Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.895835
Write A Review
March 20, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

Ever since I started volunteering with Drawchange I have looked forward to returning every week to spend more time with the children. Seeing their smiling faces lifts my spirits every time I go! I really enjoyed going to the mall with them to see their artwork on display. It is always a joy to connect with these kids and remind them that they matter, and what better way than to remind them than by celebrating them and their creative abilities in a public place. I'm so grateful that I can be a part of these children's lives, even if only for a short time. Thank you Drawchange!
March 27, 2015

more

March 27, 2015

As a Drawchange volunteer, I have been greatly touched by the inner beauty and resiliency of children who are dealing with extreme life challenges (poverty, abusive homes, homelessness, incarcerated parents, etc.). Jennie, the founder and facilitator of Drawchange, works incredibly hard to provide both a creative outlet and loving stability in the lives of these children.

Drawchange also helps to bridge a social gap between "us" and "them," providing opportunities not only for children, but for people in our community to connect together in positive, empowering ways, regardless of age or social and economic status. I love Drawchange and appreciate Jennie immensely for her powerful contribution to Atlanta, as well as to our collective world community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2015

March 19, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 19, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

This is an incredible organization that does important work in our community. With the average age of the homeless being 9 years old, DrawChange focuses on empowering the ones who need it most, the youth. I've volunteered numerous times and walk away more inspired and motivated to make a lasting difference in our world. Thank you DrawChange for the impact you are making in our world.
July 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Drawchange is such an inspirational organization in providing smiles, laughter and compassion to not only the children, but the volunteers/staff, as well. I fell in love with Drawchange and its mission the first time I attended a fundraiser. I, then, found myself committed to sharing my free time at the shelter bringing my teens, whom also dedicate their time being creative with the children.
It is a pleasure to broadcast this wonderful organization! Louna C.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 14, 2012

I volunteered with Drawchange last year in Costa Rica for a week at the Fatima school where we provided a creative outlet to the children. I was inspired by the effort and attention to detail the orga... more

July 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've been volunteering with drawchange for over 3 years. I've taken two trips with them to Costa Rica to volunteer at the Fatima school in Cartago. I've also volunteered at fundraisers, special events and local homeless shelters. All of the events are run professionally and always with the children's best interest at heart. Jennie Lobato, the founder of drawchange, has a genuine compassion for the children. She is selfless and passionate for what she does everyday. If we all had the courage to lead by her example the world would be a better place.

I am now sponsoring a child in Costa Rica and have been donating for over a year. I am very comfortable knowing the money is going to the children and toward their needs. drawchange has clearly communicated how my donation will be used and I believe the founder is very responsible in ensuring the donations are going to each sponsor child.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see it grow so there is a larger reach and stronger impact.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered with Drawchange last year in Costa Rica for a week at the Fatima school where we provided a creative outlet to the children. I was inspired by the effort and attention to detail the organization made. I saw the children being uplifted that week and their spirits a little brighter each day we were with them. The organization has nothing but good intentions and truly wants to make the world a better place for these children in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 3, 2014

more

June 3, 2014

The connection and empowerment that is poured into the children by creativity is astonishing. To watch the transformation of each individual by controlling the materials and freely using imagination is undeniably cathartic and therapeutic for these children. This program that Jennie facilitates undoubtably enhances each child's quality of life, outlook, and self-image.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more locations to share.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 12, 2014

more

May 12, 2014

drawchange is a really awesome idea brought to life. The theory that children need art is supported by the obvious positive impact on the children. I would advise anyone who wants to be involved involved in the community in a fun, meaningful way to volunteer for a drawchange activity. Follow this link for more information on how to become a volunteer with drawchange. CHILDREN NEED ART http://drawchange.org/activities/ :)
May 10, 2014

more

May 10, 2014

I have been volunteering with Drawchange at homeless shelters in Atlanta for a few months, and have loved every minute of it. We have had groups of up to twelve or so children come to the sessions to work on art projects that founder Jennie Lobato has thoughtfully selected and planned to widen the children's awareness of the world and the possibilities open to them. Jennie has recruited a great group of volunteers who are fun to work with, too! She is very knowledgeable about the struggles of the kids and I have learned a lot from her on how to connect with them and help them understand the lessons such as compassion and self-esteem that underlie the projects we do. It is a testimony to Jennie's great caring and ability to capture their interest that many of them look forward to coming back each week!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes I would make at this time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 5, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 5, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I met Jennie a few months ago and already she has changed my life in more ways than are relevant for this review. But most importantly, she introduced me to her NPO Drawchange where I have left every volunteer session with a lighter heart, warm, fuzzy and teary-eyed. The at-risk children she works with seem to leave their cares and worries at the doors and dive into fun self-expressive art projects, tonight's art project was about compassion and it was a beautiful miracle to watch these kids draw what compassion means to them, sound out the word to spell, share their art with each other. The smiles, the giggles and singing are a miracle to witness. Bless all these kids, their families and Jennie and her amazing team of dedicated volunteers.
February 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I. LOVE. DRAWCHANGE. I was previously skeptical about art therapy. I thought it was more of an opinion than anything else. But I couldn't have been more wrong! As a volunteer that actually went to the shelter and used art therapy for at-risk children, it was clear that it has the power to inspire, and actually change lives! At the beginning of each session, some of the newcomers would come in feeling cranky. But by the end of the class, they would be so proud to display their dreams in art form! They would hang it over their beds at night so that they could look forward to accomplishing their goals.

The founder, Jennie Lobato, is probably the nicest and most hardest working person you'll ever meet! She makes volunteering so easy. It's easy to become discouraged by the red tape surrounding some charities, but Jennie makes this process simple and hassle-free by quickly responding to each applicant. She inspires me to help people and be a good person. Thank you Jennie!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us with administrative research, help us with our child sponsorship project, illustrate something for our children's magazine. Volunteer