Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.888895
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
September 29, 2012

more

September 29, 2012

The Internet can do wonders because that's exactly how I found out about Dreams for Kids. I was impressed and moved by the mission behind this particular organization that I had to be a part of it. This past summer, I was fortunate to intern with Dreams for Kids in Chicago. I can easily say that the events I attended along with the work I did in the office was one of the best times I've spent in a summer. Everything Dreams for Kids does is more than words can express. It's not just a non-profit organization, but a great, big family. And I am so happy and grateful to have been a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Inspired to "be the change I want to see"

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I was first Interduced to Dreams for Kids in 2008 while at the Illinios Center for Rehabilition and Education By Ron Rispoli I will never forget the feeling I had when he asked If I'd ever water skied before? My whole face lit up as I said " No but I'm willing to try! Then the monent came as the other kids and I were getting off the bus. Out loud I said to myself "Oh my god, today I don't have to be on the side!" Boy was that an understatement, That day turned my whole life into something new! Within a few weeks Ron came up to me in the hallway at ICRE. He asked "Are you inerested in a program called Dream Leaders?" Of Course, I said "Yes " Then he interduced me to Abby Kritzler the head of Dream Leaders. Abby had us do all kinds of things form whatching videos to saving bake sales to showing us just how much of impact we had on the world! That was when I realized just what I wanted the world to know. " Just because I'm differnent it doesn't mean I you have to be scraced" If this wasn't enough, One night she pulled me aside and to my surpirise offered me an internship and just like that I was part of of the Dream Team! I kept asking myself," How did this happen?" I then I rememered back to the day Ron asked, "Carrie have you ever been to Twin Lakes before?'' To this day if it was not for that one question someone asked I would not know who Tom Tuohy is or know just how much one day can change someone's life forever. Without Dreams for Kids I don't know who I wanted to be but, now almost five years later I might not know where I'm headed but I have pretty idea of who I am. Thanks to all who helped along the way!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

I have been with and seen the growth of Dreams For Kids since my years in High School. They have done some tremendous work for the community of Chicago and now that they have branched out to Washington D.C. and even to Canada excites me. I believe in the work they do. Dreams For Kids is more than just a non-for-profit. They are a positive family that really sees to it that the people around them have a great time and are learning as well. The past summer I interned for them and I had a terrific experience from the events that we attended to the hilarious moments in the office. It's a great place to be and a great place to start when you want to give back to your community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
June 28, 2012

Dreams for Kids is so refreshing! This organization reinforces the good in the world, spreading the seeds of success and hope for a child or young adult to grow into a leader.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 8, 2009

more

September 8, 2009

Dreams for Kids' focus on empowerment is amazing, the ability to teach youth to promote change and overcome hardships and disability is an astounding and important goal. Dreams for Kids truly empowers the youth that it touches.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

amazing! the people who volunteer and staff Dreams for Kids are some of the most dedicated and passionate people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

change the world

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

September 4, 2009

more

September 4, 2009

Dreams for Kids is an awesome place to work because not only are you gaining real world experience but you are also helping to create a great change. It is inspirational to see the hard work of all the staff come together for events and conferences. Also, the rewards for working for such a great company is far beyond gaining experience when you actually get to meet the children with whom we run programs with and really see how we are making a change.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

When I got the chance to volunteer at the Illinois Center for Rehabilitation and Education (ICRE) I got to meet the teens and work with them one on one. It was a rewarding experience but it also allowed me to see how our work was put into play.

Ways to make it better...

I had known more interns. I came into the office throughout the summer and did not know any of the new interns that were hired. It was rather awkward sitting in a room full of people I didn't know especially when I had been working there longer than them.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Speak with our youth in a classroom or after school, volunteer at an Extreme Recess event, host a toy drive for Holiday for Hope. Volunteer