Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.89135
Write A Review
August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

My son & I attended the Extreme Recess last week for the first time. He had a blast! My 12 year old son has special needs, so there aren't many extra curricular activities available for him, so anytime I hear of one we are all over it. What a great event! Everyone was so attentive, pleasant, patient, friendly & most important excepting. What a great event! I'd like to thank everyone involved in this event , especially our helper Ryan for the day. This to me was a success, my son had a smile the entire day & a pleasant sleep on the ride home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 5, 2013

We had 6 fantastic hours @ Extrreme Recess hosted by Dreams for kids. 6 fantastic hours that were better than a 7 day vacation. NEVER have my child & I been welcome & cared for by such an incredible ... more

August 7, 2013

For 1 day every year, me & my Joe are on vacation & we are lucky to spend our vacation within the the family Tom Toughy -created through "Dreams For Kids" & "Extreme Recess"


For 1 amazing day me & my 10 yr old son Joe are surrounded by total acceptance & help & comfort & fun &
adventure.


For 1 amazing day a year we are at ease.


To see my son experience the joy & pride of water sports, navigating the BBQ buffet with his "friend / volunteer", waiting his turn & actually helping another child is beyond thrilling.


Joe is a very sassy, smart, funny kid with autism. & like every family welcomed to Extreme Recess we have our challenges.


Autism if brutal & hard & my son is an amazing kid. & My son's father is dead & my son's life is hard. & we go to Extreme Recess & land in the most amazing place!


1 day a year at Extreme Recess:

Total acceptance, positive peer models - seeing father's & adult males "showing up" & high fiving & cheering my son!


& Joe seeing the pleasure of doing & giving to others & so lucky to be on the receiving end of so much generosity!


Vacation:

Family

Fun

Acceptance

Love

Gratitude



P.S. To our volunteer Ciara - THANK YOU! You are amazing & patient & kind & we will not soon forget!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More events!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

We had 6 fantastic hours @ Extrreme Recess hosted by Dreams for kids.
6 fantastic hours that were better than a 7 day vacation.

NEVER have my child & I been welcome & cared for by such an incredible staff.

To most children / familes a day @ the beach is exactly what is
implied. A day @ the beach. Although my son & I have been to many beaches, our true & first day @ the beach, was with Extreme Recess hosted by Dreams for Kids Twin Lakes WI 2012.

& We are looking forward to Extreme Recess 2013

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 5, 2013

more

August 5, 2013

I was honored to be a part of the Dreams for Kids team for two months. They have a very welcoming and great team who are dedicated to service. Even though my internship with them has ended, I am certain that I have made long life friends and family and I will continue to work with them from wherever life takes me. Having attended Extreme Recess for the first time, I was touched by how happy and carefree the kids with disabilities were. It was great to see them enjoy the day and appreciate the simple joys life has to offer with no limitations. I come from Zambia where there are a lot of people who are in need of help. Seeing the work that Dreams for Kids is doing in reaching out was inspiring for me to start Holiday for Hope in my country. I learnt ways in which I can reach out to the community for help and Tom told me even if only one child shows up, I shouldn't lose hope but work towards a better turn out the next time and as I will be 'changing the world one person at a time'.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let more people know about this great organization and get them to volunteer and help as much as they can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 25, 2012

BE the change that you want to see in the world! I know of no other organization that better exemplifies this leadership way of life better than Tom Tuohy and Dreams for Kids. I was first exposed to... more

April 17, 2013

There are a lot of ways to spend your life. Many are absorbed with self-importance. Others like Tom Tuohy and Dreams for Kids are absorbed with significance - with making a real difference in this world, one kid at a time. Tom founded Dreams for Kids in Chicago in 1989 and his vision continues to be realized every day in the lives of thousands and thousands of at-risk youth. Dreams for Kids is uniquely powerful and effective because it focuses on giving our most challenged population, those who are disadvantaged for any reason, a hand up rather than a hand out. By teaching them social entrepreneurship skills, these at-risk youth move from being victims to being solutions, active agents for positive change in their communities and in the world. While others treat the symptoms of poverty, disability, disadvantage and yes, even affluence, Tom and DFK treat the real causes. DFK is a world changer. Amid all the challenges we face in this world, none is more significant than creating hope for our at risk youth. They are everywhere, and sadly, the problem is getting worse, not better. We owe them better. They do not want our charity, they want our love, our respect and they want an opportunity for a better future. This is a noble journey - it is life giving and life changing for anyone who will join hands with us. Take a hand up, give a hand up. Make a difference. Come join us and be changed in the significance!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2012

