Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 7, 2014

more

September 7, 2014

My son has Autism and was having a lot of problems in school. When Sanna Roling, the President, of Dream Catcher's Stables Inc., heard about our sons problems, she informed my husband and I about her program. We are very grateful for her, her vision of Dream Catcher Stables, and the volunteers that come out each week to assist the riders. She services individuals both children and adults with physical and mental disabilities and truly cares about each rider and their families. She doesn't turn anyone away and is very professional. We are so glad that we heard about this program. She puts 100% of the donations into her program and isn't looking for a profit like so many other therapy programs. Our son looks forward to riding the horses and seeing Mrs. Roling. He is learning a lot from being in her program.
August 25, 2014

more

August 25, 2014

I met the President of this organization as a freshman in high school in 2005 with the intentions of helping her and her helping me with an FFA equine project, and since then it has grown into so much more. Throughout high school I was a loner, depressed, I had family troubles and not many people I could consider friends; I felt like I was continuing to spiral downward. Since that first visit out there, I knew there was something about that property that had caught my attention and wouldn't let me drown. Almost ten years later, and I am still amazed at the changes, not just in the athletes that come to visit, but the volunteers, the families, the property, and even in myself. I look back at my years in high school and am extremely grateful for the day that I met Sanna and was introduced into the program. I know if it weren't for her and her dreams, the athletes that we'd catch singing as they rode around pond, the hugs we'd get right before they left, and the smiles we would see from the moment someone exited their car to the moment they left - that I would not be here to give thanks. I am proof that this program is not just for the athletes and the therapy, but for the volunteers and families that come to visit and end up becoming family as well.
June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

Dream Catcher Stables is a wonderful place where those with physical and mental disabilities can ride and interact with horses. The stable is very flexible and can adapt to an individual rider's needs, whether the rider is fairly independent or needs additional support such as sidewalkers. There is a long wheelchair ramp so those with mobility issues can mount the horses easily. The horses are good-natured and when not working are allowed to graze and roam on the property, which has a pond and many trees. The volunteers are happy to pitch in whereever they are needed and seem to truly enjoy grooming the horses and assisting the riders. The founder and president is a positive, enthusiastic lady who welcomes everyone and really cares about people. Children in particular are motivitated to work on motor skills or emotional issues, motivated by the warm acceptance of the horses. This riding program brings peace and joy to riders and volunteers alike.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it and provide opportunities for more people to participate.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 28, 2013

more

April 28, 2013

My husband and I have been volunteering with Dream Catcher Stables Inc for 6 months now. I can't recall what we did with that time before. The athletes, horses and volunteers have become part of our week that we so look forward to. Our Sunday mornings are full of peacefulness, love and joy.

A little hard work given by our hands and a lot of reward in return. I cannot speak highly enough of this fulfilling endeavor and the vital role this charity plays in developing the riders abilities, confidence, strength and skill.

We've not only become part of the team of Dream Catchers but we've also got to know the riders and their families. We feel part of a vital community. I have learned so much through doing this and really encourage anyone to take part with us. You will love it too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

Sanna Roling has done a terrific job getting this vital program launched many years ago. It needs to continue!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

I cannot believe the benefit my son and daughter have received since starting with Dream Catcher Stables 5 years ago. My son has a brain injury and is very limited in the types of activies he is able to participate in. All the volunteers and staff are always so helpful in making sure he has a safe and enjoyable experience with horses. He has competed in several competitions and talks about the experience to almost every he sees. My daughter has benefited as well as a volunteer and also now as a competitor. She just recently competed in a tough comptetition and did extremely well. Her only horse riding experience has been with Dream Catcher's.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

Dreamcatchers provides opportunities for persons of all ages, abilities, without regard to the athletes ability to pay for the service.
I am so glad that my wife and I found Dreamcatchers because volunteering there has been a sort of therapy for us too. After a rough week at the office,
helping with the athletes and horses is very theraputic.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

This is such a wonderful organization! Sanna, the founder, is so passionate and gives people a chance to enjoy the outdoors and interact with horses. These children are all smiles from ear to ear.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 12, 2010

Believing in the power of people. I set out to establish an organization where people with disabilities could be included in the real world. What happened was beyond my ability to dream as people fr... more

April 8, 2013

As the President, Founder, and Lead Instructor, I continue to be amazed at the results attained. In the beginning, I believe that self esteem and physical issues would improve. What I've discovered is that families, not just persons with disabilities, are enriched. Volunteers learn to accept and treat persons with disabilities as people with possibilities. Most recently I had the opportunity to provide place where a paraplegic with horsemanship knowledge could come and be independent -- on the ground and on the horse. You just had to be there for this one. My athlete/volunteer groomed my horses and then rode proving once again that people who daily move around on wheels are just like people who walk on two legs. To think that the whole picture was viewed by a youth completing adjudicated community service.

As a Special Educator by profession, this program shows all of the time that inclusion rather than exclusion is appropriate.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2010

Believing in the power of people. I set out to establish an organization where people with disabilities could be included in the real world. What happened was beyond my ability to dream as people from all walks of life and all ages began to understand each other. Before my eyes the magic of inclusion happened. Stigmas have been removed and people are people

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

*students with disabilities succeeding scholastically, *students at risk of dropping out are "dropping back in" because of the community service component of this organization *families are healing *schools are becoming safer places

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would get them a tractor to maintain their property, then find enough money to be able to create a real office and classroom so that their program could expand to it's full potential, and reward their volunteers approximately 20 of whom give over 100 hours each year in this all volunteer public charity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Have the funding capability to support their entire planned program.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I continue with this organization because it continues to teach me how to be a better educator and person through real life experiences.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Indescribably warm and fuzzy.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 30, 2011

more

April 30, 2011

Dreamcatchers is so very beneficial to handicap children and at risk students. It gives them a chance to succeed, learn independence, and become more self-reliant. It provides the children the ability to increase physical stamina and develop a work ethic however limited.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen students grow mentally, physically, and emotionally.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing other than ensure its continuation.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers