Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.89135
Write A Review
October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Chicago District of the United States Tennis Association is honored to work with Dreams For Kids. With a shared passion to create opportunities and support children of all backgrounds, the CDTA is proud to work closely with Dreams for Kids. This past August, we partnered to run a Tennis Festival for over 100 children. These children had never played the sport before. With excited kids, even more energetic volunteers, these children had an incredible afternoon on the campus of University of Chicago. All walked away with a racquet and possibly a new passion! Dreams For Kids makes it possible for children to go beyond the walls of their community to meet new kids, learn unique skills, and create a pathway for their future that might have seem impossible. Dreams For Kids truly makes dreams into realities for thousands of kids. Keep going Dreams For Kids and thank you for including us in the fun!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 21, 2014

more

August 21, 2014

You can’t make this stuff up!

DFK’s Extreme Recess at Twin Lakes, WI is a day of water sports, fishing, bouncy house, water slide, plenty of sunscreen and a great BBQ lunch.

Most of the children have never had the opportunity to participate in these activities. Going from a
wheelchair to a water ski and speeding along at 40 mph – at first it’s fear but the kid in all comes out in seconds using the thumbs-up signal to go faster.

As a volunteer, every year I take home a fond story or two. This year it was Thais. Exiting the bus I asked this young lady of perhaps 12 what she wanted to do first – water ski? Tubing? Canoeing? Thais looked me in the eye and said "I want to fish - I have never fished before.” Are you sure you want to bait a hook with a slimy worm I asked? “Yes” is all she said with a smile while looking past me to see where the fishing pier was located.

Within minutes Thais had caught her first fish - a 4” bluegill. She ended up with about 9 catches, one being a 10” wide mouth. And that’s no fish story!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

CROYA has had the honor of working with Dreams For Kids Extreme Recess for the past 4 years. DFK, Tom, Shelly and the rest of the staff are amazing. They provide so many people opportunities that kids would never dream of. It is so much fun to be a part of such a great day out on the lake making kids' dreams come true. The look on their faces when they get up on the water ski, tube, kayak, boat or fish is priceless!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

A big thank you to Tom and your whole organization for a wonderful water ski day...our son, has been attending for many years and looks forward to the day. The word LOVE was shown all day, by the delightful, helpful Hosts, the food crew, the boat drivers and helpers in the water, the fishing volunteers, who made him feel so good, with every catch!! It was a relaxing day for the parents too, as our children were well taken care of by their Hosts. Thank you for giving these young people the opportunity to be like everyone else, if only for a day. He took home many stories and of course, a tattoo to show his friends!! Looking forward to next year...thank you

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

Our family just attended the Dreams for Kids Extreme Recess adaptive waterskiing event in Twin Lakes, WI and it was a blast!! Our son is not able to experience standing up to waterski so a few years ago, we were invited to attend a waterskiing event where our son waterskied FOR THE FIRST TIME! This was his third year to ski and he loved it so much he didn't want to leave until he got "one more chance" to ski!! All the selfless Dreams for Kids team and volunteers are so giving and want everyone to have a great time. It is so impressive how dedicated they are to bringing joy to those with disabilities and they don't stop there. They also are so helpful to the families and provide fun for every member. We really appreciate the generosity and hearts of all involved!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

I have been involved for about 4 years with Dreams for Kids. It's a great organization in terms of volunteering because everyone is extremely passionate about helping kids. You will also be sure to have a great time volunteering because you can feel the joy and happiness you are bringing to kids, whether it be for kids with disabilities or at risk youth. It just makes the time fly-by every event that I volunteer for because you are constantly engaged in activities. The organization is also operated by stand-up quality people including founder Tom Tuohy, Shelly Gonsch and crew. I've met some great people who have become friends through the years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more events and continue to grow the footprint of chapters across the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

Dreams For Kids directly makes an impact in the lives of kids in need. They replace charity with opportunity in the sense that they enable children to achieve goals by providing them with the tools to do so.

Several years back I started volunteering with Dreams For Kids. I have a sister
with autism, and after I had done a couple of events with them, they invited her out to be a guest. We've had some amazing experiences, and done things neither of us thought possible!

This is one of the most hard working, down to earth, friendly and fun groups I've ever been a part of who make a direct impact in children's lives. I feel so grateful that me and my family are a part of it and we hope to continue our involvement with them for years to come. Highly recommended on all levels.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

On July 31st, I attended my first Extreme Recess event. I was blown away on many levels. The day was very organized. There was a wealth of things for the kids to do and volunteers to help them. It was clear the kids and their families were overjoyed with the opportunity to experience activities they have never or rarely participate in. I was proud to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This was my family's second year at Extreme Recess and once again they did an amazing job! My entire family enjoyed the day but most of all my 8 year old with special needs. This organization does an exceptional job going beyond expectations in accommodating families with special needs children all you had to do was look at the faces of all the children participating and see the joy and what great work they were doing. This year my son decided to try the water skiing . The staff and volunteers were so patient and encouraging even though it took 30 min for him to work up the courage. After his ride he told everyone it was the best day off his life. Thank you so much for making that moment possible .

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

You know you have done a great job when you see the faces of the kids that go skiing, tubing, or fishing for the very first time. It is a great day for all involved.
I would recommend a recruiter assigned to each boat that would go out and get the boats filled so more kids and their families
get involved and we can serve more kids quicker. This is what I did for Mike H.'s boat in the afternoon. The fishing slowed down in the afternoon. I think we could have recruited a little better for that activity as well. I think it moved things along with Mike's boat and got more people rides. Thanks for a special day.
Tom Mullen
Kiwanis

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Speak with our youth in a classroom or after school, volunteer at an Extreme Recess event, host a toy drive for Holiday for Hope. Volunteer