Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

I had the opportunity to volunteer for drawchange and it has been a great experience all around for me. What drew me to drawchange was the selfless vision and the passion with which the program is run. A great organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

I've had the opportunity to volunteer for drawchange a few times now and its been a great experience every time. Its such a worthy cause and Jennie is amazing with the kids. Thank you Jennie for all you do and I can't wait to volunteer again!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am privileged to sponsor a child in Costa Rica through the Drawchange program. This child has multiple medical issues and is unable to attend school on a regular basis, but has a lovely spirit and I enjoy receiving updates from her mother as to her life and her condition. Jennie is gracious enough to pass along these updates and offers to translate for me. It takes so little to make such a big difference. I am so proud that my son is making the trip to volunteer at the Fatima School this summer and I am planning to send along a small gift for him to take to Yailyn for me in the hope that it will brighten her day a bit. The mission of Drawchange is unique as it sparks creativity in children who don't necessarily see a lot of beauty in their every day surroundings. It teaches them that there are opportunities for kindness and generosity no matter what their circumstance. The outreach to not only the children of Costa Rica, but to the homeless shelters and other venues in Atlanta and other urban areas offers the chance for budding artists to expand their horizons and to escape into the world of possibilities limited only by their own imaginations. Jennie is a marvel and her volunteers go above and beyond to make a difference in the lives of so many. They are to be commended and congratulated for giving so selflessly and so effectively. I hope the word gets out and the donations flood in to this worthy organization so that they can continue to do such fabulous work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I could not even begin to do the kind of work or have the kind of energy that is already going in to this organization, so do not feel at all qualified to offer any suggestions for change. I would only hope that they can find more ways to fund the good work already in progress.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Last year's trip with the drawchange team was thoroughly eye-opening and unequaled to anything I had ever experienced in my country before. Here, the Los Diques community is widely known as a place to stay away from "if you know what's good for you." I was scared.

After our visit, I
sorely felt the overwhelming silence of new found ignorance. To know that I am a fortunate human being, living in comfortable conditions which allow me to sit here typing this into a computer, is worlds different to BEING THERE and SEEING what I had only previously known.

These people do GOOD work and if they can brighten up the lives of these children, if only for a few hours a day, that is already invaluable.

The core of drawchange lies in Jennie's honest-to-goodness passion for the empowerment of these children and the embellishing of the environments they live in. She is genuinely welcoming, kind and encouraging.

There was never a moment when I didn't feel valuable, appreciated and capable of accomplishing something, and there is no doubt that she elevates these children into feeling the same way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is nothing I would change. If there was, I would have already mentioned it to Jennie.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When you work with drawchange, there is never any doubt that all the thoughts are in the absolute correct place. Their mission to provide children with art supplies is kept at the core of all the efforts they make. The transparency lets you know exactly what is happening and being accomplished. A newsworthy and word-of-mouth appropriate non-profit group.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I had the wonderful opportunity to work with drawchange and it's awesome founder Jennie Lobato on an exploratory journey to Ethiopia. Witnessing it first hand, Jennie's passion for the arts and empowering children is extraordinary. I look forward to working with drawchange in the near future especially the partnership(s) in Ethiopia. It was one of the most rewarding experiences I've had in a very long time! Way to go drawchange!!!!!!! Keep up the great work!!!!!!!! :-)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Drawchange is one of my favorite nonprofit organizations largely because of the compassion of it's founder and CEO Jennie Lobato.I had the wonderful experience of traveling to Costa Rica to work with the students at the Fatima School. Being a retired educator it was great to once again have the opportunity to make a difference in the lives of children. I highly reccommend Drawchange and look forward to working with them in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Drawchange, under the leadership of Jennie Lobato, has been a great influence in my life, in my church's life, in the local community and the world. I am very pleased to be affiliated with them and to support them. They are kind, positive and helpful. They bring art, art supplies, love and hope to those in the world who have so little. I wholeheartedly support them and the good work that they do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
May 14, 2012

Drawchange is an organizaton that is committed to raising up the world's underprivileged children by allowing them to learn about and express creativity through art experience. In this day of schools... more

October 16, 2012

It would be impossible to share the difference drawchange makes in the lives of poor children in a short statement like this. I have participated in multiple drawchange projects both locally and on the world stage - and it has changed my life. It is not what WE do that makes the difference, but the love the CHILDREN share with us! We take them art experience, art instruction, and the ability to be left alone with great supplies to create whatever they want to create. Doing this, they learn that they can create beauty in their world, that they can be in control of at least a part of their world - their creativity. Hopefully, this will cause a sense of empowerment to be fostered in the children, and they will learn that they have the power to break the cycle of poverty and help themselves and their family members in multiple ways. Drawchange is an excellent organization, my favorite non-profit, and one that deserves to receive recognition and kudos for the great work they are doing in the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Drawchange is an organizaton that is committed to raising up the world's underprivileged children by allowing them to learn about and express creativity through art experience. In this day of schools shutting down their art programs instead of growing them, children need exposure to creativty more than ever. I have traveled with drawchange to Costa Rica twice and hope to join them this coming fall on their trip to an orphanage outside Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. Moreover, I have worked with drawchange right here in the United States and seen the sparkle in the children's eyes as they created in peace and an atmostphere of total acceptance, and then were encouraged to be proud of their achievements. Our work comes from the heart and so positively affects the hearts of the children who receive from drawchange. The adult givers benefit as much from drawchange as the intended recipients: the children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

drawchange sponsors a trip each year to visit impoverished children, and bring to them an experience of creating art and enjoying team recreation. This year it was to Cartago, Costa Rica, where 400 children, who live in a shanty town, participated in their program. Additionally, drawchange coordinates sponsorships of individual children, giving them the chance to afford a few of the niceties that would otherwise be out of their reach. I partipated in this year's trip, and was astonished by the impact such a simple gesture has on these children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us with administrative research, help us with our child sponsorship project, illustrate something for our children's magazine. Volunteer