Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.909095
Write A Review
May 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I met Jennie a few months ago and already she has changed my life in more ways than are relevant for this review. But most importantly, she introduced me to her NPO Drawchange where I have left every volunteer session with a lighter heart, warm, fuzzy and teary-eyed. The at-risk children she works with seem to leave their cares and worries at the doors and dive into fun self-expressive art projects, tonight's art project was about compassion and it was a beautiful miracle to watch these kids draw what compassion means to them, sound out the word to spell, share their art with each other. The smiles, the giggles and singing are a miracle to witness. Bless all these kids, their families and Jennie and her amazing team of dedicated volunteers.
October 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I AM A FORMER BOARD MEMBER WHO WAS FORCED OUT BECAUSE I INSISTED ON PROPER FINANCIAL ACCOUNTABILITY. THE CEO / BOARD CHAIR FLATLY REFUSED TO GET PRO BONO ACCOUNTING HELP THAT SHE DESPERATELY NEEDS. THEY DO NOT HAVE ACCURATE AND ORGANIZED FINANCES. I HAVE SERIOUS CONCERNS ABOUT THE USE OF DONATIONS AND ACCOUNTABILITY. THEIR BOARD CHAIR IS ALSO CEO AND SHE HAS A FIDUCIARY CONFLICT OF INTEREST. THE OTHER BOARD MEMBERS ARE ASLEEP AT THE WHEEL. PLEASE ASK FOR THEIR FINANCIALS BEFORE YOU CONSIDER DONATING, JOINING THE BOARD OR APPROVING OF A GRANT.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

GET THE FINANCIALS IN ORDER. THEY DO NOT HAVE TRANSPARENCY OR ACCURACY IN FINANCIALS AS THEY CLAIM.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

No

Will you tell others about this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Jeannie and Drawchange is one of the most compassionate and reliably run charities I've ever worked with. I'm glad to be a part of it. I would highly commend and recommend Drawchange for anyone who wants to make a difference.
September 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've sponsored a child in Costa Rica through draw/change for several years. It has been a most rewarding experience. Jennie Lobato is a wonderful motivator, organizer and all round fabulous person. She keeps us informed of "our" child's activities and we receive cards and notes on a regular basis. For a small amount of money donated each month, outstanding work is being done at Fatima school and the community. The rewards of sponsorship are truly many and life changing for us and for the children.

Sandy W.
July 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Drawchange is such an inspirational organization in providing smiles, laughter and compassion to not only the children, but the volunteers/staff, as well. I fell in love with Drawchange and its mission the first time I attended a fundraiser. I, then, found myself committed to sharing my free time at the shelter bringing my teens, whom also dedicate their time being creative with the children.
It is a pleasure to broadcast this wonderful organization! Louna C.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 14, 2012

I volunteered with Drawchange last year in Costa Rica for a week at the Fatima school where we provided a creative outlet to the children. I was inspired by the effort and attention to detail the orga... more

July 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've been volunteering with drawchange for over 3 years. I've taken two trips with them to Costa Rica to volunteer at the Fatima school in Cartago. I've also volunteered at fundraisers, special events and local homeless shelters. All of the events are run professionally and always with the children's best interest at heart. Jennie Lobato, the founder of drawchange, has a genuine compassion for the children. She is selfless and passionate for what she does everyday. If we all had the courage to lead by her example the world would be a better place.

I am now sponsoring a child in Costa Rica and have been donating for over a year. I am very comfortable knowing the money is going to the children and toward their needs. drawchange has clearly communicated how my donation will be used and I believe the founder is very responsible in ensuring the donations are going to each sponsor child.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see it grow so there is a larger reach and stronger impact.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered with Drawchange last year in Costa Rica for a week at the Fatima school where we provided a creative outlet to the children. I was inspired by the effort and attention to detail the organization made. I saw the children being uplifted that week and their spirits a little brighter each day we were with them. The organization has nothing but good intentions and truly wants to make the world a better place for these children in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 3, 2014

more

June 3, 2014

The connection and empowerment that is poured into the children by creativity is astonishing. To watch the transformation of each individual by controlling the materials and freely using imagination is undeniably cathartic and therapeutic for these children. This program that Jennie facilitates undoubtably enhances each child's quality of life, outlook, and self-image.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more locations to share.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 12, 2014

more

May 12, 2014

drawchange is a really awesome idea brought to life. The theory that children need art is supported by the obvious positive impact on the children. I would advise anyone who wants to be involved involved in the community in a fun, meaningful way to volunteer for a drawchange activity. Follow this link for more information on how to become a volunteer with drawchange. CHILDREN NEED ART http://drawchange.org/activities/ :)
May 10, 2014

more

May 10, 2014

I have been volunteering with Drawchange at homeless shelters in Atlanta for a few months, and have loved every minute of it. We have had groups of up to twelve or so children come to the sessions to work on art projects that founder Jennie Lobato has thoughtfully selected and planned to widen the children's awareness of the world and the possibilities open to them. Jennie has recruited a great group of volunteers who are fun to work with, too! She is very knowledgeable about the struggles of the kids and I have learned a lot from her on how to connect with them and help them understand the lessons such as compassion and self-esteem that underlie the projects we do. It is a testimony to Jennie's great caring and ability to capture their interest that many of them look forward to coming back each week!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes I would make at this time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am so blown away by this organization and the selflessness of it's founder, Jennie Lobato. I am a firm believer in the power of art therapy and I am glad to know there is an organization who puts this into practice for children who might never have access to, yet deeply need encouragement and intellectual stimulation. Second to shelter and food, I believe that drawchange is meeting vital needs of children without guaranteed homes and stability. Those who volunteer also receive amazing personal and emotional benefits by witnessing the change in these kids.

This organization is working.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us with administrative research, help us with our child sponsorship project, illustrate something for our children's magazine. Volunteer