BE the change that you want to see in the world! I know of no other organization that better exemplifies this leadership way of life better than Tom Tuohy and Dreams for Kids. I was first exposed to Dreams for Kids through Kellogg Innovation Network (KIN), a world class organization of leaders from diverse backgrounds motivated to change the world by leading lives of significance. I witnessed first hand the power of Tom's work during an emotional presentation by some of Tom's Dream Leaders, and the experience changed my life. Dreams for Kids is about noble innovation with purpose - creating change one child at a time, one life at a time, and being transformed yourself during the process. Amid all the challenges of the world, none is more difficult or important than creating hopeful change for our "at-risk" youth. They are everywhere among us - stricken by poverty. disability, affluence (higher percentage of substance abuse anxiety depression and suicide among affluent children than their inner city peers), and yes, the children of active military personnel - 2 million and counting. It is simply unsustainable for the future of the world to have that future arrive unhealthy, unskilled, uneducated or not alive to see it. Through Dreams for Kids, I know of one answer to these challenges that really works. I have seen it. I have met it. And I have shed tears for these children. They are waiting to be the solution instead of the problem. They do not want charity. They want opportunity. The opportunity to be the change. During this crazy political season that seems to bring out the worst in us, I invite you to take an intentional excursion - spend a little time with Tom Tuohy and Dreams for Kids. Visit his website at dreamsforkids.org. Make a donation. Make a difference. You will feel better about yourself and take a step toward BEING the change we so desperately need in this world!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

There are no words to adequately express my gratitude for Dreams for Kids. My son Matthew has so many fears which Dreams for Kids and its wonderful volunteers have helped to overcome. Still, the fear of going down a snow mountain was not only great but very much justified. Therefore, I was dumbfounded when he kept insisting that he wanted to do it, and on regular skis no less. Naturally we were all careful. Dreams for Kids volunteer Dave took Matthew on the smallest of the bunny hills and he alone went down the slope with Matthew. If you could see the stars in Matthew's eyes, it was a magical moment. They did it a few times but Matthew was not satisfied and insisted on going on a bigger hill, and so they did, two volunteers at that time. I must say I absolutely adore Dave, he kept taking Matthew up the slopes so many times, and it is hard for me to stop Matthew from having fun. Finally they all tired and when thought safe to let go of Matthew, they started talking. Matthew jumped at this opportunity and pushed himself to glide in the direction of a small slope. OMG, I ran after him thinking he'd be afraid. He was not, he was elated. Everybody stood stunned. It was a moment I will never forget. Of course he did not know how to take turns so I had to help, but let me tell you, this sight is so fresh in my mind as if it just happened. For days and weeks afterward Matthew begged me to go skiing again. There is no doubt we will be at the next skiing event and expect that Matthew will surprise as all.

Thank you, thank you, and again thank you. If it weren't for Dreams for Kids my son would never know he could ski, water ski, climb rocks, and many other physical pursuits he so enjoyed that Dreams for Kids staff made possible for him.

Elizabeth Halemba
A Proud Mom to Matthew

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

My son has been an active member of Dream for kids for about 9 years now. He was born with a physical disability and I’m so grateful for this organization for giving us hope.
We were accepted with open arms and my son has gained the confidence he needs to become an active member of his High
School. My son has taken part in both the Water Ski and Snow Ski . His disability has never been an issue and he is able to take part in sports like any other child his age. I fully support and have great gratitude for all the work Dream for Kids has done to help children with exceptionalities!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

I am the mother of a 12 year-old boy with autism. Finding recreational opportunities for my son and our a family is very challenging to say the least, and then we found Extreme Recess! Spencer had the amazing experience of snow skiing this winter, something that I would have never thought possible. Dreams For Kids/Extreme Recess not only provided a great day of skiing, it gave me renewed hope for the future - anything is possible! The sky is the limit for my guy! The Extreme Recess volunteers and staff were not only only knowledgeable, but displayed a level of compassion and patience that was heart-warming. Can't wait for the the summer ski program at Twin Lakes!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Dreams for Kids, Inc. allowed my 8 year old daughter the opportunity to ski both on water and snow for the first time a couple years ago. They made Jaiden's dreams become a reality. I cannot put into words what it feels like when you see your child out of her wheelchair, flying down a snow hill smiling and screaming in excitement from ear to ear. I cannot describe to you in words that feeling, I only tears of joy. This was a dream I didn't know would ever be possible when I heard the diagnosis of cerebral palsy years ago.

Seeing a boat pier full of empty wheelchairs and watching those children in tubes and water skis pulled behind boats are all dreams becoming real. Dreams for Kids, Inc. events are a highlight for my family every single year and with every event. On the day of the events, it is the few times all year that my daughter and our family forget about cerebral palsy.

Dreams for Kids, Inc. is a truly amazing organization, making dreams happen is what they do. They also help children of all ages and disabilities believe in themselves. Dreams really can come true and this organization is proof of that.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

Dreams for Kids is a wonderful organization that teaches at risk youth(students who suffer from poverty, depression, or lack of family involvement ) valuable career and life skills that will allow them to live healthier, more financially stable lives and stay away from gangs, drugs, and poverty. With skills in financial management, writing, and fundraising, these students not only have increased knowledge of how to succeed in the real world, but also learn how to support their communities by understanding how they can give back and help others in need

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Dreams for Kids is an amazing organization that provides opportunities for children who need it the most. They focus on what the child CAN do, rather than what they cannot do. The positive environment throughout the organization inspires everyone involved to be the best they can be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Speak with our youth in a classroom or after school, volunteer at an Extreme Recess event, host a toy drive for Holiday for Hope. Volunteer