Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.888895
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 5, 2013

more

August 5, 2013

I was honored to be a part of the Dreams for Kids team for two months. They have a very welcoming and great team who are dedicated to service. Even though my internship with them has ended, I am certain that I have made long life friends and family and I will continue to work with them from wherever life takes me. Having attended Extreme Recess for the first time, I was touched by how happy and carefree the kids with disabilities were. It was great to see them enjoy the day and appreciate the simple joys life has to offer with no limitations. I come from Zambia where there are a lot of people who are in need of help. Seeing the work that Dreams for Kids is doing in reaching out was inspiring for me to start Holiday for Hope in my country. I learnt ways in which I can reach out to the community for help and Tom told me even if only one child shows up, I shouldn't lose hope but work towards a better turn out the next time and as I will be 'changing the world one person at a time'.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let more people know about this great organization and get them to volunteer and help as much as they can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Dreams for Kids is an amazing organization that provides opportunities for children who need it the most. They focus on what the child CAN do, rather than what they cannot do. The positive environment throughout the organization inspires everyone involved to be the best they can be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Dreams for Kids is a fantastic non-profit! I participated with them during this last summer. At every single event I helped out with the kids always left with giggles and grinning from ear to ear. Dreams for Kids truly makes a difference in children's lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012

more

October 9, 2012

Few companies or organizations act more or with more nobel motives than Dreams For Kids. DFK was a phenomenal fit for me because its mission aligned with my passion: spread opportunity to all children of all backgrounds, race, creed, ability... and allow them to fearlessly pursue their dreams. I am incredibly fortunate to have grown up in a cohesive, close, and objectively well off family. Because of this I have enjoyed my childhood very much; and I know that every kid in the world deserves the chance to also greatly enjoy their youth through support and the provision of opportunities that can lead them to succeed and follow their dreams later in life. This is Dreams For Kids: the national-award-winning Dream Leaders program that provides at-risk youth with the opportunities to help others while teaching critical thinking and business skills and encouraging college attendance; or the countless programs like Extreme Recess that allows many youth with disabilities their first chance to participate in sports and learn lessons that athletics instill; or providing children in nearly 100 countries with their first real Christmas celebration (and it is quite a celebration). It was an incredible experience working and seeing real results and as rewarding a summer as I will ever have. Few missions are more pure or admirable than DFK's looking to provide equal opportunities and support to all youth of the world; and I could not be more proud to say I was a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2012

more

October 8, 2012

I have been involved with Dreams for Kids for many years and I have found it to be the best group of people I have had the priviledge to know. They are the most dedicated and generous people in the nonprofit communtiy. I have been to many of the events and each time I tell myself I must do more with this organization. I'm glad that an organization like Great Nonprofits can tell their story.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2012

more

October 7, 2012

In 1989, I was first introduced to Dreams For Kids at the first Christmas party at Clara's house. That will be a day I will NEVER forget. To see the joy this organization was able to bring to this homeless shelter was magical. I have seen the Dream Leaders program and it was amazing to see so many teens empowered..(I also felt empowered as I attended a parent session)...With the Extreme Recess program, I have attended tennis, baseball, water skiing and downhill snow skiing. WOW! While at these events, I have seen some of the biggest smiles I have ever seen! I have seen children experience things that would often be near impossible without this program. The Holiday for Hope party has grown so much since the first gathering. It is now taking place all over the world. The number of people who are positively touched by DREAMS FOR KIDS is staggering. I know that these children feel so rewarded by this program..As a volunteer, I too feel rewarded. Thank you Dreams for Kids!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

We love this organization! All are welcome, encouraged to participate in the programs like Extreme Water Sports and the Holiday Party. My sons and I have volunteered for both and the choir from our church has welcomed Holiday Party-ers for a number of years with Christmas Carols. We leave feeling we've been given the gift! And every year some one says "Now it's Christmas"! As for the EWS, there is nothing like the look on the child's face as the adaptive-ski is pulled through the water…sheer joy! Dreams for Kids redefines "differently abled" every day! Continue the good work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

Dreams for Kids is great at talking about programs....but, in reality they do very few events. Tom Tuohy has a huge ego, doesn't appear to even really like kids.....other then when he can get a photo opportunity or when he has a microphone. The Christimas Party is nice, but DFK always overstates the number of kids at the event. Wake up, the Chicago Park District, Adaptive Adventures, Rehab Instititure of Chicago, Shriners, Great Lakes Adapted Sports Association, and the Midwest Sport and Social Club all have more programs in one month then Dreams does in an entire year!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

Dreams for Kids is an amazing non-profit that transforms lives on a daily basis. In the 3 years, I have worked with the organization each year I have learned more about myself than I could have imagined. I first came upon Dreams for Kids through a forum post by our former director Abby Krtizler. She was excited to tell me about the dream leaders conference during which I would learn about leadership development and helping people. Well that Friday arrived and I can assure you the dream leaders conference went far beyond anything I was expecting to experience. The endless smiles, laughter and excitement was something to see. This was vastly different than where I am from where teens and smiles and laughter often do not mix. The difference that I noticed between the two groups of people is that with the dream leaders they where empowered to make a difference.

Everywhere I turned there were teens doing something to make a difference in someone’s life. You can take for example Kelly Mak, who started a Dreams for Kids club at Whitney Young or the endless numbers of kids Glenbrook South High School who started an Extreme Recess event at their school. I was so empowered to make a difference that I decided to teach a workshop on leadership development and public speaking to youth from Iraq. The paying it forward motto that keeps kids empowered to make a difference no matter where we are from. It is the knowing that we each have something to give to give to somewhere. As Tom Tuohy says, the motto is simple “it’s kids helping kids.” This motto has kept me involved far beyond my expected time and has even leaded me to starting a Dreams for Kids club here at DePaul University. Dreams for Kids goes far beyond its mission and empowers youth of all walks of life, it is an organization that I am honored to be a part of.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2012

more

September 30, 2012

Dreams for Kids was first introduced to me when I was applying for internships in Washington DC. After going through multiple websites of organizations and multiple interviews I wasn't blown away by any of them. Then I came across DFK and I knew I HAD to get this internship. Long story short I got the internship with them and was on my 6 hour drive down to Washington DC from Syracuse NY not knowing my entire life was about to do a 180. Working for Dreams for Kids changed my life. I made incredible friends and met amazing individuals. The work they do with Extreme Recess and Holiday for Hope is truly unbelievable. I will ALWAYS be there to support DFK in any little way that I can!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Speak with our youth in a classroom or after school, volunteer at an Extreme Recess event, host a toy drive for Holiday for Hope. Volunteer