Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.888895
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Dreams for Kids is a fantastic non-profit! I participated with them during this last summer. At every single event I helped out with the kids always left with giggles and grinning from ear to ear. Dreams for Kids truly makes a difference in children's lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

The Norm Van Lier Scholarship Fund is an extremely proud supporter of the Dreams for Kids' Dream Leaders program on the South Side of Chicago. The Program has a brilliant curriculum that is very effective and profoundly transformative in the lives of the participants. Dream Leaders teaches the kids that they have great value, that they are important, and that they can help others. I am so grateful that I was made aware of this organization, as it does exactly the kind of work with kids that my husband believed in so strongly.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I met Tom in March, 2010 and was very impressed with his leadership, his work and passion for Dreams For Kids. In April, 2011, I invited Tom as a thought leader for the Chicago Chapter of the COO Forum following Tom's visit to the White House to meet with the President to honor the Blackhawks for their Stanley Cup! The topic of Tom's presentation was "Strategic Social Entrepreneurship--Values and Opportunities". The feedback from COO Forum members was so positive that I invited Tom again in May of this year to be our thought leader on "Social Enterprise:  The End of Charity". Two of Tom's Dream Leaders, Cortez Alexander and Richard Babatunde were included at the meeting and invited to speak and tell their stories at our annual social event that followed the meeting. Comments from the members who attended included:
"Thank you for bringing these inspirations into my life...this is a reminder of what commitment can achieve and how much more we can each do to influence outcomes"; "You gave us a great deal to think about in terms of our own personal contribution to society and the critical need to be positive role models for children"; "Thanks for the experience this evening, what fine young men even though it left me with a feeling of inadequacy in terms of what I may leave as a legacy on this planet. Can only strive to do more, inspired by their example"; "Thank you for the inspiring talk and for meeting two great men. When I got back to my office, both my partner and I talked about the evening and we feel strongly that we would like to help out in some way. Please let me know how both of us can become involved in the program either as a volunteer or raising donations"; and last but certainly not least: "Thank you for a great inspirational presentation. I felt more compelled than ever to make a difference the next few days. The world is a better place due to your efforts." The bottom line for me personally is that I feel fortunate to have such an inspirational colleague and friend in my life.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012

more

October 11, 2012

I met Tom and DFK about 2 years ago, initially as a consultant. What blew me away was the stories behind the DFK "story", equally touching. Highly recommend reading Tom's book, "Changing the World, one person at a Time". Because the impact is really all about the lives they touch and change for a lifetime. The Dream Leaders program (social enterprise curriculum for at risk youth) is the differentiator for me. The ability to inspire at-risk youth, many at the poverty line themselves to look beyond and realize that they have the ability to transform the lives of those even less fortunate. While the program certainly develops skills and experiences not normally found in classroom, more importantly it creates better human beings. That's powerful.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012

more

October 9, 2012

Few companies or organizations act more or with more nobel motives than Dreams For Kids. DFK was a phenomenal fit for me because its mission aligned with my passion: spread opportunity to all children of all backgrounds, race, creed, ability... and allow them to fearlessly pursue their dreams. I am incredibly fortunate to have grown up in a cohesive, close, and objectively well off family. Because of this I have enjoyed my childhood very much; and I know that every kid in the world deserves the chance to also greatly enjoy their youth through support and the provision of opportunities that can lead them to succeed and follow their dreams later in life. This is Dreams For Kids: the national-award-winning Dream Leaders program that provides at-risk youth with the opportunities to help others while teaching critical thinking and business skills and encouraging college attendance; or the countless programs like Extreme Recess that allows many youth with disabilities their first chance to participate in sports and learn lessons that athletics instill; or providing children in nearly 100 countries with their first real Christmas celebration (and it is quite a celebration). It was an incredible experience working and seeing real results and as rewarding a summer as I will ever have. Few missions are more pure or admirable than DFK's looking to provide equal opportunities and support to all youth of the world; and I could not be more proud to say I was a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012

more

October 9, 2012

I first heard of Dreams for Kids about 4 years ago and the first event I took my son to was water skiing. The fears my son has are so multiple and often so unreasonable so naturally I did not know what to expect. It took 5 volunteers over 30 min to coax him onto a modified water ski, who would have such patience. Lucky for me a photographer went on boat to take pictures and captured my son's elated joy upon return. He enjoyed it so very much and was so proud of his achievement. Since then we've been to every water ski event. My son also went snow skiing, again I did not think he'd be able to do it. With the help of two very strong volunteers he went up and down the slope. He loved it so much he did not want to take a lunch break. Since then my son experienced scuba diving, rock climbing, bocci and all sorts of other activities he would never have a chance to experience were it not for Dreams for Kids and for Tom Touhy. We are so grateful for Tom and all the volunteers at Dreams for Kids. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Elizabeth H.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

heard about them from a friend

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

It changed my son's life by allowing him the opportunities he'd never have otherwise, gave him confidence and allowed him to enjoy aspects of life that would not be otherwise available to him

October 8, 2012

more

October 8, 2012

I have been involved with Dreams for Kids for many years and I have found it to be the best group of people I have had the priviledge to know. They are the most dedicated and generous people in the nonprofit communtiy. I have been to many of the events and each time I tell myself I must do more with this organization. I'm glad that an organization like Great Nonprofits can tell their story.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2012

more

October 7, 2012

In 1989, I was first introduced to Dreams For Kids at the first Christmas party at Clara's house. That will be a day I will NEVER forget. To see the joy this organization was able to bring to this homeless shelter was magical. I have seen the Dream Leaders program and it was amazing to see so many teens empowered..(I also felt empowered as I attended a parent session)...With the Extreme Recess program, I have attended tennis, baseball, water skiing and downhill snow skiing. WOW! While at these events, I have seen some of the biggest smiles I have ever seen! I have seen children experience things that would often be near impossible without this program. The Holiday for Hope party has grown so much since the first gathering. It is now taking place all over the world. The number of people who are positively touched by DREAMS FOR KIDS is staggering. I know that these children feel so rewarded by this program..As a volunteer, I too feel rewarded. Thank you Dreams for Kids!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2012

more

October 5, 2012

I can't say enough good things about Tom Tuohy, the staff or volunteers at Dreams For Kids. The work, programs, and special events that they offer to so many people is immeasurable. I met Tom and DFK more than a decade ago when I got my students at ICRE involved in a weekend sports program through DFK and RIC. Since then, not only has Dreams For Kids been instrumental with assisting my students on 6 life-changing adapted scuba diving trips with Diveheart, they have also gotten some of my students to become mentors in the Dream Leaders Program. Besides all the good things that have been afforded to my students, Dreams For Kids has brought so much joy and hope to countless other kids locally, nationally and internationally, including having fundraisers to send wheelchairs to needy children in Africa. I wish nothing but the best for Tom Tuohy and Dreams For Kids as they continue to change lives...one kid at a time!

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

We love this organization! All are welcome, encouraged to participate in the programs like Extreme Water Sports and the Holiday Party. My sons and I have volunteered for both and the choir from our church has welcomed Holiday Party-ers for a number of years with Christmas Carols. We leave feeling we've been given the gift! And every year some one says "Now it's Christmas"! As for the EWS, there is nothing like the look on the child's face as the adaptive-ski is pulled through the water…sheer joy! Dreams for Kids redefines "differently abled" every day! Continue the good work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Speak with our youth in a classroom or after school, volunteer at an Extreme Recess event, host a toy drive for Holiday for Hope. Volunteer