigger hill, and so they did, two volunteers at that time. I must say I absolutely adore Dave, he kept taking Matthew up the slopes so many times, and it is hard for me to stop Matthew from having fun. Finally they all tired and when thought safe to let go of Matthew, they started talking. Matthew jumped at this opportunity and pushed himself to glide in the direction of a small slope. OMG, I ran after him thinking he'd be afraid. He was not, he was elated. Everybody stood stunned. It was a moment I will never forget. Of course he did not know how to take turns so I had to help, but let me tell you, this sight is so fresh in my mind as if it just happened. For days and weeks afterward Matthew begged me to go skiing again. There is no doubt we will be at the next skiing event and expect that Matthew will surprise as all.

Thank you, thank you, and again thank you. If it weren't for Dreams for Kids my son would never know he could ski, water ski, climb rocks, and many other physical pursuits he so enjoyed that Dreams for Kids staff made possible for him.

Elizabeth Halemba
A Proud Mom to Matthew

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

My son has been an active member of Dream for kids for about 9 years now. He was born with a physical disability and I’m so grateful for this organization for giving us hope.
We were accepted with open arms and my son has gained the confidence he needs to become an active member of his High
School. My son has taken part in both the Water Ski and Snow Ski . His disability has never been an issue and he is able to take part in sports like any other child his age. I fully support and have great gratitude for all the work Dream for Kids has done to help children with exceptionalities!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

I am the mother of a 12 year-old boy with autism. Finding recreational opportunities for my son and our a family is very challenging to say the least, and then we found Extreme Recess! Spencer had the amazing experience of snow skiing this winter, something that I would have never thought possible. Dreams For Kids/Extreme Recess not only provided a great day of skiing, it gave me renewed hope for the future - anything is possible! The sky is the limit for my guy! The Extreme Recess volunteers and staff were not only only knowledgeable, but displayed a level of compassion and patience that was heart-warming. Can't wait for the the summer ski program at Twin Lakes!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Dreams for Kids, Inc. allowed my 8 year old daughter the opportunity to ski both on water and snow for the first time a couple years ago. They made Jaiden's dreams become a reality. I cannot put into words what it feels like when you see your child out of her wheelchair, flying down a snow hill smiling and screaming in excitement from ear to ear. I cannot describe to you in words that feeling, I only tears of joy. This was a dream I didn't know would ever be possible when I heard the diagnosis of cerebral palsy years ago.

Seeing a boat pier full of empty wheelchairs and watching those children in tubes and water skis pulled behind boats are all dreams becoming real. Dreams for Kids, Inc. events are a highlight for my family every single year and with every event. On the day of the events, it is the few times all year that my daughter and our family forget about cerebral palsy.

Dreams for Kids, Inc. is a truly amazing organization, making dreams happen is what they do. They also help children of all ages and disabilities believe in themselves. Dreams really can come true and this organization is proof of that.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Speak with our youth in a classroom or after school, volunteer at an Extreme Recess event, host a toy drive for Holiday for Hope. Volunteer