Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Drawchange is an praiseworthy organization with true world peace at heart. Their CEO and founder, Jennie Lobato, is intensely committed to providing sustainable projects to children in our world. I have seen Jennie’s passion first-hand and am deeply moved by it. Personally, I am committed to donating to drawchange regularly to ensure they have the funds for success. There are many people in the world who can benefit from a moment in time of expressed creativity. Let’s give drawchange the chance to provide it this for our children and world!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Witnessing their Costa Rica presentation after their return of helping children there. It was very touching and inspiring. Jennie Lobato really has a huge heart for the organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see them everywhere I turn. The world needs them!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I recently joined the board but started as a volunteer at the shelters. Jennie Lobato is truly passionate about helping these children and she is in the trenches every single day. When she welcomes the volunteers and trains them she does not gloss over anything - we are there because these kids don't have the stability of knowing what bed they will sleep in or where the next meal is coming from! It is a very sobering thought and enables one to have patience and compassion if the children become unruly. It is AMAZING how they respond to just being told that someone is proud of them. When they look at their artwork, they know they can achieve things. It is truly life changing to be a part of this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Raise more money so that the CEO can have a decent salary and get some staff!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I. LOVE. DRAWCHANGE. I was previously skeptical about art therapy. I thought it was more of an opinion than anything else. But I couldn't have been more wrong! As a volunteer that actually went to the shelter and used art therapy for at-risk children, it was clear that it has the power to inspire, and actually change lives! At the beginning of each session, some of the newcomers would come in feeling cranky. But by the end of the class, they would be so proud to display their dreams in art form! They would hang it over their beds at night so that they could look forward to accomplishing their goals.

The founder, Jennie Lobato, is probably the nicest and most hardest working person you'll ever meet! She makes volunteering so easy. It's easy to become discouraged by the red tape surrounding some charities, but Jennie makes this process simple and hassle-free by quickly responding to each applicant. She inspires me to help people and be a good person. Thank you Jennie!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

When I first volunteered for drawchange, it was mainly to add a piece to my graphic design portfolio which sounds awful but it is the truth. Then, Jennie, the founder, asked me to work with her on the children's magazine "Art & Pinta Say 'Let's Create!'" and I became more involved in caring about the things that drawchange does for children. I fully believe and support the good that drawchange does. As an artist, I know how important art is in my life and I see how drawchange brings art into the lives of children who need it most. I always pick this foundation as my first non-profit to give my time or monetary support to when I have it. I hope that drawchange keeps growing to help out more and more children around the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it even more global.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Drawchange is a great organization! Unlike many other organizations, you don't just give your time and finances to Drawchange, but rather become a part of it. Drawchange mixes creativity, passion, hope, and service together. I have been searching for years to find an organization where I can use my design skills & creativity to help others, and Drawchange is exactly that. It is important to note that Jennie, founder of Drawchange, really utilizes the volunteers and involves them as much as possible in a variety of events and tasks. I was unable to travel on the Costa Rica service trip this Summer, but Jennie took the time to meet with me, show photos, and share stories. She made me realize that even though I was not present on the trip, the work that I have put in to the organization really did make a difference. Jennie believes that the more people who get involved, the more lives change. Every time I meet with her I leave inspired. She truly loves what she does.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

What Drawchange has become is a direct reflection of its founder, Jennie Lobato. I've known Jennie my entire life and have known her to be selfless, dedicated, and always working towards a higher purpose. So could it be any wonder that the altruistic, forward thinking, and above all life changing organization she's created could be anything less than the standard that any non profit organization could possibly hope to be? In the face of this gold standard, this is a rhetorical question indeed!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 1, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 9, 2012

I had the pleasure and honor to work with drawchange! I volunteered for the 'Art Beyond Borders' international trip to Fatima School in Cartago, Costa Rica. Our mission was to empower children through... more

August 1, 2013

I am proud to say that I am a continuous volunteer for drawchange. This was my second year traveling to Costa Rica to empower the Fatima kiddies. I can honestly say that this organization is truly a motivating factor to make a difference in the world. Drawchange is led by Jennie Lobato, an amazing human being and has proven from time to time, that the organization's work has led to outstanding results. Traveling to Costa Rica a second time, I saw the impact we have had on these children. Our team worked extremely hard and we will never forget our experiences that has shaped our newly founded ideology of the significance of art and volunteerism. Year three, here I come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I had the pleasure and honor to work with drawchange! I volunteered for the 'Art Beyond Borders' international trip to Fatima School in Cartago, Costa Rica. Our mission was to empower children through art. Every day, it was a new experience with the children. They are so wonderful, despite their current conditions. We created art projects, played with them and talked to them about themselves, their families and their ambitions. The staff at Fatima School is truly dedicated to the children of Fatima School and their dedication greatly encouraged us to never give up! My time in Costa Rica with the children was unforgettable and above all, a humbling experience. I learned that art truly creates empowerment for children so they can visualize their life in different perspective.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 1, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 14, 2012

I have traveled on a mission trip with Drawchange. I can attest that every dime of donated money went to the kids in need that it was intended. It is a reputable charitable organization dedicated to ... more

August 1, 2013

Have donated to this organization, sponsored children and been on a mission trip with them to Costa Rica. An excellent organization

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have traveled on a mission trip with Drawchange. I can attest that every dime of donated money went to the kids in need that it was intended. It is a reputable charitable organization dedicated to helping children around the world tap into their creative nature.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2013

more

July 31, 2013

I am new to Drawchange and look forward to becoming more involved as soon as I can. Art and children hold a dear spot in my heart as they do in Jennie Lobato's as evidenced by her tireless work. I love to see the pictures of the trips and the children's smiling faces. Art not only brings smiles and hope to these children, it nourishes their minds. Art is an important tool that can be used to help raise these children above the status they are born into. I help spread the word as much as possible because I believe Drawchange is doing good work, and I feel strongly about children and art.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 11, 2013

I am a supporter of DrawChange through financial sponsorship of a child in Costa Rica. Jeenie Lobato, the founder of DrawChange is passionate about her work and loves all the children she helps. She... more

July 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I traveled to Costa Rica with a team of DrawChange volunteers. Our leader, Jennie Lobato, was amazing. She organized the entire trip and has an excellent relationship with the staff at the school where we worked with the children. There were 10 volunteers who participated and the teamwork was incredible...no other group of mostly strangers could possibly be as effective. We all realized that this effort was for the children and that was our only agenda. It was good to hear Jennie say that in this, her fourth year, she sees hope on the faces of the children that they can rise up from their impoverished beginnings and create whatever they want in their lives. It was a pleasure and an honor to be on this DrawChange trip. I look forward to next year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a benefactor for the organization to help provide some paid staff. Jennie Lobato IS DrawChange!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a supporter of DrawChange through financial sponsorship of a child in Costa Rica. Jeenie Lobato, the founder of DrawChange is passionate about her work and loves all the children she helps. She is tireless in her work, as the only full time staff member. I do not know how she juggles all the balls she has in motion! Jeenie takes art to children in impoverished communities in Atlanta and Costa Rica and plans to start a program in Ethiopia next year. Her belief is that by learning to create through art that these children can learn that they have the power break out of their circumstances and change their lives for the better. They can create whatever they put their mind to do. I applaud her and her efforts and am happy to play a small part in her mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would want DrawChange to have the financial support to hire help for Jeenie and lessen the demands on her time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us with administrative research, help us with our child sponsorship project, illustrate something for our children's magazine. Volunteer